We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #11 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The best parts - the location and view, Alessandra at the front desk, and the cappuccino at breakfast.
We didn't love the paper thin walls, but the breakfast was plentiful, and the happy hour in the bar was nice.
After a brutal lunch and a long day at the Vatican, Alessandra redeemed Rome with her dinner recommendation - offering us a variety of options, insight into each, eventually calling ahead to a friends restaurant where we had a great last night in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinky204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,896
    470
    76
    34
    11
See reviews for
849
1,858
108
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Third leg of our European trip. I think we we're expecting so much more than this hotel actually had.

Our room on sixth floor was ok, smallest on our trip so far but by European standards very acceptable.

Our disappointment however was with the breakfast, maybe we were just unlucky on our 3 night stay but on not one morning did we find it compared to our previous hotels. Selection was extremely limited,bread dry on the one morning they actually had it.

We are frequent travelers throughout the globe so have experienced many hotels, so I'm sorry to say if you are visiting here for the breakfast then forget it.

Location is good and walking distance to all attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gadabout2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just a wonderful hotel. We stayed in suite 602, which worked very well for our party of three. The views from the terrace were sublime, and I had the pure joy of being able to sit there reading EM Forster.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swillbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We recently returned from an 8 night stay at the Albergo del Senato and could not have been more pleased. To begin with, the location is absolutely ideal. We were able to walk to all of the sites we wanted to see. The area is full of quaint eating establishments and small grocers are nearby if you wish to collect items for a picnic (not to mention the market at Campo di Fiori an easy walk away).
The staff of the hotel is most congenial and professional. They assisted us with making restaurant reservations for a 50th birthday celebration and surprised us with a complementary bottle of champagne back at the hotel. Our room was the best we've had in our extensive travels in Europe. It was comprised of a sitting area with small table and a separate bedroom. The bathroom was quite large by European standards, easily accommodating the 2 of us. But certainly the best thing about the room were the 2 windows that opened to an amazing view of the Pantheon and Piazza della Rotonda. There is a lot of activity in the piazza until the wee hours but we found closing the windows reduced the noise to quite satisfactory levels. However, we rarely closed the windows. We live in a small town on a lake and enjoy peacefulness and solitude, but "When in Rome......." we enjoyed the vibrancy of the piazza and feeling more a part of the city.
The breakfast served is an excellent start to the day. The staff is very efficient bringing hot drinks to the table and always keeping the food replenished so choices were never limited. The cleanliness of the hotel, from common areas to rooms, was impeccable. The front desk staff were always cheerful and efficient, greeting us each day as we returned from our touring and making us feel at home.
Another feature of the hotel that we enjoyed was the roof-top terrace. This was open during our stay although the accompanying bar was not. We spent a very relaxing evening up there watching the sun go down and the lights flicker on in the piazza below while sipping wine and eating fresh bread, cheese and salami purchased at one of the nearby grocers.
If I had to come up with one quibble, it would be that the wireless internet connection in our room was not satisfactory and wouldn't allow us to connect. We were, however, able to connect in the common areas of the hotel. This was of little consequence to us as we were focused on experiencing Rome and, indeed, we did not even mention it to staff. It's possible there would have been an easy solution to that.
Given our experiences at the Albergo del Senato, and at a cost that we believe represents a very good value for what is received, we will definitely return on our next visit to Rome

Room Tip: The views from our room (102) were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChinggisKhaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I took my husband here for the weekend for our anniversary in March 2012. I can say it is an absolutely wonderful place that lived up to every expectation.

Friendly, professional reception staff and maids, who all made us feel really welcome and at home.

Breakfast was classic continental with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere created by the lovely man hosting the breakfast room.

Bedrooms are classically decorated with all the mod-cons, spotlessly clean with amazing views.

On checkout we were informed by the lady on reception that they sometimes have deals on the room rates, so next time we will call ahead to check before we book. We will definitely be back and will recommend this hotel to everyone. Prices are reasonable for the location and exceptional high quality when we went in March, but the peak season prices are much higher. March was perfect temperature for walking round the city (I even got a bit of a pink nose sitting outside for a couple of hours!) so I would recommend avoiding peak season prices.

Room Tip: I think most rooms face the square but specify incase when you book. The rooms are silent when you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our stay April 1-3, 2012 at the Albergo Senato was perfect! The location is the best, with the view from our window looking out over the Pantheon and Piazza della Rotonda, and the roof-top terrace providing a wonderful view of the city. We took a taxi from the convenient taxi stand in the Piazza to the Vatican; we were able to walk to all of our other sites. The hotel is spotless, the room was clean and roomy, and the breakfast excellent- with many choices. To top it off, the hotel staff (especially Alessandra) was unbelievably friendly, helpfull and professional. We will never stay any where else in Rome!

Room Tip: Reqeust a room on the front of the hotel; the noise from the crowds is worth the thrill of experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBoydTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

When I first found Albergo Del Senato on the Trip Advisor listing it was down around number 8 or 10. Today it is #3, it could easily be #1. I’ve stayed in many high end hotels and never received such excellent service. The hotel Staff is very friendly and professional. Although the building is very old, which of course is part of the charm, everything was kept nice and clean. It is in the center of everything that tourists come to see, the view from the roof top is amazing. I encourage you to book well in advance as this Hotel in the future will boast - NO VACANCIES.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabrast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,618 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,862 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,095 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing