We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo del Senato
Nearby Hotels
US$191
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$130
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$335
US$271
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$270
US$209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$317
US$282
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Italia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,826)
Filter reviews
3,826 results
Traveller rating
3,196
502
83
34
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,196
502
83
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barpiazza della rotundaroom overlooking the pantheonperfect locationwithin walking distancestreet performersfront desk stafftrevi fountainwonderful hotelspanish stepstaxi standturn down serviceloved this hotelwalked everywherebottle of proseccopastriestrip to rome
Filter
Updating list...
2,323 - 2,328 of 3,826 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Third leg of our European trip. I think we we're expecting so much more than this hotel actually had.

Our room on sixth floor was ok, smallest on our trip so far but by European standards very acceptable.

Our disappointment however was with the breakfast, maybe we were just unlucky on our 3 night stay but on not one morning did we find it compared to our previous hotels. Selection was extremely limited,bread dry on the one morning they actually had it.

We are frequent travelers throughout the globe so have experienced many hotels, so I'm sorry to say if you are visiting here for the breakfast then forget it.

Location is good and walking distance to all attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gadabout2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just a wonderful hotel. We stayed in suite 602, which worked very well for our party of three. The views from the terrace were sublime, and I had the pure joy of being able to sit there reading EM Forster.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swillbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We recently returned from an 8 night stay at the Albergo del Senato and could not have been more pleased. To begin with, the location is absolutely ideal. We were able to walk to all of the sites we wanted to see. The area is full of quaint eating establishments and small grocers are nearby if you wish to collect items for a picnic (not to mention the market at Campo di Fiori an easy walk away).
The staff of the hotel is most congenial and professional. They assisted us with making restaurant reservations for a 50th birthday celebration and surprised us with a complementary bottle of champagne back at the hotel. Our room was the best we've had in our extensive travels in Europe. It was comprised of a sitting area with small table and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was quite large by European standards, easily accommodating the 2 of us. But certainly the best thing about the room were the 2 windows that opened to an amazing view of the Pantheon and Piazza della Rotonda. There is a lot of activity in the piazza until the wee hours but we found closing the windows reduced the noise to quite satisfactory levels. However, we rarely closed the windows. We live in a small town on a lake and enjoy peacefulness and solitude, but "When in Rome......." we enjoyed the vibrancy of the piazza and feeling more a part of the city.
The breakfast served is an excellent start to the day. The staff is very efficient bringing hot drinks to the table and always keeping the food replenished so choices were never limited. The cleanliness of the hotel, from common areas to rooms, was impeccable. The front desk staff were always cheerful and efficient, greeting us each day as we returned from our touring and making us feel at home.
Another feature of the hotel that we enjoyed was the roof-top terrace. This was open during our stay although the accompanying bar was not. We spent a very relaxing evening up there watching the sun go down and the lights flicker on in the piazza below while sipping wine and eating fresh bread, cheese and salami purchased at one of the nearby grocers.
If I had to come up with one quibble, it would be that the wireless internet connection in our room was not satisfactory and wouldn't allow us to connect. We were, however, able to connect in the common areas of the hotel. This was of little consequence to us as we were focused on experiencing Rome and, indeed, we did not even mention it to staff. It's possible there would have been an easy solution to that.
Given our experiences at the Albergo del Senato, and at a cost that we believe represents a very good value for what is received, we will definitely return on our next visit to Rome

Room Tip: The views from our room (102) were stunning
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChinggisKhaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I took my husband here for the weekend for our anniversary in March 2012. I can say it is an absolutely wonderful place that lived up to every expectation.

Friendly, professional reception staff and maids, who all made us feel really welcome and at home.

Breakfast was classic continental with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere created by the lovely man hosting the breakfast room.

Bedrooms are classically decorated with all the mod-cons, spotlessly clean with amazing views.

On checkout we were informed by the lady on reception that they sometimes have deals on the room rates, so next time we will call ahead to check before we book. We will definitely be back and will recommend this hotel to everyone. Prices are reasonable for the location and exceptional high quality when we went in March, but the peak season prices are much higher. March was perfect temperature for walking round the city (I even got a bit of a pink nose sitting outside for a couple of hours!) so I would recommend avoiding peak season prices.

Room Tip: I think most rooms face the square but specify incase when you book. The rooms are silent when you close the windows so don't worry about noise.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Our stay April 1-3, 2012 at the Albergo Senato was perfect! The location is the best, with the view from our window looking out over the Pantheon and Piazza della Rotonda, and the roof-top terrace providing a wonderful view of the city. We took a taxi from the convenient taxi stand in the Piazza to the Vatican; we were able to walk to all of our other sites. The hotel is spotless, the room was clean and roomy, and the breakfast excellent- with many choices. To top it off, the hotel staff (especially Alessandra) was unbelievably friendly, helpfull and professional. We will never stay any where else in Rome!

Room Tip: Reqeust a room on the front of the hotel; the noise from the crowds is worth the thrill of experiencing the direct view of the Pantehon and Piazza.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBoydTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews