We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #69 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

A lovely hotel in a great location, only 5 mins walk (or less) from the Termini you have easy access to both bus and rail networks to travel around Rome.
Like many others who have reviewed, we stayed for a short break in a deluxe room with breakfast, and found both fantastic.
A full size bath (a real luxury for those used to visiting European cities) and shower, with comfortable and clean beds in a good sized room was a real treat. The breakfast was self service and tried to cater for most tastes from English breakfast(ish) to pastries, fruit and cereal. Staff were helpful and polite.
The only caveat is how early people start work in Rome, particularly scaffolders (7:15am), so it's definitely worth closing the window and using air-con if required at night. That said this is certainly somewhere I would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pieater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    627
    94
    16
    9
See reviews for
516
970
69
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

A delightful experience. My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in late February early March in a deluxe room with breakfast. The interior design of all areas of the hotel is first class. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is self service and is continental and English breakfast and a great range of food for all. The public areas bar and lounge could not be better and the bar prices are cheap for central Rome. Free snacks . The hotel is spotlessly clean and has a small range of papers and a good selection of books available. The room safes are in the wall behind pictures! Toiletries and slippers provided. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room as it is only 10% more than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IanCulbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in Hotel Canada, last time 7 years ago. It is still a fantastic hotel. Close to the Underground and Termini when you arrive, clean and great value for money. But best of all is the ambience of the place. The staff are so friendly and helpful and it is such a lovely, relaxing hotel where you are made to feel welcome. Highly recommend it

Room Tip: The standard rooms are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quinns24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 5 days May 2011, hotel is excellent, location is superb , our room was a suite and very spacious with comfortable bed. Hotel staff very professional and we experienced only the best of Roman hospitality during our stay. I have stayed there on 2 other occasions and always recommend hotel to anyone staying in Roma. We will use Hotel Canada on our next visit to Roma. Grazie Pucci family!!

Room Tip: ask for suite on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights this February. The hotel is beautiful, clean, spacious and very well located. Staff are all very helpful, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was lovely-lots of choice and vareity. The hotel bar was rcomfortable and reasonably priced with free snacks and nibbles. If I were to make just one suggestion for improvement it would be to simply turn down the lighting in the bar in the evenings, as it was very bright!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ciara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Staying in the hotel in early Oct 2011 for 6 nights after the cruise. The room is very spacious, clean and the bed is very comfortable. We booked this hotel because of the positive feedback on this website and we didn’t disappointed at all. It’s about 5 minutes walk to metro Castro Pretorio station or 15 minutes walk to Termini railway station. There are two supermarkets locate near the hotel and few restaurants around the area. The meals in the restaurants around the hotel is much better value than those you can find near the main tourist attraction like Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.

There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but they can bring the facilities to you if you request for it but it depends on availability. We request for it upon arrival. Luckily, they sent the tea and coffee facilities to us on the 2nd day of our stay.

The room is surprisingly spacious and has a samll balcony. I really love the bed in our room, it’s so comfortable. I also love the stereo system in the room. As we brought some music CDs with us, we could play our favourite songs in the room. The good thing is they have microphone connect to the bathroom, we listened to the songs while enjoying the bath, too.

Breakfast is Ok but nothing surprising. Free internet service is also available.

Overall I really like this hotel which is value for money and would stay here again if I come back to Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Clean, big, charming room, bathroom is spacious, safe in the room, extremely courteous service, great breakfast choice - this hotel made our visit to Rome very comfortable and memorable. We chose this based on the great reviews here in TripAdvisor and we are happy to add our own opinion - it's a great find! We stayed there in June 2010. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PilarVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#75 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#92 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Address: 58, Via Vicenza, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Canada)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Rome
#25 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#72 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an elegant historic building in the centre of Rome, the Hotel Canada represents the outcome of Hoteliers' generations experience. It shows the ancient tradition of hospitality that renews itself every day. A recent refurbishment has rediscovered the original architecture of the building. It was constructed in 1870 in order to provide accommodation for officers from the nearby barracks of Castro Pretorio. The Hotel Canada is easily reachable from "Termini Station" (500 m), the most important station of the Eternal City and the main rail yard of Italy. This Station is well connected with both airports of Rome: Roma Leonardo da Vinci/ Fiumicino and Roma Ciampino. The Hotel Canada is located in an ideal spot to visit the very historic centre of Rome. It is close to the subway (Line B, Castro Pretorio's stop) that allows every guest to reach the downtown in just a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Rome
Hotel Canada Rome
Best Western Rome
Canada Hotel Rome
Rome Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing