We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of iQ Hotel Roma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
iQ Hotel Roma
Ranked #22 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My husband (an extensive traveler) and I were both impressed by this hotel. The staff was very friendly and warm. We arrived before our room was available, so the staff immediately asked if we wanted our luggage stored. While we waited, we took a walk around the area and discovered just how close we were to a number of the major sites and really good restaurants. When we returned to check in, we found that we were given an upgrade without even asking for one (we had booked our stay through Expedia). We stayed in room 301 for four nights. I was shocked by the size of our room and the bathroom -- they were HUGE! We had a tiny walk-out balcony that overlooked a quiet street. We thoroughly enjoyed the roof-top seating, complete with heaters to warm the area on the cool nights. I would certainly stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Rome!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,918
    1,050
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
993
2,138
117
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We were friendly welcome by the staff, and during our stay we felt comfortable and cozy. There are vending machines sell many kinds of soft drinks and daily needs; toothbrushes, shaver, umbrella etc. This hotel also provide washing machines, very convenient for traveler This hotel also provide smoking area. The location is very good, near many restaurant and shops, and within walk distance to Termini station. We can get many interesting places by city tour bus near this station. The room was bright, very clean, quite spacious and well designed. The bathroom also very clean. The breakfast was plenty, we would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great location- walking distance from the main (Termini) railway station, and most places of interest are walk-able, but the Metro isn't far away either. Room was a little compact, but nicely presented and very clean, even had a small balcony. Shower was fantastic, only downside was the bed was very firm, not that comfy.
The hotel staff we very friendly and helpful, we had the buffet breakfast a couple of mornings (10 euro a head) which was very good, nice selection and self service bean to cup coffee machine.
There is no restaurant at the hotel and no bar as such (they do sell some drinks at the end of the reception desk), instead they have vending machines, the one on the top floor sells alcohol, reasonably priced too. Bottle beer 2.50 and water 50 cents. By this machine, they also have a roof terrace with comfy seats and heaters under a covered area (we went in Feb). No doubt this would be busier in the summer months.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexy_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is walking distance from most of the major sites, there are restaurants, bars and shops all around, yet the hotel is situated in a low key street so there is no noise. The hotel itself is clean and minimal. The rooms are spacious and nicely done. Its what you would expect from an "IQ" hotel. The bar is a vending machine - which we loved b/c that can be used 24/7. There is a nice terrace where you can sit and enjoy an afternoon. This is no traditional hotel - its modern and great for an avid traveler!

The staff is helpful and nice, the breakfast is nice but a little overpriced for what it is so try to get a breakfast included deal.

I'd stay there again!

Room Tip: We picked the top floor - the terrace is on the same floor and we liked the easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottawanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at iQ Hotel Roma, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for posting a comment on our Hotel.

iQ is a new concept Hotel which is appreciated from all our Guests and new travellers to Rome. We offer a high 4 star hotel quality and service pared with a competitive rate for location and category.

All our rooms are described in full on our selling website and give the Guests the possibility to buy only what needed. For example the breakfast is not included in the room rate but it can be bought only for 10 Euros. So only who would like to have a complete buffet breakfast in the morning may decide to acquire it. This is served in our luminous rooftop breakfast room facing our terrace and it offers a mix for all tastes.

We look forward to having you soon again at iQ to enjoy a new adventure into our new concept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the minute we walked through the door of the iQ Hotel, we were most impressed by everything we encountered. The reception staff greeted us warmly and, although we arrived early in the morning and our room was still occupied, our cases were locked away for safekeeping. The man on reception was really helpful, giving us lots of useful information about where to visit and how to get there. When we checked into our room, we were surprised and pleased to see how large and immaculately clean it was, as was the ensuite bathroom. The iQ Hotel is in an excellent location, very close to all the tourist attractions and only a 5-10 minute walk from Termini. However, it is situated in a quiet street so there is no noise.The vending machines provide a varied selection of very reasonably-priced snacks and drinks and even the late night drinks we had at the bar were much cheaper than we expected. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186306Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for four nights, going home tomorrow. Been a great base for myself and my daughter to see the sights of Rome. Clean and modern with a basic self service style approach. Good breakfast for 10 euros a head to get you started for the day. If you are looking for room service etc then this hotel is not for you, but a good "premier Inn" style of accommodation. And free in room WiFi.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the vending machines that are on each floor, as although not noisy, late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobby505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed in a Triple Room at iQ Roma - very spacious, big bathroom. The iQ is a very good choice - have no hesitation recommending it. I don't understand previous reviewer's negative comments - the iQ is a modern contemporary hotel, which is obvious from the hotel description and pictures. If you are looking for traditional old world "charm", then this is not for you. But if you are looking for a good-value hotel with modern comforts in a great location, then it fits the bill perfectly.
Also, everything is very reasonably priced (unlike most hotels which try to rip you off on "extras") - free wi-fi throughout hotel, very good breakfast buffet for only 10 euros, very good value vending machines and "easy bar".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,621 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
1,273 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,864 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#71 of 1,256 in Rome
2,598 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iQ Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iQ Hotel Roma

Property: iQ Hotel Roma
Address: Via Firenze, 8, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — iQ Hotel Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IQ is a 4-star hotel, with a twist! Located in downtown Rome, just a short 15 minute walk from the Trevi Fountain or the Colosseum and with Repubblica metro station just 200 metres away, hotels don't get much central than this. IQ guests enjoy free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel, a lovely terrace where to unwind overlooking the Opera House, and free access to our gym and sauna. We believe in tailor-made hospitality, so there are vending machines in virtually every floor, where you can buy yourself a bottle of wine, a pack of crisps, a tooth-brush or even an umbrella (not that you'll need it often!), All at very competitive prices. Now that you've found us... Welcome to a whole new hotel experience! IQ STAFF ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your iQ Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing