We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Hotel Marvi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Marvi
Ranked #849 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nites during our recent trip to Rome. It is located a little outside of the city which is safe and nice, the bus stop is 4 mins walk from the hotel, and takes approx 20 mins to reach the city center depending on the traffic (bus ticket costs 1 euro). The room is spacious, clean, and equipped with modern amenities. Staff is very helpful, nice and speaks fluent english. Breakfast is awesome. Staying in this hotel makes our trip to Rome very enjoyable. Strongly recommend this hotel, and look forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Like_travelling_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

I booked this hotel through the airline package deal. It was in my price range, a 4 star hotel, the pictures looked good and it said it was close to the city center reachable by a 20 min bus ride. The reality is, it is about a 45 min bus ride to the main bus station and then from there you can hop on another bus to take you anywhere in the city center in 20 minutes. The hotel itself in my book would be about 2.5 maybe 3 stars, without seeing others to compare. The single room was small, twin bed, the walls needed to be painted, ugly orange blanket and the shades did not work properly. Now, the breakfast they provided (granted it was free) was pitiful. I had the only thing that looked good which was a bowl of corn flakes with warm milk, if you got there quick enough cold milk. There were hard pastries, warm yogurt, a fruit basket, watery scrambled eggs and what looked like a meat soup passing for a bacon product maybe. This hotel is not located in a good place. No resturants near by, only little pastry places where to shop workers maybe spoke a little english. I would not recommend this hotel because after spending 7 days in Rome as a solo traveler the bus got tired, the breakfast sucked and the hotel not in a good spot to go back to your room to put your tired feet up. I did alot, let me tell you alot, of walkig. It would have been nice to go back to your room and put your feet up. Once your back, your back. Unless you want to spend another hour on the bus to get back to the main area. The only good thing about this hotel was the friendly staff. they were nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Little outside the centar, but it is only 15 min by bus. Staff is helpful, they speak English. Breakfest is very good. Reccomend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivana6327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel is located a little outside of the city in a residential area. To go into the city we used the buses, bus stop is about 200m from hotel, basically a short walk, and the bus ride to main station takes about 15-20 minutes which is pretty good. Bus ticket costs about €1, pretty good price too.

We had a ensuite double room, the bed was 2 singles put together, but we didn't feel the gap at all. The bed was really comfortable, the size of super-king size, which was very spacious. It was quiet. It has air-condition, which is a must-have in Rome. Bathroom is clean, the best thing is the power shower in a good size cubicle, best shower I ever had! We both enjoyed the powerful shower inmensely.

Facilities in the room include a safe, which is very handy. A mini fridge. A phone on a desk and a TV that we could only find 1 english channel - BBC world news, but it didn't bothered us so much. What is missing is tea/coffee making facilities. And no slippers were provided. There are night stands with lamps on each side of the bed. Very clean, modern room. The room was made up everyday, though they didn't vacuum the floor during our stay.

The complimentary breakfast was limited but decent enough. There were scramble eggs, boil eggs, bacon, ham and salami, yogurt, horrible bread, but 3 different types of croissants, butter and jam, and cereals. Americano coffee and tea were also available. We found out on our last day that you can request the waiter to make proper coffee such as cuppocino and lattes for you :( I would say the breakfast was alright.

Now come to the helpfulness of stuff, overall they were friendly and helpful, I had called reception for extra pillows and they were brought up to us. On my last day, I had asked the reception to call my transfer company for confirmation, and it was done for me. The only problem I had was on my first day there, I came down to the reception as I had some questions, to find her chatting away outside on her cellphone for at least 20 minutes even though there were 2 people sitting there who obviously wanted her help. May be she was on her break but there was no other stuff there at that moment.

There is also free internet access in the lobby (1pc). I could also use my iphone with the free WIFI in the room, just ask the reception for the password.

All in all, it was a very pleasant experience with the hotel. If we were to return to Rome, we would definitely stay there again. Would also recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrientalStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

It's a bus ride from the central bus station, and a 14.00 euro per person train ride to the airport. A very pleasant stay. Clean room, helpful staff, very nice hotel. (Shame the fridge wasn't working).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatalunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The hotel was great. Staff were friendly and very helpful, they gave us directions and sugestions on how to get about the city.
The room was spot on, clean and well decorated. The shower was massive.
The location of the hotel was good, away from the city center but easy to get into the city by using the bus (84 Bus) which takes you right in to the center.
Public transport is cheep, and can get you close to the big sights. we used the metro to get to the vatican. We also walked alot. Finding that it was easy to map read around the city,(tip: you dont need to shell out on expensive maps, the hotel gave us a paper map, looks a bit like a kid drew it but does the job)
Food at the hotel was great, and kept us going for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T0mt0m101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I went to Rome for 4 days from the 24th July 2011 and stayed at the above hotel. The real reason I have voted this to being 4 stars (very good), is because of the location of the hotel to the transpot links.
Just to get a few things straight first - there is nothing wrong with this hotel at all. It was clean, the rooms decently sized both bedroom and bathroom, very good shower (no bath) and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. However this is not what we would call a 4 star hotel and probably actually a 3 star. We had no problem with noise and in fact was a very queit part of town (if not the most dramatic) and therefore sleeping was not an issue as some have faced. Breakfast was as expected in mainland Europe, cereals (warm milk though), bread, crossiants and fruit etc - we actually opted to go elsewhere as it was not the best. The hotel is certainly very decently priced compared to those a bit closer to the centre of Rome or right amongst the historic sights, especially if you do not mind a bit more of a journey. We used this hotel as a base only and spent very little time in it - if you are thinking of doing the same I can not see any reason why this hotel would not suit.
As for the travelling it is literally a minute walk to the nearest bus stop (turn left out of the hotel and on the same side of the road) and take the 86 bus to the main station called Termini. The bus ride to Termini is about 20-25 minutes and here you can get any other bus, tram or the underground to your desitnation. Of course travel time here depends on where you are going but for example, Termini to the Colloseum on Metro Line B is two stops away and about another 10 minutes on and the Vatican City is on the Metro Line A, about 10-15 minutes. You can also from the hotel walk about two minutes up to the end of the road and turn left and here you will see a concrete island and opposite a bus stop. The double sized bus (90 or 90D) picks up and drops off here (use the concrete island side to get to Termini) and is a bit shorter in journey time but a lot more crowded. Either way this makes the hotel very accessible to the main part of Rome and its sights. It is not in the centre of town but the money that could be saved on hotel for the sake of a 20-25 minute extra journey was well worth it, to us at least. We did not travel more than 45 minutes to any of our destinations and once at one, they are all very close to one another. It may have been nice to go back and freshen up before going out in the evening again but with how busy we were this was not a concerning factor to us at all and we only returned at the end of the day to go to bed.
Rome itself at this time of year was quite warm but never felt overly hot to be sight-seeing and is quite busy but again never so much so it put us off. If you know cities like London in the UK, Rome will seem fairly quite, particularly on the roads - we were never held up in traffic jams.
Just a bit of advice on the tavelling too, particualrly concerning getting to and from the airport, as things are not overly well advertised/labelled! From the airport (we used Fiumicino airport) you can get a coach (go right down to bus stop A or 1, which is turn right out of terminal 3 and it is at the end), which is 6 euros each to get to a main station (I can not recall the name of this one), where you can take the underground to Termini. This can also be done on the way back. Now you can buy a Roma Pass which covers all metro, trams and buses in central Rome for 25 euros (will not cover the journey to the airport once passed the border of the card) and this lasts for 3 days. It also gets you into 2 museums for free (first 2 you visit) and discounts at other museums you visit, as long as they participate (for the example the Colloseum does). Or if you are unsure of your plans and what you will be visitng then you can buy an all day pass (covering all transport methods named above) for 4 euros each. The reason I mention this is because at the airport if you have not done your research this will not be obvious and you may come across a train that takes you directly from the airport to termini, which is very efficient but costs 30 euros each (that is not return!) - we did not spend this amount on all the travelling we did in Rome, let alone for just one trip! If you struggle to get back to the airport using the shuttle bus, take the metro (line B) and go to the stop Circo Massimo and come out of the underground - to your left is another concrete island, where bus 3 will take you to Trastevere (last stop) and here you can take the train to the airport for a far more reasonable 8 euros each. Taxis are expensive, the Metro does not cover the area like the underground in London does and closes at 21:00 on every night but Satrurday, although is useful. The buses really go everywhere and are quite clear where they stop, if you know where you want to go.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank DJC026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Aniene
#971 of 1,270 in Rome
7 reviews
Prati
Marvi Hotel Rome
Marvi Hotel Rome
#900 of 1,270 in Rome
60 reviews
ARS Hotel
#433 of 1,270 in Rome
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#456 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,965 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,270 in Rome
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marvi

Address: Via Pietro della Valle 13, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #849 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $68 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marvi Hotel is the ideal spot for your Holidays in Rome. Strategically located in the Classy Prati quartier, just a walking distance from Castel Sant'Angelo and St Peter sq, public amenities, Lepanto tube station just ten minutes walk from the historical Marvi's building. All of our rooms ensuite room are very well appointed with matching fabrics to give a very luxurious feel; elegantly decorated, with complimentary wifi internet connection and lcd tv screen, you will be surrounded by the historical and mystical Roman atmosphere, making your staying at Marvi peaceful and unforgettable. Full concierge facilities are available Our multi-lingual neighborly and yet professional staff is well trained to ensure that your stay at The Marvi is a memorable experience. Enjoy your breakfasts tanks to the variety and tasteful croissant, cheese and salami, giving you the boost to face a working day efforts or a full discovering tour throughout the Ethernal city amenities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aniene Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing