We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money. Spacious room and close to metro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #66 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Staying in the hotel in early Oct 2011 for 6 nights after the cruise. The room is very spacious, clean and the bed is very comfortable. We booked this hotel because of the positive feedback on this website and we didn’t disappointed at all. It’s about 5 minutes walk to metro Castro Pretorio station or 15 minutes walk to Termini railway station. There are two supermarkets locate near the hotel and few restaurants around the area. The meals in the restaurants around the hotel is much better value than those you can find near the main tourist attraction like Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.

There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but they can bring the facilities to you if you request for it but it depends on availability. We request for it upon arrival. Luckily, they sent the tea and coffee facilities to us on the 2nd day of our stay.

The room is surprisingly spacious and has a samll balcony. I really love the bed in our room, it’s so comfortable. I also love the stereo system in the room. As we brought some music CDs with us, we could play our favourite songs in the room. The good thing is they have microphone connect to the bathroom, we listened to the songs while enjoying the bath, too.

Breakfast is Ok but nothing surprising. Free internet service is also available.

Overall I really like this hotel which is value for money and would stay here again if I come back to Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 2,179 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

Clean, big, charming room, bathroom is spacious, safe in the room, extremely courteous service, great breakfast choice - this hotel made our visit to Rome very comfortable and memorable. We chose this based on the great reviews here in TripAdvisor and we are happy to add our own opinion - it's a great find! We stayed there in June 2010. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PilarVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My family and I stayed here for a couple of nights back in August, and we all absolutely loved this place!
The location was great! In a quieter area of Rome and only a short walk away from the subway.
The staff in the lobby were very friendly and helped us plan our itinerary.
The rooms were very nice and spacious, and the breakfasts were great.
It was always nice to come back from jam packed, site seeing day and have a nice cold beer at the bar!
On a side not, I loved the old fashioned elevator in the hotel!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will come back when I visit Rome again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jroy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We found this hotel by chance on the internet while travelling from Athens to Rome. It is close to the train station and subway stations; a 5-10 minute walk in either direction. We stayed for 2 days in September 2011 prior to travelling to Sorrento. We were so impressed we booked it again for 3 days after seeing the Amalfi Coast and before we headed back to Canada. Both stays were enjoyable. The rooms were beautiful, king size bed and clean. The buffet breakfast had an excellent selection of food and the coffee was great. The front desk staff were extermely helpful; I wish I could remember the gentleman's name who helped us out. He gave us tips on how to get places, what to see, where to go, where to eat. And his suggestions were excellent. The only drawback to the hotel was a lot of noise form the hotel/restaurant across the street one night. My wife knows some Italian which she practiced with the hotel staff. They seemed genuinely appreciative of our attempts to use Italian. One of the waiters at the breakfast was also exceptional. We hoped we got him for every breakfast. All in all, a great place and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms and both were gorgeous. One had a king size four post bed which was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank terrymac1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Everyone likes different things in a hotel. This one suits me perfectly. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The staff is friendly but perfectly willing to leave you alone should you, as do I, prefer it. The breakfast is good and should be sufficient to get you through to dinner with only a snack for lunch. The hotel bar serves drinks at very reasonable prices, along with free appetizers in the evening. The location, for me, is perfect. It is close enough to walk from Termini (about 5 blocks) and there is another metro stop just around the corner (Castro Pretorio). This allows you to come and go as you please throughout the day using the all-day public transit ticket. The environs are quiet at night and on weekends with little or no evidence of the sketchy conditions that can occur closer to Termini. Free wi-fi is a nice plus too. The only suggestion I could make is that the coffee with breakfast could be better.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both superior and regular rooms and don't see any reason to spend extra for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frantica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a lot of Air Miles and decided to blow them on a trip to Rome in January. Choosing a hotel is important, and after researching Trip Advisor decided on Hotel Canada. Firstly, I want to say that there are absolutely no regrets about this choice. Other reviews are almost spot-on.

Location. Hotel Canada is about 10 minutes walk from Termini rail and bus station. You could take the Metro for one stop, but it's really not worth it. If you are disabled or have mobility problems, you should be aware that the walk from Termini involves some cobbled streets and very uneven pavements.

You should not think that this hotel is very close to the major tourist sites, it's not. However they are not far. The Historic areas (Colosseum, Forum, Trevi, Pantheon etc) are about 25 or so minutes walk. Getting there is ok, it's downhill, but coming back is of course uphill. I lost a few pounds in weight over three days walking ! The Castro Pretorio metro station almost outside the hotel, and the Rome metro is easy to use. Any one journey costs €1 and an all day ticket is €4, great value. Get on the train at Castro Pretorio, get off a few minutes later at Colosseo which is right at The Colosseum.

The front desk staff of the hotel are really very good, polite, helpful, informative, and very happy to answer questions no matter how silly. In the lobby of the hotel was a pad of large city maps. Just tear one off, fold it and off you go ! Really useful.

Rooms are classical Italian style. Large conventional beds (very comfy !) tiled floors. Some furniture, TV, CD Player. Good bathroom, WC, Bidet, Bath/Shower, good selection of toiletries, and disposable slippers ! There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but this is normal in Italy and most of continental Europe. Our room was 526 on the 5th Floor. The lift is interesting and takes a bit of getting used to. It's an old fashioned type with gates that you have to pull open, but the gate to go in is not the same as the gate to get out ! Great fun. Although our room overlooked a very busy street, there was almost no noise due to very good sound insulation.

We didn’t use the bar, but breakfast is very good. The best thing is that it is available until 10.30am, very civilized ! Good selection of cheeses, cold meats, pastries, fruit and some hot items usually eggs and ham or bacon of sorts.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are plenty of places very nearby. Ristorante 3 Arches just around the corner is good.

I cannot comment on cost or value for money, the hotel was included in the flights and hotel Air Miles package.

Overall we were really very happy, and recommend this hotel. My wife is already saying that she wants to go back to Rome to see more. If or when we do, Hotel Canada will be top of the list.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rog_Enfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Family of four with two kids ages 8 &10. Stayed in the quadruple room and it offered very spacious bathroom and living area. Clean, nice quite, good location with easy access to both metro and central train station. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet has so many food options and variety. For quick dinner you must try the small pizza place parlor the street toward the train station. The owner makes fresh pizzas loaded with fresh toppings and you can buy by the slice to sit or to go. This hotel is very highly recommended, we will definitely use again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,528 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
2,700 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#45 of 1,271 in Rome
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $128 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing