We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Beat Elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis Rome
Ranked #81 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
syosset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Off Beat Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

When In Rome one would think that they wanted to be really close to the spanish steps. The St. Regis is a five star hotel about ten minute walking distance. It didn't matter because the hotel is beautiful. It has charm and impeccable staff. When we arrived they couldn't do enough to make our stay most enjoyable. We will definitely return. The St. Regis is old world charm without feeling old.The.concierge is the most helpful in choosing attractions and making dinner reservation, spa and hair appointments. There is no salon in the hotel but they are helpful in suggesting where to go We had two really nice rooms.They were renovated,comfortable and clean Best bed in Rome!. Just to throw in the review of the hotel. Thought I would suggest our favorite restaurants with our new favorite hotel. We ate at really good restaurants that we return to on every trip to Rome. Bolognese is really good! It is a people watching restaurant will all Excellent food You can eat breakfast to lunch there.. From antipasto to macaroni and cheese, which isn't typical but delicious. San Padre which is a eating experience. When you sit down the food is brought out before you order main. The appetizers keep coming. food and service is excellent. By the time it is to order your main course you are pretty full! There is a restaurant in Trastevere called Tonys. It is famous family styled dining and it great for typical italian food which isn't expensive.

Room Tip: We had two rooms. A renovated suite, and deluxe room. They were both beautiful with charm. The beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We are happy to learn that you found rest and relaxation in our iconic landmark and are very grateful for your praises. Please be assured that we will share your comments with the Head-Concierge and his team, as they represent a great encouragement for them in order to keep tracing the best restaurants’ selection, based on our Guests’ preferences. We truly appreciate you mentioning the comfort of our Guestrooms, highlighting the beds. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon on your next travel to the Eternal City.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    360
    169
    61
    19
See reviews for
403
975
66
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Good staff, nice room, perfect breakfast. Ideal location. 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your brief but so effective feedback. It is a true satisfaction that you consider the St. Regis Rome as “the perfect place”. We will continue to work hard to live up to your expectations in the future!
Arrivederci,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelope, Ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

The St. Regis Rome was truly outstanding. The hotel is visually magnificent and easy to find from the Termini train rail station. St. Regis is very relaxing in a great location.
The staff at this hotel were excellent, happy and pleasant to assist us.
The room was clean and turndown service was excellent.
We also ate at the restaurant downstairs and had great service and a very delicious dinner.
I was very impressed with the hotel, service and staff at this St. Regis Rome.
What a great spot - central to most sights like the the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, shopping and Metro Train Stations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We are glad to learn that you fully enjoyed your stay and that the St. Regis team could contribute to this experience in different ways.
Thank you for recognizing our mission to provide service beyond expectations and for highlighting our Vivendo Restaurant, a true Italian cuisine. Our Chef thoughtfully crafts menus from seasonal ingredients, creating detectable meals to delight your palate. Your comments represent a great encouragement and we are delighted that you took the time to share them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the discreet hospitality of the St. Regis Rome for another exceptional stay.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The St. Regis in Rome is an old world hotel. It is important not to expect something new or event really updated. As with many hotels in Rome, you must be ready to deal with something old and unique. The hotel is large, rambling and not easy to understand the layout. But the rooms are individual, charming and the furnishings match the theme of the hotel, which is old world charm. I stayed for 5 nights and found the internet service robust, a nice flat screen TV and helpful staff. I would strongly recommend you take a moment once you find your room to understand where the nearest fire exit is located. This hotel could be deadly in a fire. My room was spacious, comfortable and ammenities were pleantiful. Don't expect the latest and best in controls and bathroom features, but enjoy the old world charm.

The hotel lacks restaurants and breakfast is held in the lobby/bar area. Food was good but the setting is a bit strange. The bar is old world, but functional.

And like many hotels in Rome there is very limited street frontage, so be ready to quickly depart from your taxi.

The SPA and work out facility is small, but clean and with modern exercise equipment. The Asia staff seems willing to help. The locker rooms are small with a sauna and no steam.

The hotel is very close to the train station making it very convenient. For the most part the St. Regis Rome is a good value and an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Stay close to an exit for fire safety reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndyGuynside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback with all the TripAdvisor community. The St. Regis Rome, being built as the first luxury hotel in Italy in 1894 by César Ritz is a truly historical hotel, elected as residence by kings, queens, movie stars and diplomatic personalities through more than a century. Trying to go with the modern wind of technology, our focus is on maintaining the tradition and unique atmosphere of our iconic landmark, through décor and bespoke artwork.
Thank you as well for mentioning the Fire Exit as this allows us to highlight that safety and security of our guests and staff is our first priority. The St. Regis Rome not only is fully compliant with the Italian Legislation in terms of Fire and Safety regulation, but it respects the high brand (St. Regis) and Company (Starwood) requirements. All rooms, corridors and public areas are equipped with highly sensible smoke detectors and sprinkler systems; all staff members are trained on this subject and periodical fire drills and security evacuation tests take place. Detailed information about our security system is available in the Guest-directory inside each accommodation.
Regarding our Food and Beverage offer, we do have a very charming restaurant, the Vivendo, providing an intimate atmosphere for dinner, being open from Tuesday to Saturday in addition to our Le Grand Bar, proposing a wide selection of dishes for lunch and dinner as well as snacks over the entire week. Additionally, our exclusive “Di…Vino” Wine cellar can be booked for private cocktails o wine tasting.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We arrived in Rome for a 2 days business meeting...
We arrived at the hotel and the staff were very accommodating.
Four and a half star for the room and 4 star for service, no very picky on details.
Overall the lobby is elegant with lots of historical elements.
For a hotel like this the disappointment arrived at the restaurant, mediocre food and service. Please do it better!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at the St. Regis last February. We are glad that you appreciated the unique elegance of the hotel lobby and bespoke service of our staff. Though our dining Vivendo restaurant was closed for renovation works during the month of February, we are very sorry if you did not received the quality of service you had expected in one of our Food and Beverage outlets. Total Guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and we would be honored to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to improve your impression especially of the concerned dining place, which has re-opened in March 2012 with a renovated decoration and layout, a new Restaurant Manager and a tempting menu of Italian specialties.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

The St.Regis is the nicest hotel in Rome. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, immaculate, and well decorated. The staff is attentive. The breakfast offering is expansive. The location of the hotel is not central, but it is not too far from the main sites. You can pretty much walk anywhere in Rome. It is close to the trainstation and Villa Borghese which is a plus.

The concierge was less than impressive. When my family and I asked if there were any shows or orchestras playing, the concierge came back with uninspiring options. This was a trend for the entire trip. Despite this, I would highly recommend this hotel. You can subsidize the concierge with a guide book and your own research. The facilities and service otherwise were spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and for highlighting the wide selection of our buffet breakfast. We continuously expand the variety of fresh products from the local and international tradition to meet our Guests’ needs at all levels. It is a pleasure reading that you found the St. Regis to be the right choice for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in Rome. At the same time, we are sorry that the Concierge assistance was not satisfactory. All the team wishes to extend the most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations; they will certainly treasure your constructive criticism to adapt their suggestions and recommend only the top of Rome’s proposals. We would be honored being considered as your home-coming residence in the Eternal City for any future visit.
Sincerely,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Had a nice stay in is luxurious hotel.
Arrived around 9am plus and room was not ready.  But Daniel from reception was extremely friendly and offered coffee if we wanna wait or alternatively he would call me if room is ready. He really called around 11 plus when room was ready. He even escorted us to our room and informed us that we have been upgraded to the Imperial Guest room due to my SPG GOLD status.
The room was spacious and had this nice traditional decor to it.
Only downside to my stay was that the staff at the door was not very friendly. The reception and concierge staff was however more friendly.
Overall I will still recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sporetravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen_Mgr_StRegisRome, General Manager at The St. Regis Rome, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Guest,
We are proud to offer bespoke service to our valued Guests and to extend enhanced rooms whenever possible. It is a pleasure that you could experience this first hand and we would like to assure you that we will follow up with all the Doormen, if their behavior did not reflect with our usual high standards of dedicated service.
Thank you for your loyalty and recommendation. We are eager to show you the results of our continuous improvement on your next visit.
Sincerely,
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#58 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Rome

Property: The St. Regis Rome
Address: 3, Via Vittorio Emanuele Orlando, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rome
#10 Spa Hotel in Rome
#43 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#57 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caesar Ritz proudly opened "The Grand" in 1894 as Rome's first luxury hotel and today it still maintains the prestigious status to be one of the world's finest hotels. Each guest room or suite features a unique identity and is exquisitely appointed in a combination of Empire, Regency and Louis XV styles. Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access is available in the hotel lobby, at Le Grand Bar and at Vivendo Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The St. Regis Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Rome Hotel Rome
St Regis Rome
Rome St Regis Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing