We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING TOUR COMPANY”
Review of Walks Inside Rome

Walks Inside Rome
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.81*
and up
Pizza and Gelato Making Class with Dinner in Rome
Ranked #13 of 81 Classes & Workshops in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buongiorno! Welcome to Walks Inside Rome! We are Sal & Marilena. Our team's mission is to show you Rome's best art, history, food and fun. Our expertise is in private and semi-private tours which also include priority entrance (skipping the line) and special reservations to the city's most famous sights including the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, the Vatican Museums, the Sistine Chapel, and so much more!
Reviewed April 24, 2016

Walks Inside Rome is the best tour company we have ever used. On-line booking was so fast and efficient, we decided to sign up for three different tours with them rather than trying different companies. All of the guides and tours were excellent: Katya led us through the Doria Pamphilij Gallery and nearby churches. She is a delight, bubbling with enthusiasm and deeply knowledgeable about Roman history and art. She was able to point out many things we had failed to notice on previous visits to Rome. The Doria Pamphilij itself is gorgeous, a Renaissance palace still owned by the original family, and worth a visit.

Our second tour was the Trastevere Evening Food Stroll with Sara, which was a fun window into uniquely Roman cuisine. The tour started with stops at neighborhood food shops to try and compare various salumi (cold cuts) and cheeses. Then we moved on to the Jewish ghetto to try Roman Jewish specialities including delicious fried artichokes (that taste like potato chips but look beautiful) and finally ended up in Trastevere.

Our final tour was a trip out of the city to Tivoli to see Hadrian's villa (Villa Adriana) and Villa d'Este. A driver picked us up right on time at our hotel and we met our guide, Barbara, in Tivoli. This history of both villas is fascinating and, of course, the beauty of Villa d'Este and its fountains is legendary. Barbara is deeply knowledgeable about the history and was an excellent guide. The tour was scheduled for 6 hours which is barely enough. You might want to add another hour to permit more time to explore the inside of Villa d'Este while also allowing a break for lunch. Tivoli is definitely worth a visit once you've seen the top sights in Rome.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilena B, WIR Team at Walks Inside Rome, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Hello Susan,

Thank you for your kind words. What a wonderful explanation of the experience you have had in Rome with us and our guides. They will be happy to hear they made the tours a little bit more special for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"early morning vatican tour"
in 71 reviews
"sistine chapel"
in 170 reviews
"private tour"
in 62 reviews
"small group"
in 51 reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 10 reviews
"guide sara"
in 7 reviews
"general public"
in 17 reviews
"jewish ghetto"
in 16 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 18 reviews
"art history"
in 14 reviews
"tour company"
in 21 reviews
"four hours"
in 9 reviews
"beat the crowds"
in 7 reviews
"underground colosseum"
in 7 reviews
"personal tour"
in 8 reviews
"cooking class"
in 13 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 14 reviews
Filter

220 - 224 of 675 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

We highly recommend this tour. Our guide-Nina "Mama Bear" made all of the difference- very passionate & knowledgable. The best part was access to the underground coliseum and the third tier-Amazing!

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Markandmyrasreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilena B, Owner at Walks Inside Rome, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2016

Thank you Mark for your kind words...we will make sure to pass them on to Nina!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2016

We had Tosca as our guide and in a few short hours she gave us a tour that was amazing, fascinating, and simply mind-boggling. The Coliseum, the Forum, Palatine Hill, the Pantheon, the Roman ghetto, several Basilicas, and other sites became alive to us as Tosca artfully and with stunning attention to detail gave us the background information and cultural importance. Her knowledge and ability to answer any question we had is unparalleled in my experience. I recommend good walking shoes, a good camera and a very attentive mind. ALSO, be punctual.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Merrylaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

We had an excellent Colosseum / Roman Forum tour with underground and 3rd level Colosseum visits. The tour guide, Francesca, was magnificent - a professional archaeologist, very knowledgeable about Roman history, and at the same time, very personable and engaging. I would highly recommend the tour, especially with Francesca as the tour guide.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2016

As so many others have stated, the Borghese may be one of the best museums not only in Italy but the world! The large and breathtaking collection of works by Bernini and Caravaggio would be worth it alone, but to see those works (and myriad others) in their original setting, in the amazingly decorated villa constructed by the great collector Cardinal Borghese, makes it all even more incredible. Being huge lovers of art and history, my mom & I decided to splurge for a private tour in order to get the most out of our first visit to the Borghese. Isabella, our guide, exceeded our highest expectations. She was friendly, animated, extremely informed and passionate about art, and an articulate speaker of English. An art historian who has worked at the Borghese for 18 years, she was fully versed not only in all of the art, architecture and décor, but also the history of the Borghese family and their relations with the artists. We met her outside the front entrance 15 minutes before our 2-hour visit slot, and she began by talking about the history of the site, the family and especially the Cardinal, as well as his collecting. She took us inside only after the large crowds congregating out front for the 3-5 pm slot had all entered, and throughout the tour guided us deftly through the rooms in a way that avoided congested areas. The opportunity to see so many masterpieces of painting and sculpture so close-up, with so few other people around you, is almost unique among all of the world-class museums we've visited in Europe and the US. We'll definitely return for a second visit if back in Rome! One final note about the Isabella's passion and expertise: When explaining to us the hidden meanings of a Titian masterpiece ("Sacred and Profane Love"?), she revealed that she'd actually written a novel based on this painting! Grazie, Isabella, for a wonderfully enjoyable and enlightening 2+ hours! [FYI- Booked our Borghese ticket on line several months ahead, and arrived about 40 minutes early, so no trouble collecting our tickets w/o waiting in any line, and since our hotel was only a 10 or so min walk away, we arrived with no bags, so didn't have to queue before or after to deposit or collect them. You do not need to check coats/jackets or cameras (non-flash photography is permitted), so recommend going "bagless" if you can.]

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank DonLuis92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilena B, Owner at Walks Inside Rome, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you very much for these kind words. We are really glad that you liked the Borghese Gallery, it's an amazing place with amazing masterpieces! We love having Isabella in our team, she is really knowledgeable. We're happy that she makes your visit memorable. Thank you again for this wonderful feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walks Inside Rome also viewed

 

Been to Walks Inside Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing