We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B and B I've ever been in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Palazzo del Duca
Ranked #2,299 of 3,621 Rome B&B and Inns
Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best B and B I've ever been in.”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This B and B was picked out for us by an Italian friend from Rome. What can I say that hasn't already been said about it. Fantastic hospitality, great breakfast, serene surroundings in a beautiful old home filled with precious antiques. After an 8 AM breakfast our host left and we had the entire flat to ourselves. It was close to everything so we were able to return several times a day to rest. Alesandra was a fantastic host. The first morning at breakfast my husband ask if there was any tabasco (for his eggs) and she apologized that she did not have any. The next morning tabasco was on our table. Loved the sounds of the street when we opened the great windows in the sitting room.
The sitting room had a piano, television, books and travel guides and an open bar for our enjoyment during the stay. What could have been better. It was nice to return there between excursions as the temperature was close to 100 in July. The place was spotlessly cleaned every day. Attention to detail was apparent. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConventionLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    13
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
49
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Troon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2010

First time in Rome and what a fabulous location, great service and a room with frescoed ceiling. We read the reviews before booking and we were not disappointed in our choice. Alessandra and Maurizio met us on arrival at 10pm and gave us the grand tour of their delighful small b&b. It has everything you need from air conditioning to wifi to a beautiful breakfast room/salon and a frescoed ceiling bedroom with a large comfortable bed.. Each morning we were given helpful advice on were to go/sightsee and help with booking tickets for the vatican to avoid the queues etc. You are within two minutes walking of various restaurants, five minutes from Piaza Navona and less than thirty minutes fron the Vatican. And the shopping is to die for (so says my wife).
This is definitely the best B&B we have ever stayed in Europe and we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Yes, it's expensive, yes, you don't get much in the way of luxuries (although we got some of the owner's own olive oil to take home), but it's a romantic, comfortable, fantastically located place to stay - we were there for a week, and we loved every minute of it. Mind you, it was our honeymoon...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Had an absolutely fantastic stay here while visiting daughter who was studying abroad. Location is a 10. Does not get any better. Very short walk to ALL places you want to go in the city and situated in a cool spot with great shops and fantastic hole-in-th-wall places to eat (particularly the "No Name" spot, across the street and down the block). Great breakfast to get you going in the a.m. and spacious living room to relax and unwind in the afternoon. Staff (Paola) is the most accomodating I have found in Rome. Answers graciously to your every call and even retrieved my backpack i left in the back of the taxi i took to the airport on day of departure and shipped it home. Prego!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cst66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed here 4 nights and had a wonderful time in a beautiful city.
It all starts with a warm welcome from a very helpful and kind staff, from the moment we walked in, they made us immediately feel at home.
The appartement is elegant, the room comfortable with a nice (red!) bathroom, everything very clean.
A delicious breakfast is served in a splendid living area, where you can read a book, resting a bit, drinking a glass or have a chat with the other guests.
The location is really perfect for the main sightseeing, the neighborhood is attractive,trendy,with a lot of bars and dining,pleasantly busy day and night.
The Palazzo del Duca is a very cozy and comfortable B&B, with value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guidobelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2009

I usually forget to write reviews, but this B&B deserves special mention. My girlfriend and I love Rome, and we always stop there when I fly back to Italy for the holidays. Palazzo del Duca is the best B&B we've found in Rome . The location is great of course. It's located in an old palace with a beautiful dining room where they serve breakfast. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was warm and cosy. It's a place that pays attention to details and service. The owners (sister, brother and wife) are very attentive and make you feel comfortable. We recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanoJP1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We would never have found this on our own. We had a cab driver who located it for us. There is no signage and just one large door. We received our keys with four locks to go through, and we never saw the owner or anyone except in the morning for breakfast. Not sure if we lost out key that we would have any way to get into the room. You were very much on your own. The room was O.K. but not outstanding. We liked the location but couldn't leave the window open as there was a bar across the street with lots of young adults until 2 am. I made the mistake of keeping the window open and never slept the first night! Closed it was quiet. I thought it was a little over priced for what you got, but maybe Rome you can't expect much. We paid 220 euros a night. I probably would try to find a little larger bed and breakfast where there were a few other people.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#485 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Rome Accommodation Governo Vecchio
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora Donna Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora de Michaelis
Antica Dimora de Michaelis
#333 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Governo Vecchio
Navona Governo Vecchio
#1,056 of 3,621 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
B&B Un Posto a Roma
B&B Un Posto a Roma
#546 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Palazzo del Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Palazzo del Duca

Property: B&B Palazzo del Duca
Address: Via del Governo Vecchio 115, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,299 of 3,621 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Palazzo del Duca 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Duca B&B is situated in a aristocratic Residence perfectly conserved, furnished with elegance and charm. The dwelling which houses Palazzo del Duca B&B was built around 1492 a few years after Christof Columbus had discovered America. Palazzo del Duca is a private and intimate B&B, where its manageable size allows a great refinement of detail. Our restaurant at the Colosseo "L'Invincibile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your B&B Palazzo del Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing