We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$97
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel des Artistes(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Amalfi Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$145
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$252
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Italia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$321
US$273
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveller rating
548
509
124
31
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
509
124
31
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvatican cityst peter's squaregreat hotelfront desk staffshort walkpastriestwin bedsbreakfast buffetother attractionshop on hop off busexcellent locationhotel restaurantstayed here for nightswould highly recommend this hotelsuperior roomsmall balconytrip to rome
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The hotel overall experience was average. The advantage is the location if you want to visit the Vatican as its literally 10 mins walk.However if you want to visit Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Colloseum, Piaza Navona, good restaurants and shopping then its better to stay across the river.
Please ensure you check the size of room and the view as the latter are uninspiring and look over residential flats. The staff are not very friendly and courteous.When we asked for a room change as we could not stay in a room which was too small to accommodate our 2 suitcases they first came up with a lot of reasons why and then said ok if you pay extra. I felt it was strange as professional courtesy would demand that you hear a guest out and provide solutions.Also standards demand that in a double occupancy room amenities are provided for both as in bathrobes and slippers, replenishment of milk with tea/coffee service was erratic, no drinking glasses in room, bathroom amenities like cotton for face cleaning not replaced. Our bill could not be provided previous night for an early morning checkout and at 7 am no one at front desk or operator picked up the phone till we rang again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front of the hotel have a better view. Choose the next category from superior as much larger with a day bed.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DeepaHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear Customer,
thank you for having wanted to review our hotel. We inform you that we have different types of rooms available; classic, superior, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The rooms differ in size, amenities, and exposure and have different rates.
We are anyway sorry if our staff has not been able to communicate correctly.We thank you again and hope to have you back as a customer in the near future.

With our best regards

Mr Mauro Polmonari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very close to St. Peter’s Square. The hotel is nearly new, nice wood-pattern ceramic tiles everywhere, easy to clean. Also nice bathrooms. However, I personally found some problems with the amenities that, based on my expectations, I was unhappy with.

The room was too warm, day and night. It is not possible to adjust the thermostat beyond +/- 2-3 F and even at the lowest setting it was just too hot. We opened the window, that gave some relief but is that an economic way of temperature control?

The shower is just too small. OK, I am an XL sized guy, but I couldn’t turn around without hitting the shower valve. That meant an instant freeze or hot water depending on which way I try to lean to pick up the shampoo from the bottom of the tub because THERE IS NO SHELF in the shower cabin whatsoever to put your shampoo and soap.

So you see, while the owners obviously put a lot of money in the decorations, they missed important details. Important, at least for me. For those of you who has XS size and fit through the shower door without squeezing, this hotel might be just ideal. But for me, it is just a 4*.

Also, they hurried to charge €25 as deposit as we arrived for potential use of the Minibar. We have left, did not eat or drink from the minibar but I don’t see the money deposited back on my cc account so I wait another day or so and if nothing happens I will start a dispute.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Laszlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanking you for you reviews regarding our hotel, we take note of the mentioned point, in order to work on them and improve our service. Hoping to welcome you once more in our Starhotels Michelangelo, in the meantime we send you our best regards.
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

This hotel was fine for small families and groups . It's so close to the Vatican city that it'll take you less than 10 minutes to get there. But it's small : It has small rooms , small lobby .
The staff were not that much friendly , especially at the reception desk .
It had nice breakfast area though with lots of variety .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheida E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for the time dedicated us in writing your review of our hotel.
We're sorry that for some aspects you were unhappy – we'll work hard to fix the issue that you experienced.
Thanks for letting us know.
We hope to welcome you again for your next roman stay,
With our best regards.

Mr Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is at the center of the city right next to Vatican, there are a lot of shops and cafes within walking distance, if you are willing to walk for about 30-40 minutes you can also walk to piazza navona where there are a lot of restaurants and and shops...
Breakfast was good and fresh, tea was included in the room.
All in all, I recommend it for anyone visiting rome

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank movahedifarhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great feedback of our Hotel.
We could not feel more satisfied by your positive comments. We are pleased that you appreciated our hotel and our services but what makes us more proud is your recommendation of our Hotel to future Guests.
Please consider our doors opened to welcome you back soon!
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for Our stay. We were there With a small tour group and ate breakfast each Day and a group dinner one evening. First the room was well appointed. We were in a queen Sized bed, the tv’s were about 40 inches. They had a kettle and some supplies for making
Coffee. There was also a minibar with a small fridge. It was all very nice and seemed new. The lobby was excellent.

Breakfast was pretty normal European breakfast, the US readers will wish for some more fire under the scrambled eggs, but when in Rome. It was all well prepared and the Staff was attentive.

But the highlight is the Distance to St. Peter’s. It is less than a half mile walk making it a convenient spot for making
Visits.


We will definitely be back

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank TennBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Customer,
Thank you for choosing Starhotels Michelangelo and giving us your comments about your stay in Rome. It is always a pleasure for us to read a good impression about the services we provide. Hoping to welcome you again among our guests, we address you our best regards.
Mr Mauro Polmonari – General Manager
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews