We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, friendly little Italian hotel”
Review of Hotel Opera Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Opera Roma
Ranked #414 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful, friendly little Italian hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was not a hotel like you would find at home. It is a small reception area with a small breakfast room just off it, in a building that has ordinary apartments in it. The Hotel owns two floors, in saying that the rooms are lovely, they are clean and well furnished with a mini bar that is very reasonably priced. Were this hotel scores high in my opinion is the very friendly and obliging staff, Lito in the reception was great he gave us a map with all the sights marked of with the easiest routes to and from the hotel with bus numbers to always get us back to the hotel. He ordered taxis when we needed them and stored our bags on the last day. The girl in the breakfast room was great she made the most wonderful coffees and teas any way you liked them with seconds and thirds even, on the last day when my daughter came down late just before our taxi arrived she rushed to get her coffee and a croissant and insisted she ate it so she would not be going out on an empty stomach, they were all so thoughtful. As long as you know it is not going to be a Jurys, but a lovely little Italian hotel then you won't be disapointed with the location or the staff or the good clean rooms. All the sights are about a 10-15 minute walk, the only time we used transport was to go to the Vatican and the pantheon everything else was an easy walk, just to let my fellow Irish travellers know the food in the Irish pub around the corner is not what you would want, stick to the little Italian street cafes or the Macdonalds across the road, if you want something familiar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenmBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    231
    73
    16
    14
See reviews for
141
322
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chobham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

When we arrived at the address of this hotel we instantly felt that we had made the right choice. The entrance was very pretty, enclosed, clean and 'Italian looking' with a marble tiled floor and a scenic painted wall to greet you. You get buzzed in everything feels very safe and secure. Reception was very efficient and friendly. The room although small (104) was spotless and well maintained. Tea and coffe making comes free. Mini bar and safe in room. Interms of location, it was perfect. close to the train station (5 mins walk), surrounded by a variety of restaurants. We found the area lively and atmospheric without being rowdy.

Breakfast was continental style, coffee and tea was good and there was plenty of choice to eat, yoghurts, fruit, danish pastries, ham & cheese, eggs etc.

I would recommend this hotel, it was the perfect for seeing the sights and then retreating to for the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

100m to Republicca Metro, 300m to Termini main Rome station, supermarket 200m down Via Nationale.......walking distance to so many places or metro....clean,beautifully appointed bathroom and sleeping......excellent friendly knowledgeable staff.....buffet breakfast all you need and all up excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrfamilysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELFAST
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

All the good reviews are accurate - location, room breakfast etc. The only thing missing is a nice lounge where you can relax with a beer, coffee etc. The is just a small reception area with 2 computer that you can use free for internet. This would not put me off returning as from what I could see many 3 star Rome hotels did not offer this facility.

Once again good location, very clean rooms and bathroom, free internet + sky sports etc, lovely continential breakfast and good helpfull staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1STTIMEBERLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We made on-line reservations for Hotel Sonya. We stayed for 13 nights. When we arrived to check-in, they escorted us across the street to Hotel Opera, which apparently is owned and operated by the same people. The switch was fine for us and not unexpected, because we had read about it in other reviews. Once you have made reservations, any email question that you send to them is answered quickly. I found it quite amazing.

So, here are my observations. Please recognize that I am an American and have done extensive business travel (in the USA mostly) and am used to pretty nice hotels of a 3-star and 4-star level. So be sure to bear that in mind as I give my opinions. Do NOT expect your room to be the equivalent of a Marriott hotel room. If that is what you expect, then expect to pay much more elsewhere.

1. The room was neat, clean, and adequate. It was everything we expected, based on other reviews. It was small, did not have an 'easy chair' or a small table for eating in the room. Again, it was too small to accommodate those amenities and we did not expect it. It had a closet for hanging clothes, plenty of drawers, and a large safe to lock up valuables and laptops.
2. The bathroom was very nice. The towels hung on a heated rack, which was nice because we were in Rome for the first snowfall in 26 years. The shower was all-glass and very clean and suitable. My only complaint is that there were no washcloths. We made do without washcloths. Maybe if we had asked for them we'd have gotten some. (I don't like to act like an American tourist and be too demanding. I want to respect the culture of the host country)
3. The internet was free and adequate. I did not like to get a new userid and password every day, but again, there may be a very good reason for it.
4. The breakfast experience for us was a highlight of the day. The very friendly attendant made us coffee any way we pleased. For us it was cappuccino for my wife and caffe Americano for me. You couldn't buy better coffee anywhere. Plus the attendant remembered our coffee preferences each day.....made us feel quite welcomed. The tables were covered with linen tablecloths. We ate off china, nothing cheap and disposable. The room was very nice and inviting. There were cold cuts and cheese, coffee cakes, cereals, and the most delicious bread-rolls. We ate the bread-rolls every day. There were no hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. Again, we appreciate the culture and enjoyed what was presented. Be sure to try the bread-rolls. They look like a rosette and are crusty. We pulled them apart and ate them with butter and jam..... excellent.
5. The staff. What can I say? They were friendly, spoke English, and always immediately took care of any request (such as a burned out light, extra plastic cups, tv instructions, etc). They were also very likable and seemed eager to be of service. I wish we had used them a little more.....some of the Rome attractions were closed because of weather and the staff would have checked for us and saved us a trip. They also immediately knew the appropriate bus line to take to any attraction. They also suggested an alternative to taking the Leonardo deVinci Express Train back to the airport, saving us 16 euros. We also asked them for restaurant recommendations and were pleased with the result. So my hearty endorsement of the hotel staff. They couldn't have been better.
5. Rome is a very noisy, busy city. Some of the guests were occasionally noisy in the hallways during sleeping hours. Our room was not quiet. There was street noise. Sirens, and early morning trash pickup were clearly audible in our room. If you expect a sound-proof room you will be disappointed.
6. Hotel location was tremendous. Close to Roma Termini station and close to Via Nazionale, a main street.. Close to attractions. We took the Metro train to Saint Peter's, but walked to everything else.
7. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAC1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights here on our first trip to Rome. Excellent friendly staff who were very courteous and helpful. Our room was very clean and well kept with heating that we could control and a kettle, hairdryer and fridge. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The hotel is in a great location- about 5 mins easy walk from the main 'terminii' but very near to the city . .no more than 10-15 mins and across the road from the opera. Would definately return ! !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We have just arrived back home in spain and I couldnt wait to write the review...We stayed 3 nights at this hotel,it is our 6th visit to rome,and we have stayed in two 4star hotels that wasnt as good as this one,the staff were exceptional you would think it was there business the way nothing is to much for them...a credit to the owners. The breakfast is very good,large choice....we had room 207,above average size,very warm and cosy,with lots of hot water and a whirlpool bath.....I had a sneak preview of the suite room and did it have that wow factor...A must for the next visit..Hotel is well located for all the sites......would highly recommend.....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baronessbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#247 of 1,261 in Rome
1,485 reviews
Monti
The Opera Hotel
The Opera Hotel
#711 of 1,261 in Rome
193 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#214 of 1,261 in Rome
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,261 in Rome
1,291 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#390 of 1,261 in Rome
274 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#294 of 1,261 in Rome
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Opera Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera Roma

Property: Hotel Opera Roma
Address: Via Firenze 11, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#230 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Opera Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Opera Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Roma Hotel
Opera Roma Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing