We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Lancelot
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,905)
Filter reviews
1,905 results
Traveller rating
1,338
467
83
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,338
467
83
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskhan familysan clementeother guestsfloor terracequiet streetfamily run hotelrick steveswonderful hotelpalatine hillancient romethe hotel staffsmall balconyeach eveningyogurttrip to rometwo blocksfriendly hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,185 - 1,190 of 1,905 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Hotel Lancelot has been my favorite hotel for years. I have traveled extensively and i find myself comparing my experiences with the attentive staff and fabulous food at the Lancelot in Rome. The hotel is but a few meters from the colosseum and public transportations. I loved the round table meal times that offered great conversation with people from many parts of the world. The hotel is clean, comfortable and safe. i would recommend it a person traveling alone or with a family.
Gwen Hendrickson
Anchorage, Alaska

Room Tip: there is no fitness center.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baranof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We returned to the Hotel Lancelot ( recommended by Rick Steves years ago) after having a great experience there 8 years ago. We were so happy to see that the hotel has maintained high standards and retains that quiet, personal feel. The rooms were very clean and modest but charmingly decorated. The breakfast was plentiful and varied and the service by front staff was extremely accomodating- making reservations, calling taxi's and making recommendations, all appreciated. We started our italian vacation there, were in short walking distance to the sights around the forum, (could see the coliseum from our balcony) and quick access to metro, buses and taxi's. We returned at the end of our vacation and again, were given excellent service and accomodations were great. This is a great little hotel in a great location with reasonable prices and accomodating staff. It will be my "go to" recommendation in Rome for my friends! Very reliable!

Room Tip: A corner room gives you a balcony and 2 windows. The elevator is tiny, so if there are more than two, ask for a lower floor to eliminate walking up and down multiple flights.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DSuttonRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We are a family with two young children and spent a few days at the hotel Lancelot around new year's eve. We had a excellent experience and we would absolutely recommend it.
The main highlight is the quality of service. All our requests were quickly taken care of, the staff always smiling, available, yet very discreet. Employees are versed in different languages and prepared to help with your trip. For example, the reception helped organizing visits to museums, giving us useful tips, making calls and reservations.
We looked at a few rooms and they were of a reasonable size with tasteful interiors, with the exception of the "annex" which we didn't like. We recommend the top floor suite: albeit pricey, the terrace offers the possibility of romantic breakfast with a clear view of the Colosseum, only a few hundred yards away.
Breakfast was abundant and of a good quality, although the offering did not change for the five days we spent there and made it a bit monotone. We had dinner in the hotel only once and it was fine. The menu seemed well selected although less inspired by local cuisine than what we'd have hoped (but I guess you can pick one of the neighboring restaurants for "trippa" and "abbacchio"..). Ambiance of the dining area was pleasant.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood with plenty of restaurants and a handful of shops, including a small but well furnished wine seller. We felt very safe at any time, for example walking back alone to the hotel at one in the morning. As a matter of fact, we found downtown Rome to be very safe.

Room Tip: Top floor suites is best for families. Annex rooms are large but not pleasant
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rolando030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We arrived late at night to a wide awake, completely wonderful staff. Everything at Lancelot was really nice without being ostentatious. COmfortable rooms, lovely breakfast spread, nice bar at night, helpful staff, quiet rooms, great beds. Maybe if I had to find one thing that could be better (just so you don't think I work there!) the sheets are a little rough. But... all things considered, location, rooms, ambience, style, cost... perfect.

Room Tip: Don't feel like you have to rush to breakfast, they keep the tables well stocked until 10:30
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bethschax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Charming tastefully decorated hotel in an elegant house built in 1942; has front garden and 6th floor terrace with Colosseum views. Rooms are immaculate. Buffet breakfast was luxurious and bountiful, included fresh oysters, smoked salmon, walnuts, almonds, and dried fruits to add to yogurt, cheeses, Italian cold cuts and fresh fruits. Hotel has a 25 euro prix fixe dinner daily at 7:30 pm with menu changing every day. Diners sit at round tables so you get a chance to meet and chat with other guests. Food is excellent. My one dinner there was probably one of my best meals in Rome. Very friendly, helpful English speaking staff. They seemed to have a lot of repeat guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chita44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews