We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“21st Birthday Trip”

Driver Guide Service
Ranked #9 of 780 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WELCOME TO ITALY !Customized Tours shows you The Eternal City Of Rome like no one else. Our tours highlight the very best of Italy , We Cotumaze Tours Show you the Enternal City of Rome , Vatican museum , Florence , Naples , Amalfi Coast & Golf Cart Tours in Rome . Delicious wine tastings at select boutique wineries, factory tours and much more. With 20-plus years in the business, we know just which world class spots to show you for maximum enjoyment. Our enthusiastic guides are local experts who will delight you with their wit and knowledge. And no matter which of our affordable tours you choose, you’ll have plenty of time to ask questions, explore and even do a little shopping.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“21st Birthday Trip”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Ivano, Dani and the Team made our son's 21st birthday trip a real pleasure. We were only in Rome for 3 days and nothing was too much trouble for them. They picked us up from the airport and it was non stop tours until they took us back to the airport again for our return home. They are a lovely family who enjoy what they do and take pleasure in showing tourists their country. There was no rush and Ivano made sure that we got to see everything on our list and that we were comfortable during the trips. Ivano also arranged for us to meet Agnese, our Tour Guide for the Vatican. She was fantastic and although we had been to the Vatican before, we felt that we were seeing it all for the first time. Her knowledge was amazing and she was such a lovely person. My husband and I have been to Rome 3 times before and taken tours of the sights but we can now see the difference having been with Ivano's family this time. We learned so much more because there were only four of us and Ivano, Agnese and Dani had the time to explain in detail about the sights we were looking at. Our last time was with a cruise ship tour with lots of other people and the details get lost with such a big group. Therefore we would recommend, even on a cruise tour, to book with Ivano before you sail rather than take the cruise excursion. Granted it is a little bit more expensive but better value for money if you want to learn about the country your visiting.So to sum up, we couldn't have asked for more on our trip and when we next return, we will be sure to get in touch with Ivano and the Team.

Caio,
Linda, Bob and family

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 369Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,546
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I had an amazing 4 hour private tour of Rome with Ivano. His friendly personality and incredible historical knowledge of Rome was what made our tour so great. He took us to all the major sights. We never felt hurried or pressed to move on. The pace of the tour was just right. When we would reach a new sight, Ivano would first show us what the original sight looked like on his IPAD, giving us a brief history of what we were about to see. That made it so much more interesting!
We can't say enough good things about Driver Guide Service. From start to finish, it was first rate. If you're going to Rome and want to see it the way it should be seen, contact Ivano. He knows what he's doing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank flycamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Booked 4 tours with them in a 7 day trip! Does that say how much we loved them???”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I can't say enough great things about Ivano and his team!!!!! The great service started even before we arrived in Rome. Since we were only in Rome for 7 days, I wanted to make sure that we were able to see as many things as we could. Roberta and Ivano booked our tours to maximize our time while not missing out on any attractions! We are a family of 5 (3 adults and 2 children (6 and 14 months) and Ivano and his team even provided a car seat so we wouldn't have to bring our car seat with us on the trip!

Our first trip was the Rome in a day tour with Claudio. He is a walking encyclopedia of knowledge about Rome!!! We were able to see more in one day than we would have been able to see in a week on our own! He asked us in advance what was important to us regarding certain sites and how much time we would like for lunch so that we could maximize our day. During our stop to the catacombs, several tour buses were making one catacomb extremely busy. Claudio told us to get back in the car and he would take us to another one. We drove literally 30 seconds down the road to another catacomb and walked right in!

The next day we went to Pompeii and the Almafi coast with Fabio. Another home run!!!! Once again, Fabio asked us what we would like to do on our tour. The tour is supposed to go to 2 sites on the coast, but we decided that we wanted to relax and just visit Sorento. Fabio agreed and recommended a great restaurant and shopping areas. Unfortunately, we were stuck in a terrible traffic jam on the way home, but we honestly didn't even pay that much attention since we were laughing and talking the whole time with Fabio. He taught our daughter how to count in Italian and explained more about Rome and the surrounding areas.

The next day, we went to the Vatican with a private tour arraigned by the team. While others were waiting in line for hours in the rain, we walked right in and didn't wait a single second!!!

The tour guides and drivers are SO knowledgeable that you really understand the ideas and beliefs of the artists and architecture around the city. There is no way that you can read in guide books what Ivano and his team told us on our tours. We originally only booked 3 tours with them, but we were so happy with the service, that we booked a date night for my husband and I. The Rome by night tour was great and Ivano was our driver of the evening. We stopped and had a glass of Prosecco at a wine bar recommended by Ivano and the dinner reservation/recommendation was spot on!

Everyone was on time, very professional, and especially knowledgeable about the city. We are so glad that we booked with them! Don't book those overfilled tour buses with set schedules and set scripts- book with the experts who can tailor the tour to your family's wishes! Thank you so much Ivano and your team!!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dmbfan7716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day Trip”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Ivano took my family from Rome to Florence. He was recommended by our cousins and he was awesome. We stopped at a winery that we set up and then stopped at Siena before arriving in Florence. On the way to the winery, he acted as a guide and explained many sights which made the 3 hour trip go quickly. At the winery, instead of just dropping us off, he went into the winery and made sure our tour was properly set up. He really make sure we were taken care of. In Siena, he had a special pass and drove right up to the Duomo. We only had 2 hours to walk around but he saved us a lot of time by taking us right into the middle of Siena. In Florence, he took us straight to our hotel. At the end of the trip I felt he was more a friend than a driver. My wife and children also felt the same way. We have already recommended Ivano to friends who will be visiting Italy in the summer. We loved Italy and can't wait to go back and would call Ivano in a second.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DrewK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent tour service in Rome”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a wonderful tour of Rome and the Vatican, we saw a great deal more in two days than we would ever have seen on our own, Luca our guide was very informative, great with our two young children and also gave us information on places to eat, and things to see when we finished our tours, he also guided us to the best gelato in Italy (we tried lots). We had complimentary, seamless transfers from the airport, a godsend after a very long flight and to the station.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brookops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Driver Guide Service also viewed

 

Been to Driver Guide Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing