We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
8
21
7
4
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
21
7
4
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I write in English though I'm German therefore many people can understand what I want to say. So never mind my grammar and vocabulary.

If you are informed about prices and rooms in the center of Rome, the EUR 89,-/2-bed-room and night incl. breakfast are more than fair. The small rooms are clean, but not clinically. Fresh towels more than you can use. The house is guided by members of a men's monastery - what do you expect?

The personal is very friendly - if you are polite and friendly, too. Have a look in Italian's behaviours before you travel there. Let them make a "bella figura" at complaints: Let him an occasion to find a solution, if there's a problem. And learn some Italian phrases cause they don't speak any foreign languages but Latin and ancient Greek maybe ;-)

Breakfast is very simple, but if you know that a real Roman doesn't have breakfast except for a "café" (that heavenly coffee in a "thimble" *g*), it's ok.

Anyone who has uttered and mumbled here, didn't have any basic infos about Italy and its people. We enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Perfectly quiet at night. Learn some Italian. Closes at 23 p.m., but you can get an extra key for later hours.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kollper l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The location of this monistary was outstanding to see the sights in Rome. But it lacked in all other factors one would expect in a place that is supposed to be equivalent to a 3 star hotel. The bathroom was very dirty, the shower had black mold on it. The windows had shutters that could not be opened therefore the room was very dark and very warm. The ceiling was very high so the light from the fixtures was absorbed by the blood red walls and did not reach the areas that needed to be lit up. There was a ceiling fan but it just moved hot stale air around. The room was not made up for 2 days and we had to ask for clean towles which were small and threadbare. One would expect something as simple as tissues and plastic cups to be provided, they were not. The breakfast coffee was undrinkable and the bread hard and stale. We ate breakfast out after the first experience. The priests were very unfriendly as if we were a big imposition on them even though this place had many rooms for visitors. I can live without a tv but don't stay there if you can't. Beds were very soft as well as the pillows, a second pillow was not to be had. If you plan on staying in a monistary ask alot of questions first.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank AnnaOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews