We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful studio flat in an excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property
CF living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
CF living room
CF entrance CF living kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
91 reviews
CF living room
CF entrance
CF living kitchen
CF living bed
CF living table
CF terrace
CF kitchen
CF living desk
CF bed
CF bathroom shower
CF bath
Ciancaeloni roof
Ciancaleoni wall by night
Ciancaleoni stairs by night
Ciancaleoni Court by night
Ciancaleoni Atrium by night
Ciancaeoni atrium2
Ciancaleoni sky
Ciancaleoni  door
Main Entrance
Street view
Street view 2
Ciancaleoni steps
Ciancaleoni Steps by night
Santa Maria dei Monti square
Santa Maria dei Monti square 2
Rione Monti Logo
Via Panisperna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
cab5
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location and great staff, but not without caveats.”
Reviewed January 8, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Rome to celebrate the New Year and wanted a central location - within walking distance to the attractions and/or metro. The Ciancaleoni Flat provided exactly this. It is within walking distance to the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Piazza Venezia and even Trastevere (if you don't mind a longer walk). Set on an interior, private street, the apartment is insulated from much street noise and traffic which makes it very quiet, but it is remarkably close to many fantastic restaurants and shops. The apartment is clean, and comfortable - the perfect size for a couple seeking a short getaway. The apartment has a large and very beautiful private terrace, which is clean, ideally decorated and secure. It is perfect for dining or having a glass of wine. The booking process is very efficient and Marida was very nice and responsive to inquiries regarding parking and arrival. Upon arrival, Sylvia was equally pleasant and very helpful in giving us advice and recommendations for shopping, dining and entertainment, in addition to an interesting history of the Ciancaleoni Palace. They were both the consummate professionals.

Although our stay was primarily positive, there were some drawbacks worth mentioning.

The shower was very small - which made it difficult to shower without touching the shower walls and doors (may be typical of Italy), and the hot water was not sufficient to accommodate 2 people. On 2 of our 4 days, we ran out of hot water; once when we showered immediately after each other (not enough hot water for my boyfriend to shower fully); and, a second time while I was showering and my boyfriend was washing 2 glasses in the kitchen. Also, even though there is wireless internet, the signal is very weak. Most times, we could only get 1 or 2 bars inside the flat. Finally, while the rental price was reasonable for the accommodation, I am not sure why we were charged a 20 euro early checkout fee to simply lock the door and leave the keys inside the flat (the same checkout process employed by a company we used in Venice - but without a fee).

Overall, I would recommend the flat for short stays, with the above noted caveats. I would have given the apartment 4 stars, but for the hot water problems and the shower size.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location.
Liked least: lack of sufficient hot water.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2012
Dear Cheryll,
Thank you for your review and advice, it helps us to better our service.

We are glad you and your boyfriend found CIANCALEONI FLAT a comfortable accommodation and we do thank you for the praise you made on the apartment, its location, its central neighbourhood and the picturesque area in which it is located. NOSTROMONDO® Staff is also grateful for the appreciation you showed for our service.
Nevertheless, we’re sorry you experienced some issues with the boiler that never happened before. All our previous Guests totally complimented us and hot water was never a problem. Anyway, your advice will be used promptly to repair or replace the current 60 lt boiler.
Regarding the wi-fi, although the average signal is 2 out of 5 bars, the connection is working properly. I can imagine that you probably suffered high traffic on the band due to Christmas Holidays.
Finally, I’d like to clarify that the additional fee (20€) for early check-out is pointed in the rental policies you signed and due to the fact that when you leave the apartment very early in the morning, with no standard check-out that normally happens after 8 am. , a delegate is sent shortly after to verify the status of the apartment.
Since Customer Satisfaction is the pillar of NOSTROMONDO® philosophy , we hope to host you again, and we’re sure you will fully enjoy your next stay as all our Guests usually do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linzimg
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful studio flat in an excellent location”
Reviewed November 27, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This flat is ideal for anyone who wants to feel like they're really experiencing life in Rome. It has everything you need for a short stay, including access to a private roof terrace to relax on at the end of the day.

The staff were very friendly and really took the time when we arrived to tell us about the history of the building and the local area. The local delis, patisseries, gelato shops and pizza places were really great.

The flat is close to a Metro station and only a short walk to the Colosseum and and other other attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location (and the roof terrace)
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2011
Dear Linzi,
thank you for your kindness. Rome, our CIANCALEONI FLAT and all our Staff will wait for you in your next trip in Rome to make it more than great...again.
Best regards,
NOSTROMONDO Staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bialystok
Reviewed November 27, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Nov 2011
Dear Janusz,
thank you for your attention and the kindness used for the description.
CIANCALEONI FLAT and all our staff will wait for your next trip to Rome.

Best regards,
NOSTROMONDO Staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PA
Reviewed November 8, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Nov 2011
Dear Mr. Callis,
Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate your kindness.
It has been a pleasure to host you and your wife and we wait for your next trip. Fortunately, we solved with Internet connection, setting it as wireless, thus everything will be more than perfect for your next visit.

Warm greetings,
NOSTROMONDO Staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shaplands
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location for exploring ancient Rome”
Reviewed November 7, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We were met at the Flat by the lovely Silvia who greeted us with open arms and a huge welcome. She gave us directions to various shops and restaurants as well as some very useful information on the area. (She also arranged a car to take us to the airport at the end of our stay). The Flat was absolutely everything we wanted - and the terrace was a real bonus. It is situated in an excellent location for exploring ancient Rome....with the Colosseum being just a 10 minute walk away! Most of the more popular landmarks were also within walking distance from the Flat - but for those who prefer public transport - the nearest Metro station was just 5 minutes away and only one stop from the Termini. The street was very quiet with no through traffic which made it very relaxing, with no disturbance at night. There is an excellent supermarket called 'Elite', in the street above the Metro Station, which stocked everything we could possibly have wanted for our stay. There is also a great restaurant called 'Cantina' at the bottom of the steps, at the end of the street, where you can either book a table or, do as we did - and get delicious Italian meals to take back and eat in the Flat or on the terrace! The accommodation in the Flat was perfect, with a well-equipped Kitchen and stylish Shower Room and everything was spotlessly clean. We had a wonderful 5 days in Rome and would definitely recommend this Flat to both family and friends. We would like to say a personal 'Thank you' to Silvia for all her attention and kindness throughout our stay. It made all the difference!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2011
Thank you Nigel and Meliosa,
we really appreciate your kindness.

It has been a pleasure to host you and we wait for your next trip to Rome.

Warm greetings,
Marida,
NOSTROMONDO STAFF.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaaikeBos...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely great roof terrace and super location"”
Reviewed September 14, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our stay at this apartment. Although it is not large, we loved the athmosphere of the building and the apt itself. The location was very nice: right in the middle of Monti, with it charming cafe's and restaurants nearby. But the greatest attraction of this apt is the roof terrace, which is right outside the apt. Here we could relax very comfortably, after a long day of sightseeing. We loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: roof terrace
Liked least: bad wifi connection
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djibrildu...
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things”
Reviewed July 29, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April. For the price, this is one of the best accomodation options in Rome. It is conveniently located near trains, etc. The surrounding neighborhood is great. The apartment is well appointed and laid out. We also dealt with Francesca who was great. It was like living in Rome for a short period instead of being there on a holiday. Our only complaints, and only reasons for not giving the property an excellent rating, were that we felt a more comprehensive guide to the immediate surrounding area should be included in the room for guests and the bathroom, being an interior, was a little damp and showing some watermarks. Don't get me wrong, Francesca is always available and did give us some pointed when we arrvied, but we missed a marked map, restaurant and shop recommendations, etc. More of these details would have been great, but this is a small thing to complain about, otherwise I would highly recommend this property.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing