We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BBQueen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BBQueen
Ranked #857 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very well located, an easy stroll from Termini Station for arrival and departure but even nearer to Republic for everyday (less busy). Spacious room (we've had rediculously small in Rome previously) and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is put down in front of you and at first glance doesn't seem much but when I thought about it I decided I probably eat more than I would usually!
The real joy here is Julia who couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful, making it a real pleasure to stay. If/when we're in Rome again would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waspsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
75
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I booked this B&B through Venere.com. My last stay after 2 weeks traveling Europe. It's close to Termini station. From the outside, it doesn't look convincing but once you get into the B&B, it's another world entirely. Unlike relatively dirty neighborhood, the BBQueen is squeaky clean. Room is spacious, even though the bathroom is tiny. Quite modern interior with a small breakfast room, since it has only 3 rooms. Maybe there are a lot of this quality of bnb all over Rome, but the main reason why I am so attached to this place is the owner, Julia. She is so fantastic. She caters to all my needs, so concern with my welfare during my short stay. I can't say enough good things about her. It's may be just a bed and breakfast, but Julia is the 5 star of the whole stay. I will definitely come back to BBQueen someday.

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_Nasution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We visited BB Queen in September on our first trip to Italy. What a wonderful little property. The three rooms are spacious enough, clean and are all you need after a busy day walking around Rome. Julia is an absolutely charming host who goes the extra mile to help you with planning your excursions and discovering her beautiful city. Lots of good, authentic restaurants in the neighbourhood. A daily market place outside the hotel offers everything from fruit & vegetables to shoes and jewelery! Breakfast is enough to get you going for the day - the coffee is outstanding! We spent time each evening in the little dining room or in the courtyard outside the front door with a bottle of wine - planning our next day. Julia and her property are gems in the heart of this magnificent, historic property.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

They key to this place is Julia. You will find the same in other reviews as well, so you know there's something to these rave reviews. The BBQueen in itself, is a lot of things that you want, clean, updated, quiet and a good location. What puts it over the top is Julia's care for its customers. Obviously, she wants people to enjoy their stay for future business, however, she goes the extra mile in genuine fashion, as opposed to the ever so prominent 'smile in your face' pretentious attitude that you can find most anywhere. As Americans, we can expect a level of disdain from foreign lands who judge us first for being American, and many of those will never change their outlook, simply looking to take as much money as possible, but you'll find her genuine. One example is that we were interested in seeing an opera, not that we were huge opera fans, but since there is such history there for the art there in Rome. She found us an event that served us perfectly. This is the kind of thing that you hope for visiting a foreign country when you only know so much and could use a helpful hint, as opposed to being directed to some overpriced vultures ready and willing to take your money and give little in return. Tripadvisor should bring this lodging up several notches for this aspect alone.... but aside from that, it's also a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teslasrevenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at the BBQueen. Easy walk from Termini or other Metro stops; very pleasant homey restaurant right next door. Its tucked into a living courtyard with real Romans with a brand-new, spotless modern interior. Street market right out front. But Julia, the owner is the real selling point - she's just delightful. Breakfast is what she's providing that day - along with wonderful conversation. Although not for the 5-star crowd (no fancy common area to meet & greet associates/clients), it's a great value in the center of town. Especially useful for folks who've been to Rome before.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rah373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife and I stayed 3 days in Rome prior to a Mediterranean Cruise. This quiet Bed and Breakfast was perfect. It's modern and clean and only a 5 minute walk from the Termini Train Station ( From the Rome Airport take the "Leonardo Express" Train direct to the Termini - cost 14 euro.)

Julia is the proprietor of this 3 unit BBB. She's extremely helpful with useful information about nearby Restaurants, Sightseeing and Metro information (the metro station is a short walk). Each unit has it's own modern bathroom, flat screen TV, wireless Internet, and an excellent bed.
A Continental Breakfast is served each morning consisting of Cappuccino, juice, breads/Croissants, cheese and Yogurt; very tasty but not overly filling.

This BB is very secure in that you enter through a locked gate from the street to an inner courtyard, to a second locked Door to the BB and then a double lock to your room.
The first morning after we arrived a marketplace had taken over the street outside the gate with vendors selling everything from food to leather goods, etc etc. It's a 90 minute Train ride from the Termini train station to Civitavecchia where all the Cruise Ships dock.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheruntravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I am totally experience how nice Julia is. One of the nice things was that The night I checked in BB queen, my lugguage was broken. I told Julia "I am sorry that I was late because I was dealing with my broken luggage with airline company". The next day, she wrote me the address of luggage maintenance shop, called the shop's staff and taught us how to go. I was very impressed!

For the B&B, walking distance from Rome Termini station less than 10 minutes. The room is exactly the same as the web photos. Very modern, clean, secure and large. I have a happy time in BB Queen and would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Ascot
Ascot
#550 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#219 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#124 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#214 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Esquilino
B&B City Life Rome
B&B City Life Rome
#1,055 of 3,735 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BBQueen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BBQueen

Property: BBQueen
Address: Via Montebello 25, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #857 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your BBQueen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bbqueen Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing