We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel close to Termini Station.”
Review of Mosaic Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mosaic Hostel
Ranked #110 of 1,182 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 7 October 2017

The hotels own materials and website call the Mosaic a Hotel rather than Hostel. I would normally have avoided the former as I tend to stay in Hotels. The price is low compared to surrounding places but I needen't have been concerned. We booked at last minute following a flight cancellation.

The Station is close so there are lots of local eating places at reasonable prices.

The hotel itself was clean. We opted for a room with our own bathroom for a small extra cost. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is basic and a little on the sweet side for me with no savoury offerings. For the price the Hotel is very good value.

Room Tip: Book with your own, not shared, bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

It's quite close to Rome Train Station and hence easy to explore Rome. Breakfast was good, Beds were nice and rooms were clean. I used to leave early in the morning and come back late and used the hostel just for a good shower and good night sleep. I would recommend to any one who wants to stay near to Termini and have a good night sleep !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nitish a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Mostly nice, polite english speaking staff. Helpful. Clean room and bathroom and nice appearance too.
They don't really do anything to enforce quiet in the hostel though, i had a rough night.
Breakfast was okay... self service but limited selection of food.
good location, fairly easy to get to from roma termini

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Nice location by the Termini station and had some good food nearby as well. Rooms were cleaned daily and had nice AC, though the shutters on the windows wouldn't open and our toilet was broken - kept spraying water. Common area was standard but the breakfast was great - best free breakfast I'be had at a hostel. Wifi went down while we were there but they did their best to fix it. No kitchen to work with - only a fridge and microwave - so keep this in mind if you like to make your own meals. Overall good value and would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Willa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I usually stay in 4 star hotels so this was my first experience in a hostel.
The staff were really friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a private room with private bathroom.The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The only downside is that the room could do with a lick of paint as could some of the areas in the hostel but that is just me been picky.The bathroom was cleaned everyday and beds re- made. It would have been nice to have had clean towels after using them for two days with another two days to go but again we managed.
Breakfast is ok but would like to see some kind of fruit offered rather than all the sugary things. On some days it was proper cutlery on other days it was all plastic, think it depended on which member of staff was in. Tea and coffee as much as you want.
Near to Metro and bus terminal. Not to far to walk to centre and tourist attractions.
Overall a good place to stay. Would I stay again? Yes I would.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank 02JULIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Not the most glamorous hostel ever. The building itself is pretty old with paint peeling off the walls and creaky elevator but it does the job for a few nights as it is clean and cheap, with a good wifi signal. Only a few minutes walk from the centre of Rome too so it's ideal for solo travellers looking for a cheap place for a night or two. Not grey but definitely not the worst ever. Really friendly staff too

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights. It is a really well located place. The staff is friendly and welcoming. There is definitely a good vibe to it! The room is big and clean. The beds were comfortable. We had a bit of an issue with the shower as there were barely any water at around 8/9 am and the same time in the evening…We just had to shower early in the morning or late at night! There are free breakfast and 24 hours reception which is helpful. I would definitely recommend this hostel if you are on a budget. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilianaSGoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#30 of 1,182 in Rome
769 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#12 of 1,182 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,182 in Rome
259 reviews
Dreaming Rome Hostel
#51 of 1,182 in Rome
210 reviews
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#152 of 1,182 in Rome
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosaic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic Hostel

Address: Via Cernaia 39B, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 1,182 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Mosaic Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mosaic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing