We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location,Friendly Employee...... BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meltin' Rome Guesthouse
Ranked #2,916 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The upside were:

Room was pretty clean, clean towels, clean toilet, and included a FAST INTERNET(usually most hotels charges). Few minutes walk to Train and bus station and about 20mins walk to Collosseum. Previous posts mentioned Kitchen, but due to recent renovation, Kitchen is NO LONGER available. Hotel is pretty secure despite its "unquestionable" location. Including your room door, hotel has three points of entry that all require different keys.

The downside were:

Bed was VERY HARD, I suffered backache which affected my whole day of walking throughout my vacation. I am very fit and I can walk for miles, but ended up taking the bus at night due to backache.

Another VERY SIGNIFICANT part was the NOISE. Due to VERY THIN windows, it was impossible to sleep as you hear cars, trucks, buses THROUGHOUT the night. You expect there'd be less noise and driving at night, but boy was I so wrong. In short, a good sleep was IMPOSSIBLE to attain. I emailed the manager ( very nice guy name Rodolfo) and asked of any possibility to be moved to another other room; DID not happen. I found out that all the rooms have SIMILAR THIN windows, therefore moving to another room would NOT have made any difference.

Other than the above-mentioned factors, not too bad of a hotel. The hotel has 4 bed rooms - two rooms have their own private bathroom while the other two have their private bathrooms located outside the room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room NOT facing the road. Although since I didn't stay there, I don't know wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is well located near the Roma Termini. The apartments are very nice and have great space an comfortable furniture. The manager is very kind and provide good tips about the city. Need to improve the Point of Sale, that does not work. I liked it so much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carnavapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Pretty basic accommodation. Hard bed, but sleep able after a few wines. Shared kitchen and bathroom. Excellent security as the building is located in an area which is not that safe, especially at night. The electrical fittings were not secure and the bathroom had a large area of black mould in a corner. The shower was a tiny cubicle. Expensive for its location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonylast47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 night with my hubby during the 2nd week of May. The building that it is location has a security gate, which made us feel a little safer in Rome. The staff was young, nice and speaks gd English. B&B was self-service, we were welcomed to use anything in the kitchen for cooking and consumption. I like that concept, the only part which I feel could be improved was the condition of the utensil. The electric kettle didn't seem clean, I guess it was due to the minerals in the water. The water that was boiled had yellowish residue in it. Some of the cups were not properly washed by the previous users which made it uncomfortable for us to use. Maybe the staff can do a check once a week on the condition of the utensil?
The room we had was quite alright. I like the effort of displaying the toiletries nicely on the bed! Shower essential are provided and hair dryer! The room I guess is supposed to create a romantic feel, but it would be gd if there is a brighter lighting available too, as it can be quite dim when we were reading maps, planning our itinerary.
It was a pleasant short stay. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We stayed in Meltin Rome during out short trip to Rome during October 2011. We finalized this after lots of research about B&Bs in Rome in Tripadvisor and other portals. This place is walkable from Roma Termini and still manages to distance itself from the hustle bustle of busy market near to the Termini. It is located in a quite lane at 10 mins walk from Termini. The rooms were small, clean and tastefully decorated, although we did not like the red colored theme so much in our room. Breakfast was kept in the Kitchenette and the bathing closet and bathroom were located in a corner of the kitchen. It was not very spacious with 24 hrs assistance available etc. But overall absolutely no complaints. This B&B had all basic amenities available and the proximity to main areas makes it a good value for money option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niraj_Kumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Meltin Rome is very small B&B with just a few rooms, it's an apartment with kitchen and hallway and that's it. It's very peaceful, room was clean and warm, heating was working well. location very close to Termini which is a plus. Breakfast was hostel style, just the basics. We have seen staff only on arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This B&B's good points:
A very good price - especially for Rome
Very good location if you want to be near Termini Station
Excellent Wi-Fi

The location is 1-1/2 blocks from Termini station. We were met by a young man who is managing the place. He was very friendly and helpful. However, he does not live in the neighborhood so was not helpful at all with local restaurant suggestions.

The bad:
We had the room with a private bath. To reach the private bath, however, you must exit your room into the hallway then enter the bathroom, which has its own lock and key. The real negative with this was that the bedroom door will not latch shut without locking it! Hence the bedroom door is left ajar several inches unless one takes the room key with them and locks it from the hall.

The second very irritating thing is the hot water in the bathroom. There apparently is a hot water tank capacity enough for one person's shower. Anytime someone had taken a shower in the shared bathroom, we could only have ice cold water in our shower, even a half hour later. The shower head also squirts as much water out of the head connection as out of the shower head. The water pressure in the shower also only provides a small dribble when it is turned to the hot side. Also, I was never able to get hot water at the laboratory sink.

The third issue was that part of the floor in our bedroom was not very clean. When my wife laid her suitcase lid open so it touched the floor, she found the lid covered with white dust where it touched the floor. Where I put my suitcase down, I did not have this happen, however.

The breakfast was as described by others, so no need to repeat that. One thing that did bother us was the refrigerator in the kitchen. We were told we could store our own food items there if we wanted, a nice feature. However, one of our nights there we were the only occupants and there was still food left in the refrigerator. In fact, after four nights there, the same food was still sitting in the refrigerator that had been there when we came.

If you really need an economical place to stay that is near the main train station, this place is OK. If you are a bit picky, I would do some additional searching. If you do stay here, they will want to know your arrival time to meet you since the manager or owner isn't normally there. If you arrive early, have a cell phone to call them. Otherwise you will be cooling your heels until near the arrival time you had indicated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#343 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#447 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#226 of 1,271 in Rome
662 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meltin' Rome Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meltin' Rome Guesthouse

Address: Via Filippo Turati 76, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,916 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $58 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique & Low Cost Guest House in the heart of Rome, located in a safe neighborhood full of facilities, just in five minute walking distance from main train station (Termini). In walking distance from subway and historical center. Offers comfortable rooms with private bathroom and free wi-fi. The bathrooms have been recently renovated. With a modern and minimal style, comfortable beds and rooms with all amenities the property ensure a beautiful stay.A different culture mix inspires each room.The rooms are ideal for couples wishing to spend an intimate and romantic stay, for young backpackers looking for a trendy and inexpensive lodging, and for whom is looking for a comfortable and central accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meltin' Rome Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meltin` Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing