We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
206
282
134
50
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
282
134
50
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fourth floor breakfast restaurant cakes separate rooms great directions no tea or coffee making facilities reception staff hotel is situated pompeii scavi train station economy room three night stay free parking budget hotel would stay again two nights short walk to the entrance fabulous location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 694 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018

A very nice and good welcome. Parking is included. A very good breakfast with a beautiful view on the ruins. We booked a familyroom, with 2 bedrooms and 6 beds.. it was nice and clean. only the bar was not complete. The entrance for the ruins is about 100 meters across the street.
Some tips: take an excellent ice on We love Puro, about 250 meters away .

Room Tip: family room is very good, 2 bedrooms with 6 beds, 1 double and 4 single. clean bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 418jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying in HOTEL DEL SOLE,Pompeii from 12th - 17th August 2018.
Was very impressed with my stay.Took back many happy memories to IRELAND with me.Travelled a lot of Europe and this hotel is up there with the best,recently been upgraded from a 3 to 4* property.
Lovely and clean,staff are brilliant,very friendly and great at their job.The pizzas in the restaurant are so tasty.Waiter with glasses whom I missed his name was a great worker nothing was a problem for him .
A big thank you to Annalisa and Nicoletta on reception who were fantastic at their job,very helpful and made our stay in Italy so much easier.Well done ladies keep up the great work :-)
Would highly recommend this hotel if ye ever stay in Pompeii.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GerOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Sole P, Direttore at Hotel del Sole 4 stelle, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Ospite, grazie per aver recensito la nostra struttura. Con piacere leggiamo la Sua piena soddisfazione per il Suo soggiorno. Tutto lo Staff la ringrazia e La invita a tornare a trovarci per scoprire le altre bellezze del nostro territorio. Le Sue parole sono motivo di orgoglio per tutti noi, segno che siamo riusciti ad ottenere la Sua piena soddisfazione. A presto. Cordiali Saluti, La Direzione.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2018

This hotel provided great service. If you are visiting the Pompeii ruins, this hotel is located across the street to one of the entrances. We stayed overnight after visiting Pompeii. The rooms were very basic but clean. The AC worked very well which is important in July. Breakfast was good- coffees, danishes, cereals, fruit. We arrived before our check in time. They held our luggage for us and were quick to get us checked in once our room was ready. The hotel is located about 3-5 minute drive from the Pompeii Scavi train station. An easy 10 minute walk.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank ktnilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Sole P, Direttore at Hotel del Sole 4 stelle, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2018
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Ospite, La ringraziamo per aver recensito la nostra struttura raccontando la Sua esperienza. Con piacere leggiamo la Sua soddisfazione. Speriamo dunque di essere diventati il Suo punto di riferimento per i viaggi nel nostro territorio. Speriamo di averLa presto di nuovo nostro ospite. Cordiali Saluti, La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Just returned today from a three night stay, we booked an economy room which was fine - clean and basic. It was a little noisy but I guess this is what you get if you choose economy. Breakfast included in the price - the only disappointment with this was the lack of fruit - there was a couple of apples and oranges but I think more fresh fruit would have been nice (just my personal thought). Views from the breakfast room are amazing. Reception staff were lovely, very helpful and knowledgeable.
We asked the hotel to arrange a taxi to collect us from the airport as we landed at 8 pm - cost was 70 Euros. Early morning taxi ride to the airport at 4.30 am was 85 Euros which I felt was pretty expensive. Entrance to ruins is just across the road and costs 15 Euros. We took a train to Sorrento for day and it cost 2.40 euros each, each way - well worth it! The square in Pompeii has a bell tower - you can take a lift to the top for 2 euros each - the views are amazing. I'd definitely recommend this hotel - we used the bar a couple of times which was very nice.

Room Tip: Economy rooms on the 1st floor are quite noisy
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie111961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ufficio_Commerciale, Direttore at Hotel del Sole 4 stelle, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018
Google Translation

Gentile Lizzie, siamo felici che Lei abbia scelto il nostro hotel per il Suo soggiorno...E un grazie speciale a nome del nostro staff per la Sua recensione! Per i servizi esterni, come il taxi, gli scavi o le altre attrazioni, non dipendono da noi in merito alle tariffe, ma la Sua recensione sarà sicuramente utile ad altri Ospiti per informazioni sul territorio. In attesa di rivederLa ancora all'Hotel del Sole per offrire ancora tutti i nostri servizi. Cordiali saluti, La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

Positives:

The hotel is in a great location, right opposite the ruins, around a 15 minute walk to the train station and about 10 minutes from the main square .

The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was super comfortable.

The temperature in the room was good, air conditioning was very effective.

Fridge in the room was handy.

Negatives:

The state of decor in the hotel is inconsistent, the lobby and restaurant look really smart but my room was looking a bit tired.

Unless breakfast is included in the price then I would suggest skipping this at 10 Euro pp and just go to a nearly coffee shop for a coffee and croissant (cornetto) for around 3 Euro. I only took breakfast once so I could enjoy the splendid views from the 4th floor, and soon realised that I was not going to get my money’s worth.

The hotel is noisy, my room was above the restaurant so there was noise most evenings and the corridors were noisy too. My ear plugs drowned out the noise so my sleep was not really disturbed but be warned, if you are a light sleeper then bring ear plugs!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ufficio_Commerciale, Direttore at Hotel del Sole 4 stelle, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018
Google Translation

Gentilissima Tanya, grazie per aver deciso di recensire la nostra struttura, raccontando la Sua esperienza. Ci dispiace che non abbia un buon ricordo in generale dell'Hotel, ma volevamo ricordarLe che Lei ha scelto di prenotare una camera Economy, e non una standard. In ogni caso sarà tenuto un briefing con i reparti di riferimento, per fare in modo che il Suo feedback venga preso in considerazione per migliorare i nostri servizi. Speriamo di averLa presto di nuovo nostro gradito Ospite per constatare il nostro continuo miglioramento. Cordiali Saluti, La Direzione.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews