We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in Roma!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vetusta Roma

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
bedroom 1 bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Living room
bedroom 1
bedroom 1
bedroom 2
bedroom 2
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
bathroom
kitchen
kitchen
view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Beczilla
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Roma!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at this apartment at the beginning of September and it was wonderful. Mauro and his wife Lan where at the apartment for our arrival and helped us get comfortable and shared their knowledge of Rome and things to do and see with us. The apartment was beautiful and met all our needs and more. There were a lot of stairs but this didn't bother us at all and a new elevator is currently being fitted. The balcony in the main double bedroom was fanatstic waking up to everyday! Street noise was never an issue although outside can be very busy as there are shops such as authentic Italian patisseries, pizzerias, and a church opposite.

Also, free wifi!!! Which was great as recently i was on a cruise and had to pay £10 for an hour!! So we were able to Skype home to friends and family :)

Really really enjoyed our stay and next time we are in Rome we will certainly stay again. Thankyou Mauro and Family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The big bath which was great for a soak after a long day walking in Rome.
Liked least: Nothing, everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet3721...
Jeffersonville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnifico!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Vetusta-Roma for 1 month from early May to early June. Words cannot describe how wonderful this experience was, not just due to the beautiful city of Rome but because of the outstanding treatment we received from Mauro and his beautiful wife, Lon and their daughter. We were greeted at the apartment by all of them and every detail was attended to. We were shown how everything worked, where everything was located, given maps, recommendations for restaurants, how to get to the SMA, etc. We were thrilled with this apt, the marble floors, the HUGE bathroom and appointments, the kitchen, the bedrooms, the decor...I could go on and on. It is beautiful and in such a wonderful traditional Italian neighborhood. We were immersed in the culture and ways. We visited the markets, the pastissierie, the fruit and veg market, the meat and cheese shop, the restaurants and cafes and gelaterias, all right across or down the street from us. In each place we found the most wonderfully fresh and delicious products you could hope for.The people quickly came to know us and although we were clearly American, they embraced us, tolerated our poor Italian and made us feel like we belonged in their neighborhood. Even the ladies one floor down from us, quickly started treating us as if we were true neighbors! The apartment is conveniently located to public transportation and is walking distance to many of the sites anyone would want to see in Rome. The best part of this experience however was the wonderful treatment and hospitality shown us by Mauro and Lon. They made us feel so welcome and that we were family. We would recommend Vetusta-Roma to anyone for any length of stay. Thank you, Mauro and Lon, we hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just read the review, we can't choose! It was all wonderful
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Reviewed June 27, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AussiesTo...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Apartment near San Giovanni”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This was by far the best apartment we rented during our 3 weeks in Italy.
The apartment itself was spotlessly clean, bathroom HUGE and once the water got hot the shower was fine. Bedrooms and sitting room comfy, big and bright - the shutters were necessary for the traffic. We called the sirens "the Italy Concerto". The kitchen was stocked with everything u could possible need including supplies you could purchase and a very generous amount of fruit, bicuits, tea coffee etc for free.
Yes you had to walk up 3 flights of stairs but they are not huge steps. We (two 50+ ladies)managed to carry our bags down OK just going slowly. The reward of returning to this apartment at the end of the day was worth the effort of the stairs.
The owners could not have been more helpful. I can not speak highly enought of them and there efforts to make us feel at home. Maps, resturant recommendations, mobilephone all explained. The WIFI worked brillantly throughout the apartment.
A big Thank you to Mauro & Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole apartment
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rue1974
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tutto Perfetto!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in three apartments during our week in Italy but Vetusta Roma was by far the most welcoming.

Although I was initially worried about the location, I was so pleased that we decided to stay here. It’s about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the Coliseum and is on the bus routes. We had terrible weather during our stay so the buses were really handy with the bus stop right outside the apartment. You can buy the tickets just round the corner at the newspaper stand.

The apartment is on the third floor and because of high ceilings that means 6 flights of stairs…so be warned if you are taking your grandmother like I did.

We were met by Mauro and his wife who were so friendly and welcoming. They explained everything very clearly and made sure we understood the bus routes and how to get to the main attractions.

The apartment was spotless and our early check in was generously accommodated. Our group consisted of me and partner, two large teenage boys and my grandmother. Although it was cosy, there was enough space for everyone. The bathroom is huge and the pictures don’t do it justice.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and so were the sofa bed and camp beds.

There were plenty of supplies in the cupboards like washing powder, coffee, pasta etc and the fridge is stocked with drinks for you to purchase which was a nice touch. Mr and Mrs Di Nicola also provide fruit, coffee, tea, sugar and biscuits for free for their guests so you can have a drink and snack when you arrive.

I loved the area as I felt like we were the only tourists for miles around. It felt so authentic and I especially loved the shops opposite the apartment. There is a little shop with most items like bread, eggs, milk, cheese and meat, there is also a bakery / bar where the drinks were incredibly cheap. There are lots of shops and eateries in the area and Mauro recommended a couple of good restaurants. The one we went to was totally perfect - Romulus and Remus! Eating real Roman food with real Romans and so much cheaper than anything we had eaten in the centre of town with other tourists.

I thoroughly recommend this apartment for lots of reasons and would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the location, the supplies and the welcome
Liked least: Glass bathroom door...although frosted, felt a bit uncomfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickPu...
Reading, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Appartment. Really helpful owner”
Reviewed December 17, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This was an excellent choice. The apartment is well furnished clean and spacious. It is up 2 or 3 flights of stairs. Mario, the owner met us on arrival having arranged a car to meet us at the airport, which was excellent value. He was really helpful even leaving an Italian mobile phone in case we needed to contact him so we would not need to use our English mobiles! He gave us maps, directions to the attractions and transport tips. The internet worked perfectly. The bus stops outside, otherwise the metro is a 10 minute walk. The Colosseum is just 15-20 minutes walk. The apartment is south of the Colosseum so some will want to stay further north but we found it ideal for a 72 hour visit to the attractions in Rome. On leaving Mario met us on a Sunday morning at 9am and insisted on taking us for breakfast across the street. We will stay here again on our next visit. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious well furnished appt. Super helpful owner lives down the street
Liked least: 15 min walk to Colosseum but bus stops outside apartment
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewoks
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place to Stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at the Vetusta Roma was a good experience, starting even before we went to Rome. We were staying there after a cruise and Mauro helped us arrange a private transfer from the dock in Citavvichea. The driver was on time to pick us up, offered us water and candy and even with limited English, pointed out several landmarks on our way to the apartment. Once there, we were greeted by both Mauro and Lan who were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. I did not mind the stairs to the apartment when it was just coming and going, but with luggage it was a bit of a strain, good thing we only had to lug it up and down once! Mauro spent some time with us going over a map of the city, making sure we knew where all the major sites were located.

The apartment was lovely and very comfortable, nicely decorated. The beds first appeared to be rather firm and hard, but once you laid down it was very comfortable. The mattress's were what I would call a "Tempur Pedic" or memory foam mattress and I had the best night sleep on it. My husband and I were there with another couple and we had the front bedroom. I was afraid the the street noise would keep me awake, but once you shut the windows and shutters the sound was almost non-existent. The air conditioners in each bedroom worked well and kept the temperatures cool while sleeping, it was rather hot (90's) while we were there. The bathroom was huge and very clean with a double sink, garden tub and small shower. I was happy there was a blow dryer supplied in the bathroom. The hot water heater was small, so we had to take quick showers to make sure all 4 of us had some hot water. We didn't realize this the first day so my husband had a cold shower, we planned better after that.

We didn't plan on cooking, but it was nice having the kitchen, especially the cold drinks in the fridge they supplied for a very nominal fee. We did end up going across the street to the small market to buy some sliced meat, cheeses, olives, bread, wine and beer for an impromptu happy hour and used the kitchen supplies. The employees of the market were very helpful in helping us make our selections and even went so far as to make sure we knew if we needed anything the next day they would be closed between 2 and 4.

We could not get connected to the internet, but we did not take the time to call Mauro and ask for further instructions. Also, the TV in the front room only worked on the first 3 channels, but again, we did not call to see if the problem could be resolved, so I can't complain too much about that.

Overall it was the perfect place to stay. We were traveling with 2 other couples that opted for a traditional hotel room, they now wish they had stayed in Vetusta with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I felt like I was getting a true taste of living in Rome.
Liked least: The wi-fi and TV not working properly.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing