We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
48
13
8
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
13
8
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 76 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2016

You will find Palazzo del Duca in a small but lively street between Piazza Navona and the river Tevere, in the heart of Rome. Although we've been many times in Rome, we have missed this street totally. The palazzo itself is behind a humble door and on the first floor. The big breakfast room is genuine - exactly what you may expect to find in the Roman palace. Our room was spacious and nice but it had really tiny windows. And to reach it you needed to take a very narrow and steep stairs up which was really difficult with the heavy bags. Luckily the receptionist was really helpful. However these were minor issues as the location was great and we really enjoyed our stay. The good thing was also that there were many good local restaurants nearby.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Paivi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2015

This is a good place to stay if you want to be in the center of Rome. The rooms are pretty quiet considering this is a busy part of the city. Breakfast is very simple, I wished they had meat, cheese and bread for example, it could be improved. Somewhat annoying is that you have to open 3 doors to enter the place, but I guess that's enhanced safety. Wifi only works in the main entrance and main breakfast room, not powerful enough for the room. Overall we had a good stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kitty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I had planned a trip from Pisa to Isle of Giglio to Rome over a 4 day trip. We received a phone call from the owner the day before travelling down to Rome demanding an arrival time, which we had arranged with her prior to leaving England we could not be at her's before 7 oclock in the evening. She said we had to arrive before 5 oclock or we would not be greeted by anyone, unfortunately this was impossible for us as we were travelling by train and had arranged to spend the day on the isle of giglio. She became so rude and irrate and would not try and understand that we had boat and train times to stick too. She ended the phone call saying that if we were not there by a certain time we would not be welcome but will be charged the full amount. We therefore had to stay an extra night in Giglio and only one night in Rome. This VILE woman spoilt our holiday and cost us an extra 200 euro. Please do not stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerpalazzoduca, Proprietario at B&B Palazzo del Duca, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014
Google Translation

Due settimane per cercare di contattarvi sia noi che booking.
Nella pagina di booking è scritto molto bene che il check in è entro le 12,00 altrimenti bisogna concordarsi con il proprietario per un orario diverso (qualche giorno prima magari)
Quando si prenota è sempre meglio vedere cosa si prenota, un hotel con reception 24 ore oppure un b&b con orari particolari?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Myself and my husband had got married out of the city a few days before our stay here and were looking forward to staying here in the heart of the city before leaving Rome for a short stay in Capri. We had received a stern email from the owner a few days before demanding we tell her a time for our arrival. Unfortunately, I could not commit to a specific time as we had wedding guests to see to see to and ensure they were either on buses back home or on bus with us to rome city. However, I committed to an approx. time. The owner however took it that the time was set in stone and when we didn't arrive on time continued to harass us on the phone while we were clearly busy with our own guests. I informed her we would be there by one hour time. When we did arrive all I can say is that the owner was nothing short of psychotic. She ranted, screamed and abused us so much that I broke down crying and we had to leave. We felt unsafe staying in this Bed and Breakfast. Do not stay here in this establishment, Rome has so many other great places to stay. The best thing was she put us down as a no show and charged us the full amount. Something we have contested and have had no resolve.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank Orla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerpalazzoduca, Proprietario at B&B Palazzo del Duca, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Before Booked must be read the policy expecyally if is a B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We came to this B&B after reading all the great reviews and were disappointed...The location is indeed great in a small charming street.
However, we found the room itself and the service quite poor...The main thing was a very strong smell in the room, that seemed to stem from humidity or something else but was quite uncomfortable. The bed was very uncomfortable as well. We could not get a lot of fresh air in the room as the street below is fairly noisy at night (above a bar) so we needed the windows closed.
The thing that surprised us most is the service, after reading all the good reviews. The owner was not particularly helpful when we tried to set a time for check-in and check-out, we had to adapt to her time. Furthermore when we wanted to pay for the room she did not have change for the bigger bill and we were missing 50 cents to pay in exact cash...she made us go and look for the extra 50 cents and finally she let us go with 15 cents missing (out of 164 euros...).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abarneah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews