We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #21 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a fantastic hotel. My 17yr old daughter and I stayed here 11 Feb for 4 nights. Warm friendly staff from the beginning to end. We had a corner room with a massive bathroom that was spotlessly clean, the beds were a little firm for my daughters tastes but great for me. The room was warm and comfortable, the vending machines located on every other floor reasonable prices - cheaper than the corner vendor.. and worked on every occasion, even the 5 Euro bottle of wine was drinkable!!! Great location - easily walkable to all the main attractions and the termini. Would stay here again like a shot

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as I believe the bathrooms are bigger?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,775
    1,028
    101
    19
    9
See reviews for
952
2,042
115
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in February (during the snowstorm). The hotel really went the extra mile at 1:30 AM and was able to secure a taxi to come pick us up at the airport (there was no train service or taxi service available at the airport during the snow storm) so the beginning of our trip was saved!

The hotel is modern, new and clean. We had 2 adults and 2 children and were comfortable in our room (I think it was a Quad). The breakfast had many choices and was only 10 Euro. I also really enjoyed the vending machines that were reasonably priced for snacks, beer, wine. There is a kids area and outdoor rooftop area which we didn't get to take advantage of but when the weather is nice I am sure it is delightful.

The location was great as well! I would return without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divachitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed here November 2010 when the hotel was just newly opened. They had AMAZING rates for being a new hotel. I know now the rates have almost doubled since. Which is a shame because I loved this hotel and we were on a budget.
We had a huge corner room with a view of the opera house. I woke up to pretty opera music playing outside each morning, how lovely. Lots of plug options in these rooms. COMFY beds!
The rooftop deck is a great place to have a cocktail too.
Also located just a short 5 minute walk from Termini. And tons of great food around.
Loved this hotel so much!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

There are no negatives I could find about IQ hotel in Rome! Location is excellent for buses, Metro and walking to major sites. Staff were friendly and helpful especially Georgio at the front desk. Room was small but ample and beautifully decorated. Large shower room (one hears horror stories about bathrooms in Rome hotels!) Windows which open, varied lighting and and excellent kingsize bed topped off the room. The facilities are second to none with roof garden, shop, vending machines (not too expensive), microwave for guest use, gym and sauna, ice machines and a fridge in the bedroom. Clean is not the word! It was spotless they washed the corridor carpets and I defy anyone to find a speck of dust or stain anywhere. Breakfast was generous and varied for many palattes (even here its impossible to find a cup of tea like home, however - one of the adventures of travel!) Rate was very reasonable for Rome. Thoroughly recommend and really wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aranvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Hi All,
I found this hotel excellent. 15 mins walk from Trevi. It's near Piazza Republica. The hotel has free wifi also (although it's a little patchy when watching movies on your your iPhone). Bathroom and room was spotless clean. Service and staff were very helpful and friendly (provided map, directions to nearby taxi, e.t.c). Only thing was for 2 people each with a large suitcase the room is a little small.But this is only a minor point really. Also the bed was king size and was super comfortable. I'd certainly stay here again.
Thanks - Ronan.

Room Tip: choose a room high up that faces the internal courtyard - it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Ronan,

Thank you for sharing your opinion of iQ!

Our Hotel has been created keeping in mind the needs of the modern traveler.

All rooms are described in full on the websites where we sell, with pictures and size of rooms so that our Guests may choose their preferred accommodation for their comfort. Our idea was to give clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable price so to exclude all extras which not all Guests require. For example, the private bar is empty for personal use and the breakfast may be bought only if consumed.

However, we have also thought about the small extras which make the difference, as the Gym and the vending machines which cater for all the travelers’ needs. Also the free Wi-Fi internet connection is available in all the Hotel and its thought for our Guests who want to keep in contact with people back home or need to look up some information.

Once more thank you for your review and it and come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Having traveled through European cities previously, I knew better than to expect accommodations like the U.S. (i.e. room size and amenities...unless you want to spend "a pretty penny" and be on the outskirts of the major city) So, I searched and searched for a hotel that looked CLEAN, especially the bathroom/shower.

Room size: we actually had enough roof to walk on either side of the bed and still had a decent amount of closet space which included a safe (ideal for our laptop).

Comfort: bed was a platform bed, a little firm but, which I thought was fine, Kenneth thought it was not bad. Overall, the room was inviting enough to just hang out and relax in without feeling claustrophobic.

Cleanliness: GREAT both room and bathroom....and if anyone prefers a clean bathroom, free of mold, this is it. (Note - just remember that the stand-up shower is smaller than normal U.S. showers so, don't be alarmed..it's common by European standards)

The I.Q. Hotel was very easy to get to from the Termini train station. We actually walked with our luggage in-tow. Although some may want to take a cab. It took maybe 10 minutes to walk and was great when we used the train for a day trip to Florence. We walked almost everywhere, the Coliseum, the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps and took a short train/subway to Vatican City.

There were plenty of places to eat around the hotel but, the best breakfast bargain was the hotel's rooftop buffet..$10

Thank goodness for the past "trip advisor" reviews and the photos! Not only did we concur with the higher ratings we wanted to post our opinion, also.

Unfortunately we don't have any photos to post but, PLEASE look at others' pics. They're pretty accurate.

We would definitely stay there, again and recommend the I.Q. Hotel to others looking to stay in the heart of Rome.

Happy travels everyone - K & K

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri-Kenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taichung, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

It's really a good stay at this hotel!
It's very close to the train station, Termini, and thus suitable for those visiting Roma by train.
I like the decoration very much. (Cute and innovative icons everywhere.)
In addition, the staffs are very warm-hearted.
If I have the chance back to Roma, I'll surely choose IQ!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crema0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,360 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing