We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it is that good, and who does the painting??”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel is as good as the reviews say. Friendly staff, excellent location, spotlessly clean, comfortable room, great breakfast, free wifi. We loved it. But I want to know, who painted this place? It has a lot of detail (tray ceilings, mouldings, etc) with contrasting cream and brilliant white. The painting is flawless! Not like the stuff we get at home with wiggly seams, spots, and brush marks. This painting is flawless, in every room, without exception, its like some Mchelangelo obsessive compulsive painter did every room..remarkable

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,227 - 2,233 of 3,663 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here with my four month old baby and can't praise the location and staff enough. The room was huge and the portable cot was large and comfortable and beautifully made with sheets and a pillow.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, Romans love babies so Oscar was always made a fuss of.
The location was the best bit, right next to the pantheon surrounded by tiny cobbled streets, restaurants, cafes and gelato shops. We walked to all the major sights and each was about half an hour or so on foot with a pram.
Lastly the roof terrace, which while closed for service in the winter is still open for you to sit up there. We bought some bubbles from a supermarket and got some glasses from the bar.
I will always come back to this hotel...fabulous!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dashingdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have just had a lovely 4 nights staying at this hotel. It is superbly situated in the Piazza Rotunda and the famous Pantheon was almost within touching distance for us from our balcony (note that whilst many of the rooms have a view of the pantheon ours -room 204 - was the only one apart from the suites on the top floor with a balcony.
The rooms were average size but with high ceilings and beds were very comfortable. they are not supplied with kettles but we were given hot water whenever requested. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
For those used to English breakfasts you may be a little disappointed (bacon arrives sporadically) but it's a fine continental breakfast. Gluten frees are well catered for with sweet biscuits and breads.
The hotel is ideally situated for most tourist destinations, for instance The Trevi Fountain is about 8 mins walk, Spanish steps about 12 mins walk and even the Coliseum is only 20 mins walk.

All of the Romans we met were very friendly with exception of just about all the shop keepers! I wouldn't pee on them if they were on fire!! We planned to do a bunch of clothes shopping but due to their aggressive nature we didn't bother (They will not allow you to try an item of clothing on if it is 25 euros or less!! Crazy huh?)

We had a lovely time in all and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 204 the only one with the huge brick balcony...fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WendysofWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were collected by the hotels car service promptly in an E class Mercedes. Well worth the 15Euro premium compared to a taxi from Fiumicino. It was very cold for Rome even though it was winter. We got a very warm welcome from the hotel staff and were upgraded to a room with a view of the Pantheon. The room was small but spotless. The hotel is centrally located with almost all the important sites within walking distance. The breakfast is very good and has a lot choices. Customer service is impeccable. Everyone, from the housekeeping, bellman and the front desk were very helpfully and friendly. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YVRflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The location is ideal, overlooking the Pantheon and within walking distance of most of the great sites of Rome. The staff was very cheerful and helpful. The only negative part, and it was significant, is that the room was very overheated. We were stuck between trying to sleep in a room too hot and opening the window, which meant a lot of street noise from the Piazza della Rotonda.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our stay at the Albergo del Senato was faultless! It was absolutely incredible. We stayed in the Seminario Suite which was spectacular to wake up in every morning. it was the most amazing moment getting out of the pick up service and realising the location of where we were staying.

The staff at this hotel as just as great as the location. Everyone was so nice and friendly, even the cleaning staff!

There were so many great restaurants located right near the hotel.

I cannot fault this hotel and we really hope to be able to stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank megan2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I started the headline off with "on the whole" because our initial arrival there was one of the worst and most unpleasant experiences we've had in 40+ years of travel here and abroad. We had reserved a car service through the hotel to pick us up at Fiumincino airport. We arrived after an all-night flight to find no driver waiting for us. We waited 20 minutes. One of us had a cel phone from the U.S. & tried to call the hotel, but couldn't get through. So we got a van service to the hotel (there were four of us so we couldn't fit us & all our bags into a regular cab). When we arrived and I identified myself to the desk clerk (Mauro) he began a harangue that included snarling and sarcasm, insisting that we had not waited for the car service. It was really a disgusting, shocking, inappropriate and disrespectful display. If we hadn't been so tired, we would have looked for another hotel ... but we went upstairs, accompanied by a lovely bellman who had witnessed the incident and tried to make up for it. It is our sincere belief that if we had not been a group of all women -- two lesbian couples -- we would not have been treated that way. I spoke with the night manager later, Ann, and it turned out that there are two possible exits from the area at the airport where we picked up our luggage and the driver was waiting at the other one. All this put a sour taste in our mouths. ----- The hotel itself, however, is a dream. We had reserved superior rooms with balconies and view of the Pantheon. If you can afford it, we recommend those rooms on the 6th floor. There are also two suites on the 6th floor with adorable outside sitting areas overlooking the Pantheon. -- The rooms themselves were very comfortable, well decorated, clean. Very nice bath amenities. & the location couldn't be much better. Quite a good breakfast as well, although we had read complaints on Tripadvisor about it. Good strong coffee, choice of fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, cakes, cold cereal, ham, cheeses, scrambled eggs, bacon & daily surprises such as quiche. -- By the way, temperature during our week in Rome in February during the day was in the mid-sixties.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank glencove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,924 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,271 in Rome
3,025 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,271 in Rome
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,271 in Rome
1,026 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#31 of 1,271 in Rome
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $201 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing