We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,925)
Filter reviews
2,925 results
Traveller rating
1,661
979
216
47
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,661
979
216
47
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roberto cioce metro station wine tasting evening a family run hotel hotel door hotel owner lounge area concierge desk minute walk to the colosseum friendly hotel santa maria maggiore superior room pastries visit to rome wonderful hotel sight seeing breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 2,925 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as it’s very central to everything. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. shower was difficult to use due to the fact that it is one of those over the bath thingys. I found myself with one hand using the shower the other to wash my hair etc. On a plus size it was hot and had a good flow. I also had a bath which I prefer. The breakfast was good and had an excellent choice of food and drinks. The waiting staff were very efficient and friendly. Reception staff also were very efficient, helpful and knowledgeable. I would have given this hotel an excellent but, we found that the coffee, tea bags and sugar was never replenished and as you know us English love a cup of tea. All in all an enjoyable stay and yes I would definitely come back here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisDebbie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

This is an amazing hotel witha great antique decoration. The rooms are very confortable and nice. The attention is unbeatable. It´s not far from the Coliseum, you can walk for 15 minutes and you are there.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sergiorc2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We were looking for a place near a Metro station (ideally Line A). Would ten steps to the Metro entrance be OK? It's maybe 100 yards to the ticket gates from there via tunnel. The Vittoria Emanuele station was quite convenient, with easy runs to the Aqueducts, the Vatican, Spagna and more. Just note: if your connecting to Line B at Termini, maybe avoid rush hour (which includes early afternoon when the schools let out).

There were three of us, and we were given a spacious room with a queen and two singles. Very good beds. Shower a little tight in an adapted tub, and the room (401) is overdue for some grout cleaning and a little bit of repair (although the room was spotless otherwise).

If you approach the building by Metro, you may not see the huge letters HOTEL NAPOLEON atop the huge pillars outside. From the park across the street you might think you've slipped and booked at a five-star. From right in front, not so much, as the street mixes high-, medium- and low-end retail with a scattering of street vendors. Safe though.

Inisde, wow. Small entrance, up a short, wide spiral stair to a cavernous lounge space, two large rooms of comfy chairs with a grand piano and museum-quality decorations. You can avoid the stair with a tiny elevator that holds three if they don't have luggage (although the staff cheerfully handle the bags anyway). Then across the lounge and up another tiny escalator. Key-tap entry to room, hooray, big improvement on those annoying slide-card-in locks.

The bar/restaurant failed to impress. We had a service glitch that may well have been a one-time thing, and our order took a LONG time to come. Good, but better value for money is easily available. If you were less active than we, the bar and lounge would make this a wonderful place to relax after a tiring day (as many guests were doing).

The staff were excellent. With English skills from quite good up to completely fluent, they were unfailingly friendly and helpful. We arrived by ship so didn't need the free transfer from ther airport, and the desk happily swapped it for a free ride TO the airport. We left at 04:20, and the 24-hour desk made that a worry-free exercise, with easy checkout and three bagged breakfasts.

Recommended.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kawaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

A beautiful Hotel very close to the Colosseum and little pizzeria. Clean and adequate rooms. Wonderful breakfast and a nice little bar. Very helpful staff who spoke good english. No hassle to get a taxi booked.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel! Great location on the Metro and you can walk to the Colosseum. They provide a lovely breakfast. The staff is wonderful- very friendly and helpful! I highly recommend staying here!

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank enackland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews