We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Gigli d'Oro Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gigli d'Oro Suite
Ranked #311 of 3,764 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stay at Gigli d'Oro Suite for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is an old building that has been gutted and made into a modern hotel. Yet it retains a lot of the old building charm.

We stayed in the Executive Suite on the top floor. It was very spacious, but I will warn tall travellers, the ceiling is a bit low in some spots. I stayed at this hotel in early July when it was extremely hot, and although we were on the top floor and it was sweltering outside, the a/c worked flawlessly... which was big concern knowing how some European hotels are scarce on the air conditioning. The bed was brand new and the bathroom had a very nice soaker tub which we filled with cold water to cool down after a day of walking around in the hot sun.

Besides the modern amenities of this hotel, the two standouts are the service from the staff and the location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They do leave for the night around 8pm, but they are there during the day to help you.

The location can't be beat. It's steps from Plaza Navona, About 10 minutes to the Spanish Steps, About a 5 minute walk to Castle Saint Angelo; About a 7-minute drive to the Vatican Museum. It was about a 20 minute drive to the Colosseum, but that was in traffic. It really does not get more central than here.

Room Tip: The rooms have good space, the top floor suites have low ceilings which may not be good for tall tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tolopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

A modern, comfortable, clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is in a brilliant location, steps away from the Piazza Navona (with stunning fountains, architecture and tasty restaurants) and no more than 15 mins walk from any of the major sites (including the Vatican). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carina1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We stayed at Gigli d'Oro for three nights and absolutely loved everything about our stay. The rooms are well appointed mixing modern comfort in a 15th century home of a former cardinal. Martina, and her partners who run the hotel, are all from Rome and give excellent tips on getting around the city, where to find the best pizza, gelato, and coffee, and any other locals recommendation you might want. Will definitely book here again for our next trip to Rome.

Room Tip: The hotel is very small, so if your budget allows, opt for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Wow!! What an amazing little boutique hotel with the most friendly and attentive staff we have ever met! The room was perfect, spotlessly clean with everything we could need. Breakfast was basic but good and what we expected. Ideal location for touring the whole of Central Rome. Close to everything. But what sets this place apart from anywhere else we've been (including 5* hotels) was the service. Honestly we have never met such super helpful, friendly staff who spent so much time making recommendations for us and booking various attractions for us. They were superb. Special thanks to Mirko, Stefano & Martina- your service was 1st class and the time you took to go through your recommendations of Rome was so much appreciated. Your manager should give you a bonus as you are all great ambassadors for this hotel :)
Location was on a safe back side street and was nice and quiet. Not far to walk to the Pantheon, Trevi fountain and The Vatican is so close in the other direction. Highly, highly recommend this gem of a boutique hotel. Hope to be back again one day.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Guest Relations Manager at Gigli d'Oro Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Sera,
your kind words are the most valuable reward to our daily commitment.
Thank you for taking the time to share your insight following your recent visit.

We are very proud the Personal Concierge Service you have received made your time with us worth remembering. We feel we did not do anything special but expressing our Genuine Hospitality and Service spirit, very much an Italian trademark we can only hope to be humble Ambassadors.

Martina, Stefano and Mirko are grateful for your special mention and look forward to Welcoming you again with the rest of the team.

Kindest regards

Simon S.
Guest Relations Manager
Juene Boutique Hotels
Gigli d'Oro Suite Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

This was our second stay at Gigli d'Oro and we cannot recommend it highly enough. Martina and Mirko on reception together with our breakfast gentleman looked after us so well - always welcoming and willing to recommend and provide suggestions and enhancements for our days exploring Rome. Aperol spritzes in the late afternoon courtesy of Mirko were a lovely treat.

We strongly dislike the anonymity of large hotels, preferring to seek out the small boutique operators and this fits the bill ideally. A small palazzo comprising just a few rooms - our room was a generous size and well appointed with the heated floor in the bathroom a treat. Staying right in the heart of the Centro Storico lends a real atmosphere to the experience of visiting Rome and there is a wide choice of restaurants very close by together with great accessibility to the majority of the major attractions. Be prepared to walk a great deal - you see so much more. The hotel is located in a small side street just off the Piazza Navona.

You can enjoy a good selection at the buffet breakfast including the recently introduced frozen yoghurt machine and also bacon & eggs. Your particular choice of coffee is soon adopted and offered each morning- all part of the bespoke service provided. Quality bathroom toiletries are provided and a colour therapy shower was an interesting enhancement. Bed linen and towels are changed daily. This is a very warm building but air conditioning is available.

The hotel can organise a chauffeur service to and from the airport at additional cost. The mobile phone provided with maps and free calls including international can be a real bonus.

We very much look forward to returning once again and catching up with Mirko and Martina and the rest of the team.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Guest Relations Manager at Gigli d'Oro Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Jings,
we are grateful you took the time out to leave such a rewarding review following your recent stay at Gigli d'Oro Suite.

It fills us with pride knowing our Personal Concierge Service has been so well delivered to you by Mirko and Martina along with our breakfast attendants , all having a genuine natural attitude to Guest Care.

We are just delighted the intimate personality of our property has been so well appreciated and matched your personal hotel preference.

Our daily commitment is all about taking care of each and every guest with the personal attention they deserve. Thank you for allowing our Concierge team to take care of your time in Roma.

We look forward to Welcoming you again very soon.

Kindest Regards

Simon S.
Guest Relations Manager
Jeune Boutique Hotels
Gigli d'Oro Suite Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here last year in May but I needed to write this review
One of the best places we've stayed at on Rome. Simon the concierge gave us an insight into the hotel from its birth and history to best places to visit, eat and enjoy. Without the staff this would have been a standard hotel stay. So it was changed to an unforgettable stay. The location was great as within a just a few minute you're in the heart of Rome to dine and have a drink.
Would go back without hesitation
Thank you

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Guest Relations Manager at Gigli d'Oro Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Dear Andrew,
it is just delighting reading your words of satisfaction remembering your experience with us on May 2016. It has been a real pleasure being of service to you.

Your praiseworthy testimony is the ultimate reward a professional can receive in the Hospitality Industry. We are deeply grateful. Thank you.

One among the many benefits of managing an intimate Boutique Hotel, such as Gigli d'Oro Suite, is remembering each and every guest by name, style and preferences.

Make no mistake your favorite Cocktail Prosecco will be chilled to perfection and waiting for you on your next visit to Gigli d'Oro Suite.

We look forward to Welcoming you again soon.

Arrivederci !

Simon S.
Guest Relations Manager
Jeune Boutique Hotels
Gigli d'Oro Suite Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

We visited this hotel for 1 night and wanted something magical! This was it for sure!

Marina was so nice and helpful! We got there early hoping to just drop our bag, but we were welcomed with prosecco and if we wanted to wait a few minutes the room would be ready. In the meantime as we drank our cocktail Marina went through an entire map of the city. Where we were, where to go, her personal recommendations for food and gelato. We were also able to book a tour to the Colosseum that minute. She was so wonderful and helpful.

Room was clean, quiet, and so comfortable. Little did we know the luxury that was in store with heated bathroom floors!!!

They have a free cocktail hour before the restaurants open for the night and the next morning breakfast was freshly made and delicious.

The one night we stayed was well worth it and we would absolutely come back again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Guest Relations Manager at Gigli d'Oro Suite, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear Abigail,
thank you for rewarding our daily commitment with your wonderful review.
We are so proud your brief visit was a success and we had the privilege to take care of your time in Roma and make it magical for you.

Our signature Welcome is delivered to each and every guest no matter if involves one week visit or just a day like in your case. Martina expresses very well what our Personal Concierge Service is all about as the true spirit of Hospitality.

We very much look forward to Welcoming you again in the near feature and benefit of our special rates and amenities in our Guest Return Programme .

Thank you once again for your visit and Arrivederci !

Simon S.
Guest Relations Manager
Jeune Boutique Hotels
Gigli d'Oro Suite Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Campo Marzio
San Carlo Suite
San Carlo Suite
#74 of 1,182 in Rome
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Coronari Courtyard
Coronari Courtyard
#198 of 3,764 in Rome
130 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Di Rienzo Pantheon Palace
Di Rienzo Pantheon Palace
#160 of 3,764 in Rome
162 reviews
Campo Marzio
Crossing Condotti
Crossing Condotti
#50 of 3,764 in Rome
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigli d'Oro Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigli d'Oro Suite

Address: Via Dei Gigli d'Oro 12 | Piazza Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 3,764 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $163 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gigli d'Oro Suite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and captivating in a modern setting, upscale design and an attentive and elegant return to the past. A stone's throw from Piazza Navona, Gigli d’Oro Suite awaits you in the old city center of Rome with 6 amazing luxury suites. Those traveling on business or leisure will consider Gigli d’Oro Suite an oasis of peace and privacy near the headquarters of the Italian government ministries and the gubernatorial palaces, also ideal to go to the pavilions of the Rome Fair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gigli d'Oro Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gigli d`Oro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing