We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
173
65
20
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
65
20
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sistine chapel skip the line audio guide raphael rooms buy tickets visit to rome trevi fountain pope tapestries peters euros monument maps metro
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 278 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This truely is a spiritual place and I am not cathlic nor even christian. The art is amazing, even with all the crowds it is easy to step back and steap yourself in it. I do recomend using a tour group to get in though, or you will be there all day. We used one that got us in the doors, and then we were on our own to explore at our leasure, this was perfect for us, I don't really like tour groups.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Gogh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were just here 2 weeks ago. If you love huge crowds of people pushing you around, standing in lines, and overly-priced souveniors stations EVERYWHERE to support the church's oppression, this place is for you. Honestly could not imagine being here in June-August ! The Sistine Chapel is really not much of anything after spending serveral hours marching like lemmings through building after building of gold and frescos on display. Actually, it was the less spectacular part of the journey (much more dramatic chapels & churches outside the vatican).

Hint: the Vatican MUSEUM tour - there WILL be a huge line that snakes around the outside. You do NOT - repeat: do NOT - stand in that stupid line, EVER, if you bought you ticket ONLINE in advance. Just walk past that line to the front and there is a "Online Ticket Purchase" special line at the front that you enter with your voucher. You will save yourself hours of standing in that other line.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Cody94530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Because of the crowds and overwhelming collection I would of preferred going straight to the Sistine Chapel. If I ever go again I would skip most of it and just visit St. Peter's Basilica including climbing the 400+ steps to the top of the dome and the Sistine Chapel.

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I had no idea there was so much in here! Astounding collection. Every room leading up to the Sistine Chapel is mindblowing. But makes the Sistine Chapel less of a dramatic site.

Date of stay: February 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank cbs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews