We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The invisible hotel”
Review of Babuino 181

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Babuino 181
Ranked #30 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

A hotel with virtually no frontage or presence and yet inside is luxury and peace. My wife found this through Trip Advisor after I spend ages getting confused about where to stay in Rome.

The hotel sits almost equally between the historic sites of the forum and the Vatican (25 minutes on foot). Its close to the Spanish steps, Trevi fountain and Pantheon (10 minutes). Good if you decide to walk around as we did.

The rooms are recently refurbished and have wi-fi and flat screen TVs with sky and movies in English if you press the right buttons. The beds are large and very comfortable.

I like a good nights sleep and get disturbed by street noise, so we asked for a quiet room and were given 103, which also is used for disabled visitors. This room has no view, being into a courtyard, but is a peaceful haven in a city full of noise. There is still, as in all hotels nowadays, a background of air condition hum but nothing to what you can experience of street noise. The streets in the area seemed (relatively) quiet at night so street facing rooms may be OK as well.

The staff were always polite and helpful, the airport transfer they arranged was excellent and well worth the money for a door to door service in such a busy city.

The only down side is the cold breakfasts which whilst good value (10 Euro for some cold meats, cheese, bread, orange juice and coffee seemed quite a fair price in Rome) were served either in your room or in a lobby area as the hotel has no restaurant. We were told they are adding a roof top area for breakfasts which may remove this criticism and add hot dishes to the menu.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for Babuino 181
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We have been fortunate to have been able visit Rome every year for the past 7 years and we have almost always stayed at one of the Top 10 Trip Advisor hotels in the city without disappointment and I can easily say that this is my new favorite hotel in the city. The location, property and staff are all excellent and we will look forward to returning on our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

A local recommended staying near the Spanish steps as a good central location and after a brief search on Tripadvisor my wife and I booked Babuino for 4 nights in April. The room was very luxurious and although there wasn't a separate room for a sitting area - do you really need one? Bathroom included large bath, great shower and separate WC area. I thought it was good value for money given the size and spec of the room and its central location - you'd pay twice as much for the equivalent in central London. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and had a seemingly endless list of restaurant recommendations. We didn't have a single bad meal and again I was pleasantly surprised by the prices. A very fancy five course tasting menu at "Life" on Via Vita (lobster and the full works) including five glasses of wine each came to 130 Euros for two. Maybe I'm too used to the prices in London but I thought that was good value. Beware of the shops. They are superb - that's where you'll overspend!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Randl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This all suites property is terrific. We stayed over spring (Easter) break:
-Classic suite: Not really a suite but a large triple (no separate room). However large modern bathroom with a big tub, rainfall shower stall and separate toilet area.
-Great soundproofing and good 'air'
-Breakfast is delivered to your room, and very generous. Continental or American (includes meat/cheeses). Comes quickly (under 10 minutes).
-Very nice and knowledgeable staff. Great restaurant recommentations (Pietro, Edy, and Buci da Ripetta. Il Brillo) all within walking distance. Only one BAD recommendation Gusto (don't go!!!!). Loud, more expensive than the others recommended, so so food, and the waiter ripped us off by insisting service was not included and he needed an extra tip in cash.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank europe_travel_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

A little expensive but worth it. Comfortable, good facilities. Beautiful Rome! I hope to return ...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel is situated in easy reach of many of the attractions. We were in Rome for the rugby at Stadio Olympique. The hotel staff were very helpful, the rooms big and airy and the shower / bathroom large with a powerful shower.
Free coffee both in the room and in the lounge with complimentary pastries. The wifi had a strong signal and was complimentary ----- a pleasant and forward looking policy!
Definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in and will return to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

La Babuino sits almost at the end of Via Babuino, just minutes from the Spanish Steps and the best shopping and restuarants in Rome. Guests at this lovely, small (14 rooms) hotel can easily walk to everything from the Vatican (about 30 minutes on foot), to the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and the Coliseum (5 to 15 minutes). If a longer trip is planned the hotel can arrange for a car or you can stroll down the block to the Plaza del Popolo and pick up a taxi.

The hotel itself has a tiny, unmarked entrance that is identified by its address--"181"--above the door. There is no lobby to speak of but there is a lovely, comfortable lounge on the first floor that is stocked with water, newspapers in several languages, and a Nespresso machine. This is where my husband, who rises earlier than I do, went to read and sip a coffee in the morning and where we met our children for breakfast each day. The rooms are large and comfortable and are decorated in nuetral shades, with interesting pieces and fabrics. Each has a mini-fridge, selection of snacks and a Nespresso maker. The dressers, a room safe, shelves and space for hanging clothes are surrounded by floor to ceiling mirrors and hidden behind the bed. All the lighting can be controlled from the comfort of the bed which, at the end of a long day, is a welcome touch! The bathroom is large, well-lit and has both a soaking tub and a shower--it also has windows and natural light!

Breakfast is served in your room or in the lounge and can be ordered just 10 minutes before you want to eat. There are some ala carte items and some pre-set breakfasts like the "American" and the "Diet". The American comes with coffee, freshly-squeezed juice, yogurt, breads, meats and cheeses and the diet has juice, fruit salad, yogurt, cereal and toasts and cheese. The food is plentiful and good though the selections do not change from day to day.

The hotel's staff was friendly and professional but the standout was a young woman who is pursuing a degree in hotel management and was there as part of an internship. This young woman was a gem--the kind of person who makes you remember a place warmly and want to return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lsnyder813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,267 in Rome
514 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
210 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babuino 181? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babuino 181

Address: Via del Babuino 181, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rome
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#26 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $296 - $1,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Babuino 181 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome’s most exclusive boutique hotel, on Rome’s most exclusive street. Babuino 181 is located in the best location in Rome, in the heart of the upscale Spanish Steps quarter. And every bit of it is as chic as its neighboring boutiques. Step between Rome’s top fashion designers, disappear through discreet glass doors… and enter another dimension of Italian boutique luxury. After a day of inspiration touring Rome’s sites, come back to your home in Rome. Sip a cocktail on the brand-new, rooftop terrace overlooking Rome’s beautiful streets. Soak in a spacious marble bath. Slide between Frette sheets. Rest in comfort—and with the confidence that, no matter what you need or what personalized service you require, Babuino 181’s professional staff can make it happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Babuino 181 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babuino 181 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing