We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive but can be long delays even with skip the line tickets”
Review of Colosseum

Colosseum
Ranked #3 of 1,976 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Perhaps the best-preserved of the monuments of ancient Rome, this huge marble structure was built to hold more than 50,000 spectators to witness bloody contests of might and the slaughter of wild beasts.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Was really Impressive but there can be really long delays even with skip the line tickets(first day we tried to get in there was a 4hour queue). These delays were in the security lines.However we left and went to Palatine hill instead and really enjoyed the views from it of the colosseum. We then came back to the colosseum two days later much earlier in the day, around 9:30am and we didn’t have to queue at all. So advice would be to go as early in the day as possible, specially around Easter time.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank martz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 4,980 reviews
"skip the line"
in 3,139 reviews
"roma pass"
in 1,852 reviews
"buy your tickets"
in 654 reviews
"visiting rome"
in 1,149 reviews
"ticket office"
in 655 reviews
"bucket list"
in 630 reviews
"palatine hill"
in 1,992 reviews
"long line"
in 680 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 872 reviews
"ancient rome"
in 1,083 reviews
"history"
in 13,353 reviews
"arena"
in 2,026 reviews
"structure"
in 2,784 reviews
"euros"
in 2,280 reviews
"audio"
in 1,151 reviews
"romans"
in 1,181 reviews
Filter

7,086 - 7,090 of 131,583 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

It's a nice and marvellous building... The building is so huge and feels so small when you are in it... Luckily we bought Roma pass and we skipped the crazy long line and it's free .. So make sure Colosseum is you first museum visit when you bought Roma pass because it will be free !! We went in without guide and spent our own sweet time admiring the incredible structures... Amazed by the architecture design... Must visit place while you are in Rome!!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank suzanne9312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

A really beautiful place I stood in its ore and it took me a while to soak it all in tbh take you home and soak it in great for photos too

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Benlp640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We all know the image of the colosseum but I personally did not know the true extent of the history. We took a guided tour including a queue jump which I always think is a tourist trap but in that heat I was glad we did as he really did just walk to the front of the line. The place I felt was going to be a bit mundane but I was blown away with the tour. We found the man outside like the hundreds of others but guess we were lucky! You must go inside!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

In today's day and age, what we may consider stark and inhuman were the ways it was done in the days bygone. To imagine what it may have been during the heydays is absolutely amazing. How they were able to build a colossal stadium of its size so many centuries ago that is still standing majestically is truly a wonder. Recommend going with a tour, and "skip the lines" . The crowds can get overwhelming. Also inquire if they will provide headsets. It is important. We were in a small group, yet it was hard to follow along.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank ShreekantP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colosseum also viewed

 

Been to Colosseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing