We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Could not have imagined a better stay in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Could not have imagined a better stay in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We recently returned from an 8 night stay at the Albergo del Senato and could not have been more pleased. To begin with, the location is absolutely ideal. We were able to walk to all of the sites we wanted to see. The area is full of quaint eating establishments and small grocers are nearby if you wish to collect items for a picnic (not to mention the market at Campo di Fiori an easy walk away).
The staff of the hotel is most congenial and professional. They assisted us with making restaurant reservations for a 50th birthday celebration and surprised us with a complementary bottle of champagne back at the hotel. Our room was the best we've had in our extensive travels in Europe. It was comprised of a sitting area with small table and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was quite large by European standards, easily accommodating the 2 of us. But certainly the best thing about the room were the 2 windows that opened to an amazing view of the Pantheon and Piazza della Rotonda. There is a lot of activity in the piazza until the wee hours but we found closing the windows reduced the noise to quite satisfactory levels. However, we rarely closed the windows. We live in a small town on a lake and enjoy peacefulness and solitude, but "When in Rome......." we enjoyed the vibrancy of the piazza and feeling more a part of the city.
The breakfast served is an excellent start to the day. The staff is very efficient bringing hot drinks to the table and always keeping the food replenished so choices were never limited. The cleanliness of the hotel, from common areas to rooms, was impeccable. The front desk staff were always cheerful and efficient, greeting us each day as we returned from our touring and making us feel at home.
Another feature of the hotel that we enjoyed was the roof-top terrace. This was open during our stay although the accompanying bar was not. We spent a very relaxing evening up there watching the sun go down and the lights flicker on in the piazza below while sipping wine and eating fresh bread, cheese and salami purchased at one of the nearby grocers.
If I had to come up with one quibble, it would be that the wireless internet connection in our room was not satisfactory and wouldn't allow us to connect. We were, however, able to connect in the common areas of the hotel. This was of little consequence to us as we were focused on experiencing Rome and, indeed, we did not even mention it to staff. It's possible there would have been an easy solution to that.
Given our experiences at the Albergo del Senato, and at a cost that we believe represents a very good value for what is received, we will definitely return on our next visit to Rome

Room Tip: The views from our room (102) were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChinggisKhaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,733
    454
    74
    32
    10
See reviews for
793
1,765
98
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I took my husband here for the weekend for our anniversary in March 2012. I can say it is an absolutely wonderful place that lived up to every expectation.

Friendly, professional reception staff and maids, who all made us feel really welcome and at home.

Breakfast was classic continental with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere created by the lovely man hosting the breakfast room.

Bedrooms are classically decorated with all the mod-cons, spotlessly clean with amazing views.

On checkout we were informed by the lady on reception that they sometimes have deals on the room rates, so next time we will call ahead to check before we book. We will definitely be back and will recommend this hotel to everyone. Prices are reasonable for the location and exceptional high quality when we went in March, but the peak season prices are much higher. March was perfect temperature for walking round the city (I even got a bit of a pink nose sitting outside for a couple of hours!) so I would recommend avoiding peak season prices.

Room Tip: I think most rooms face the square but specify incase when you book. The rooms are silent when you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our stay April 1-3, 2012 at the Albergo Senato was perfect! The location is the best, with the view from our window looking out over the Pantheon and Piazza della Rotonda, and the roof-top terrace providing a wonderful view of the city. We took a taxi from the convenient taxi stand in the Piazza to the Vatican; we were able to walk to all of our other sites. The hotel is spotless, the room was clean and roomy, and the breakfast excellent- with many choices. To top it off, the hotel staff (especially Alessandra) was unbelievably friendly, helpfull and professional. We will never stay any where else in Rome!

Room Tip: Reqeust a room on the front of the hotel; the noise from the crowds is worth the thrill of experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBoydTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

When I first found Albergo Del Senato on the Trip Advisor listing it was down around number 8 or 10. Today it is #3, it could easily be #1. I’ve stayed in many high end hotels and never received such excellent service. The hotel Staff is very friendly and professional. Although the building is very old, which of course is part of the charm, everything was kept nice and clean. It is in the center of everything that tourists come to see, the view from the roof top is amazing. I encourage you to book well in advance as this Hotel in the future will boast - NO VACANCIES.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabrast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I recently returned from my 6th trip to Rome in as many years and after passing the Albergo del Senato many times, I finally decided to book a room here. I am very happy I did, I think this hotel is just terrific.

First, the location can't be beat for being in the center of the historic center of Rome. Most anything a visitor to Rome would want to see is either within walking distance, or if you're planning to use Rome's public transit system bus stops are very easy to get to.

Secondly, the staff if superior. Any request, including pre-arrival restaurant reservations, were accommodated quickly, efficiently and with a smile. Every staff member from the front desk, to the bellmen, to the housekeepers, and bartender were friendly, even putting up with attempts of my basic Italian language skills.

Although the room I had was not in the front of the hotel and had no view, the benefit to being located on the back side of the hotel was blessed quiet. I can't say if the room facing the Piazza della Rotonda are noisy, but it was nice to be able to sleep in a quiet spot.

I was happily surprised at the size of the double (twin bedded) room, based on my previous European hotel experiences, this room and bathroom were extraordinarily spacious. And the room was immaculately clean.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LowCountryIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weymouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from a three night holiday and we loved everything about this hotel! The location is perfect, the Pantheon and the Piazza have a wonderful atmosphere. We could walk to all the places we wanted to visit and could pack so much into each day as we seemed to be in the centre of everything. The staff are wonderful and very helpful, they recommended a local restaurant which was lovely, more Roman and better value than the tourist restaurants. The views from the roof terrace are a bonus, we had been watching the Piazza on the hotel webcam before our holiday, it was amazing to be standing up there ourselves! Our room was on the second floor, very clean and had everything we needed. Every evening our beds were turned down and chocolates left for us. When the windows were open we could hear noise from the Piazza, but we loved this! A gentle hustle and bustle and music floated up to us. We also loved the breakfasts, bacon and egg, fresh fruit, cereals, toast, pastries and cake, tea and coffee, what more could you want! We used the car service for airport transfers, this was a great way to start and finish our holiday as it was so convenient to be driven from the airport straight to the hotel, and we had some useful tips from the drivers. Vincenzo told us where the best ice-creams are in Rome, at Giolitti's, 5 minutes from the Pantheon, and he was right. We had to check everyday just to make sure! This hotel is wonderful, we plan to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just back after a week long holiday in Rome at the Albergo del Senato. There is a lot that is special about this hotel. The location is amazing with the Pantheon a mere kissing distance away. It's very friendly and all the staff went out of their way to ensure that everything was just as we we would like, nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a junior suite (apartment) on the fifth floor and this consisted of 3 rooms, bathroom and small balcony. It was quiet in the evenings and during the night and was extremely comfortable.
Above floor 6, there is an amazing roof terrace that has views all across the city. The bar was closed s it was out of season, however this was no problem as we took a bottle of wine up there anyhow. There are also a few chairs and tables outside the front of the hotel, which were great for watching all that was going on in the piazza during the evening.
The del Senato was well placed with restaurants all around and we experienced the good, the bad and the ugly. The best was Antonios which is next to the Tazza D'oro nearby. A good tourist menu type restaurant was Ciro e Ciro which is in the next piazza up from Piazza della Rotunda(turn left out of the hotel, and walk up the piazza and into the next one. Grom's Gelati is just a few metres above this (a real treat).
When we return to Rome, there will be only one hotel for us and that is the Albergo del Senato.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayteacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,139 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#4 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing