We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #71 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Rome Cavalieri in early October. We were able to book the hotel via Hilton points, so we did not pay full price for a room. This was our first Waldorf Astoria experience and it was definitely luxury all the way. Our room was beautiful with an extremely comfortable bed, patio, sound proof door and spacious bathroom. The hotel provided a shuttle bus into Rome city center that was great, just remember to get on the line 15 minutes before departure to ensure a seat (space is limited). Thinking back on it, the location is preferred because it's nice to get out of the tourism bustle and unwind in your room. The gym is fabulous! Better than most public gyms we came across in Italy. The indoor pool and roman baths were also amazing, a great way to wind down after touring the city all day. The concierge team was amazing - perfect restaurant recommendations, they helped set up a private tour for us as well. Thank you Matteo! The only thing that wasn't 10/10 was the bar in the main lobby, the waitress seemed annoyed each time we visited.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "back side" of the hotel have incredible views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Genevieve C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review!
All of the Rome Cavalieri team are happy to read that we exceeded your expectations with the hotel and the service received.
We appreciate your kind words and hope you will come back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Roberta Rossi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 5,971 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

I stayed here for a 3 day conference followed by a 2 day personal stay. Irrespective of my lengthened period (and therefore bill) at the hotel, I was appointed a room on the lowest floor with no view whilst other short stay conference delegates were allocated upper floor / executive rooms with city / pool views. The room and reception staff were lovely but the bar staff disinterested and the breakfast staff shockingly bad. I was told I could not have a table on the terrace and when I asked for one that was empty, they grudgingly let me have it but then refused to serve me such that I even had to beg for coffee. Literally. A huge disappointment for an a visually beautiful hotel. I would definitely not stay here again. Absolutely not worth the high cost.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank clairegZ8173KU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ClairegZ8173KU,
We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve during your recent stay. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. We believe that very best service experiences are genuine, anticipatory and personalized and we will continue to work to ensure our guests find that level of service at our hotel. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes, and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand.
Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This place is just incredible. It's built on a hill overlooking Rome. The views were wonderful and the hotel has two incredible pools. Fantastic fitness center and a three star Michelin restaurant. Did not try the restaurant as I could not afford it. If you ever have the opportunity to come to Rome and you don't mind spending a little more for your room (about $350-400 a night) I highly recommend this place. I'm a Hilton Gold member so we were upgraded to a room that overlooked Rome. Incredible views. If you're not you might get a room looking the other way which wouldn't be as nice or exciting. Even then, the hotel is incredible. Oh, and I forgot to mention that they also have a small art gallery. I would rank this among one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, and I've been everywhere.

Room Tip: Be a Gold member of Hilton or spend even more for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review!
All of the Rome Cavalieri team are happy to read that we exceeded your expectations with the hotel and the service received.
We appreciate your kind words and hope you will come back soon.
Yours sincerely,
Roberta Rossi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We had a great experience with the Cavalieri. I began corresponding with the staff in advance of arrival for help with advice and tours. In addition, they helped with having prosecco and strawberries in the room upon arrival to celebrate our anniversary. Our personal concierge, Perrine was even kind enough to hand write a note in my words for my wife to be there with them. Perrine was amazing! She was quick to reply via email prior to our arrival and was also there to help while we were at the hotel. Our room was outstanding! The views of the city from our balcony were breath taking! From our balcony we could see the entire city and on Saturday night we enjoyed a fireworks display from our room. I highly recommend breakfast. The selection was larger than any I have ever seen. Everything was so fresh....and the selection.... We booked 2 tours with the hotel. The first was Senses of Rome which was a private tour of part of the city to include wine and snack tasting along with learning some of the history of the city. Our tour guide was Alex. He was very nice and seemed to enjoy showing us around. We stopped at the Pantheon first and were able to walk through and take photos. From there, we stopped at a few enotecas and a small restaurant specializing in a local appetizer, deep fried cod. The tour was enjoyed, but I must admit that I was surprised that we were not told in advance that any stops were not included in the price of the tour. When we compared prior to arrival the other options specified that all was included....looking back, it would have been nice to have the description of the tour include that it will probably cost >50 euros additional to the tour and taxi. (This tour was booked with David, prior to our being introduced to Perrine.)
Our second tour was of the Vatican....well worth it! We had a private tour for 2 of us with Georgia....She was a wealth of knowledge. From the logistical help of getting in and around quickly and easily....to the depth of her understanding of all we could see. She took all the time we needed to show us what we wanted to see, along with additional things we would not have ever thought to look for while there....i.e. The lower level of the church. We really enjoyed our time with Georgia!

Once again....the Cavalieri is an amazing property. It is worth being a ways out from everything. The views are worth taking the shuttle or a taxi to see the sights! The staff is incredible. Huge thank you to Perrine!

Scott Gruenberg

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Scott G,
Thank you for your kind words and 5-star rating. We take great pride in providing our guests with an unforgettable luxury experience, and it is a real treat to see that you were impressed with your room accommodation and the service received.
Our guests' satisfaction is very important to us, and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words and please come back soon.
Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Rome Cavalieri and had a wonderful time.

The hotel is beautiful and very nicely decorated. The service is good especially the shuttle bus driver and his extra 2minutes waiting time for late passengers.

The only negative thing is: The hotel is 20 minutes away from the city centre, you hardly can’t and the shuttle bus drives only every hour.
But still: It’s totally worth to stay at this hotel.

We would go again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sera_fina17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sera-fina17,
Thank you for your kind words and 5-star rating. We take great pride in providing our guests with an unforgettable luxury experience, and it is a real treat to see that you were impressed with your room accommodation and the service received.
Our guests' satisfaction is very important to us, and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words and please come back soon.
Kind regards
Roberta Rossi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel has so many added nice touches to make us feel special and very comfortable. The room with the city Rome view with the large patio was wonderful especially on the Saturday evening with the surprise of spectacular fireworks just for the hotel guests. The room had electronic shades to block out the early morning sun and even a door to close for hallway late night noise. The Waldorf truly has an attention to details for the guests from the moment that one is greeted upon arrival to the giant fluffy pillows which by the way you can select your own special pillow from a menu.

The buffet breakfast had numerous choices from many cultures. Dinner at The Pergola was a delicious and amazing experience with the bread cart, various salts and surprise pallet tasting foods between the courses. We had a very memorable meal and would recommend to try to have dinner here during your stay. The restaurant is beautiful with a nice view of the city lights.

Service was excellent from the concierge, front desk, restaurants, maids and even the phone operator ( we had trouble connecting to the restaurant and she took my cell number and ensured she called me back to make my dinner reservation while we were sight seeing).

It's obvious this hotel has excellent leadership as the staff are very service oriented with a smile to their guests and all of the attention to details.

My only recommendation is the staff have better name tags so one can see their name better ( maybe bigger letters).

We will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BoWrinkleMuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear BoWrinkleMuff,
Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your room, our unique location and the breakfast selection. I will make sure to pass on your warm words to our team; they will be delighted to hear you have enjoyed their service.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Rome Cavalieri.
Warmest regards,
Roberta Rossi
Front Office manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay at the Waldorf twice in 2016. Everything about our stay was wonderful. As a Diamond Guest we felt the staff made sure we felt good about our time there every day. The breakfast buffet was the best I have had anywhere in the world.

We return the Walforf this week on Wednesday and can not wait! Our flight arrives early in the morning so our first stop will be that amazing breakfast.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaR0SSI, Front Office Manager at Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Erik R,
Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your room, our unique location and the breakfast selection. I will make sure to pass on your warm words to our team; they will be delighted to hear you have enjoyed their service.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Rome Cavalieri.
Warmest regards,
Roberta Rossi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,921 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#94 of 1,271 in Rome
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts

Address: Via Alberto Cadlolo 101, 00136 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Rome
#20 Business Hotel in Rome
#26 Family Hotel in Rome
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $334 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the panorama that has inspired visitors for centuries is Rome's most prestigious address – the Rome Cavalieri hotel. Though only minutes from the city's great monuments, the Rome Cavalieri has the tranquility of an oasis. Enclosed in fifteen acres of lush Mediterranean parklands, this luxury hotel is a calm retreat in the heart of the Eternal City, an elegant refuge where time slows and hearts quicken.The first hotel in Europe to be part of the exclusive Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts, the Rome Cavalieri hotel is more than just a 5–star property. It's the pre-eminent luxury hotel in Rome, with an art collection that outshines many museums, a Grand Spa that would be the envy of a prestige health resort, and standards of luxury that set it apart from other Rome hotels. The Rome Cavalieri brings new meaning to notions of Italian style, and new purpose to the fine art of exclusive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotels And Resorts
Rome Cavalieri, Waldorf Astoria Hotel Rome
Hilton International Rome
Hilton Rome
Rome Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Rome
Rome Cavalieri Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing