We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
179
35
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
35
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslast minute tripmetro linevisit to romeminute walkwonderful staypanellebeddingromansfoyer
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 221 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Found Frank's House through cross-pollinate.com and was not disappointed. Frank and Soledad were gracious hosts, especially since we arrived earlier than expected and my husband was feeling very ill after a long flight. They went far beyond the call of duty to help us when we needed it, despite their busy schedule. We will always appreciate that extra care.

The room (we reserved the room on the street side with the small balcony and the bathroom ensuite), was beautifully decorated, very comfortable bed, and good lighting. The noise from the street was fairly loud during the day, but turned off at night, almost as though someone threw a switch.

We had mixed feelings about the location: very convenient to train station and metro lines, but a bit of a rough neighborhood. Once we got used to it, however, we felt fine and were fascinated by the diversity of the neighbors. Very close to a large covered market for fruit and sandwich ingredients.

We knew up front that this was a B&B with no breakfast, but, I confess, it would have been so nice to have a coffee or tea there. Not too many steps outside, though, to cafes.

The room had an assortment of guide books and maps and Frank pointed out restaurants in the neighborhood that were worth visiting.

We're glad we chose Frank's House and would stay there again.

Grazie!
Katie and Ted

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank km_HydePark_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Frank's House, in the Room #2 which has a Private Non-Ensuite Bathroom.
Pluses: conveniently located near the station when you arrive from Fiumincino and really cosy: comfy bed, no noise and spacious. Definitely go for it if you're looking for a room only and value - which was my primary criterion.
Frank is a friendly host and although he was not around, the 2 ladies we met to check in and out were really helpful.
Minuses: you're still a bit far out (walking distance) from the more glamorous part of Rome. But accommodation in the centre of Rome can be so expensive... you just need to set your priorities ie cost vs. location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodistaOntheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Frank's house is located in nice place near the Termini station. Due to this location, one who likes long walking can reach a major part of Rome's attractions afoot. There are 2 rooms in this B&B which can be offered for travelers (Frank lives in the third one). One of them has balcony and looks really attractively. Unfortunately this room was occupied during our stay and we got the second one. It did not look so attractive, however there was everything we needed (a wardrobe, bed and armchair). The negative thing about this B&B is absence of breakfast (so there is just one 'B' letter left), but there are a lot of places to est around the Frank's house. So, I would say that this B&B is a good place to stay in Rome but nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellivais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My wife and I decided to splurge on an 8-day trip to Rome. We travel quite a bit but this was our first time in Rome and we were looking for a central location at a reasonable price. After lots of searching we discovered Frank's House, which looked as if it might meet our needs. I can't imagine a better choice. The room was lovely and we loved the neighborhood. Great little restaurants and shops and one of Rome's best and most diverse markets a block away. Vittorio Emanuel Metro is a half block from the house and Termini is a five minute walk.

Frank and his new bride Soledad could not have been more responsive to our needs. They are great hosts -- available when we had questions but respectful of their guests' privacy.

I know travelers who prefer to live in a cocoon when they visit an unfamiliar place. We'd rather get a sense of what it's like to live there. Frank's House gave us an opportunity to do that while in Rome and we'd go back in a minute.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capecodtraveler597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Me and a friend stayed there for three great days, it was clean, tidy, and close to all tourist locations. We' re both very thankful for the truly kind treatment received, and it was really for an amazing price!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristinaCazaubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews