We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner is a disgrace to her country !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Palazzo del Duca
Ranked #2,596 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I had planned a trip from Pisa to Isle of Giglio to Rome over a 4 day trip. We received a phone call from the owner the day before travelling down to Rome demanding an arrival time, which we had arranged with her prior to leaving England we could not be at her's before 7 oclock in the evening. She said we had to arrive before 5 oclock or we would not be greeted by anyone, unfortunately this was impossible for us as we were travelling by train and had arranged to spend the day on the isle of giglio. She became so rude and irrate and would not try and understand that we had boat and train times to stick too. She ended the phone call saying that if we were not there by a certain time we would not be welcome but will be charged the full amount. We therefore had to stay an extra night in Giglio and only one night in Rome. This VILE woman spoilt our holiday and cost us an extra 200 euro. Please do not stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerpalazzoduca, Proprietario at B&B Palazzo del Duca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014
Google Translation

Due settimane per cercare di contattarvi sia noi che booking.
Nella pagina di booking è scritto molto bene che il check in è entro le 12,00 altrimenti bisogna concordarsi con il proprietario per un orario diverso (qualche giorno prima magari)
Quando si prenota è sempre meglio vedere cosa si prenota, un hotel con reception 24 ore oppure un b&b con orari particolari?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Myself and my husband had got married out of the city a few days before our stay here and were looking forward to staying here in the heart of the city before leaving Rome for a short stay in Capri. We had received a stern email from the owner a few days before demanding we tell her a time for our arrival. Unfortunately, I could not commit to a specific time as we had wedding guests to see to see to and ensure they were either on buses back home or on bus with us to rome city. However, I committed to an approx. time. The owner however took it that the time was set in stone and when we didn't arrive on time continued to harass us on the phone while we were clearly busy with our own guests. I informed her we would be there by one hour time. When we did arrive all I can say is that the owner was nothing short of psychotic. She ranted, screamed and abused us so much that I broke down crying and we had to leave. We felt unsafe staying in this Bed and Breakfast. Do not stay here in this establishment, Rome has so many other great places to stay. The best thing was she put us down as a no show and charged us the full amount. Something we have contested and have had no resolve.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank Orla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerpalazzoduca, Proprietario at B&B Palazzo del Duca, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Before Booked must be read the policy expecyally if is a B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We came to this B&B after reading all the great reviews and were disappointed...The location is indeed great in a small charming street.
However, we found the room itself and the service quite poor...The main thing was a very strong smell in the room, that seemed to stem from humidity or something else but was quite uncomfortable. The bed was very uncomfortable as well. We could not get a lot of fresh air in the room as the street below is fairly noisy at night (above a bar) so we needed the windows closed.
The thing that surprised us most is the service, after reading all the good reviews. The owner was not particularly helpful when we tried to set a time for check-in and check-out, we had to adapt to her time. Furthermore when we wanted to pay for the room she did not have change for the bigger bill and we were missing 50 cents to pay in exact cash...she made us go and look for the extra 50 cents and finally she let us go with 15 cents missing (out of 164 euros...).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abarneah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

A tiny, lovely B&B hosted on a charming street in the heart of Rome. Alessandra, the hostess, is sincerely nice and helpful, with a wam and down to earth approach.
The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, the bed are comfortable and the common area where breakfast is served is simply amazing. Breakfast is good and Alessandra is quite flexible with the schedule.
Will come back for sure next time I'll be in Rome. Thumb up!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrVigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Fantastic location in the old town. The Via del Governo Vecchio is an old narrow street with plenty of buzz. Lots of shops in the immediate neighbourhood as well as great restaurants. Very central so pretty much everything touristy accessible by foot. The B&B was great, the room was very clean, the bed comfortable and breakfast simple but delicious. Alessandra was a very friendly host. We would definitely stay here again.
(Tip - Coming from Fiumicino Airport we used the shuttle bus (Bus stop 1, and got off at the Vatican stop from where it was an easy 15 minute walk and only 6 euro).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

A very nice B&B located on a charming street with several tavernas, pizzerias, gelaterias and many nice small clothing stores within walking distance of most attractions in Rome. There is a well stocked grocery store in the same block. Hostess Alessandra was very nice, warm and accommodating. She served us breakfast with coffee or tea, yogurt, toast, jam, fresh fruit and scrambled eggs. She also arranged transfers to and from the airport for a good price. We can really recommend this B&B and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pricken67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed at the Palazzo del Duca in 2009 after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We loved it so much, we've just booked it for 2013 as well. The location was what drew us to it but after having stayed there and relaxed over the amazing breakfast in the really beautiful common room we knew we'd go back there if we got back to Rome. We're very happy they have room for us!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, all fronting the street but the thick walls are incredibly soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedE2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,926 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#230 of 1,271 in Rome
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#343 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Palazzo del Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Palazzo del Duca

Address: Via del Governo Vecchio 115, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,596 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $135 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Palazzo del Duca 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Duca B&B is situated in a aristocratic Residence perfectly conserved, furnished with elegance and charm. The dwelling which houses Palazzo del Duca B&B was built around 1492 a few years after Christof Columbus had discovered America. Palazzo del Duca is a private and intimate B&B, where its manageable size allows a great refinement of detail. Our restaurant at the Colosseo "L'Invincibile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Palazzo del Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing