We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Louise G

Would not recommend.

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 11, 2023via mobile
As we arrived the room appeared very good. As we settled in, we realized that our room was old and in need of repairs and upgrades of basic comfort

Bed was 2 twin beds put together with an old and bumpy mattress. The toilet has yellow stains and the seat cover is peeling. The shower valve came off when I turned it on. There was mold around the tub and on the wall.

Management did not accommodate our request for a move or any discounts on the room rate.

Shout out to Simone, Fabrizio, Alana and Gabriella for their most excellent service in restaurant and front desk.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LordByron Team Rome, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this review
Responded Jul 13, 2023
Dear Mrs. Louise G.,

thank you for spending your time writing your review about your stay at Lord Byron Hotel in Rome!

We are sorry to read that you did not have the experience you expected in our hotel. We try to work hard in order to make our guests stay as much comfortable as we can but we did not meet your point.

The period you stayed in our boutique hotel is high season so the hotel was fully booked and it was hard to find another room to move you in case you were not satisfied with your room.

We thank you for the appreciation of our staff.

We hope you are giving us one more opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Front Desk Department
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$320
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$322
  • Vio.com
    C$292
  • Hotels.com
    C$322
2.3 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$328
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$328
  • Destinia.com
    C$292
  • Hotels.com
    C$328
2.3 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$269
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$270
  • Priceline
    C$246
  • Hotels.com
    C$270
2.4 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$345
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$345
  • Agoda.com
    C$282
  • Hotels.com
    C$345
2.5 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
Room service
C$215
  • Expedia.com
    C$224
  • Vio.com
    C$190
  • Hotels.com
    C$224
3.0 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
C$167
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • Vio.com
    C$122
  • Priceline
    C$138
9.0 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$143
  • Expedia.com
    C$162
  • Vio.com
    C$127
  • Priceline
    C$137
2.2 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
C$128
  • Expedia.com
    C$133
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$117
  • Hotels.com
    C$133
5.0 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
C$136
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    C$136
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$136
  • Agoda.com
    C$136
16.6 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,677
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$1,676
  • Vio.com
    C$1,475
  • Hotels.com
    C$1,676
2.9 km from Hotel Lord Byron
Free Wifi
Room service
View more hotels in Rome
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
603
185
60
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
603
185
60
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews borghese gardens small luxury hotel a short taxi ride a quiet residential area spanish steps junior suite central rome via veneto breakfast was excellent trip to rome main attractions trevi fountain concierge taxis neighborhood marble sites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 887 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2023

Disheartening experience. On our very first full day in Italy our rental car was broken into (glass window shattered - all over our babies car seat) and all of our belongings stolen. The thieves took ALL of our luggage ALL of our babies luggage we were left with nothing but our bathing suits and flip flops on. We didn’t even have a dry diaper to put on our son. We could no longer stay in Italy due to our emergency need to get our 18 month old his life saving medication since that was stolen. We filled a police report and tried to cancel this hotel multiple times without any help. We filed an unsuccessful claim with our chase credit card to get a refund since we never were able to check in to this hotel. The hotel even asked for a police report from the chase credit card which we provided them and yet they still would not refund us. My husband and I were in a dire need to get our son home as his safety was our number one priority and this hotel just totally failed us. Absolutely disgusted with this hotel and chase credit card as we booked directly with them.

Room tip: Avoid this Hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LordByron Team Rome, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2023

Dear Mrs. Jbeaudoin4,

We are really sorry to read your negative feedback about our boutique hotel without even meeting the Team and neither entered our structure and stayed with us.
We are conscious of the fact that our guest experience begins even before arriving at the hotel when you are looking for your stay in our building.
This is the reason why our customer care staff is available 24 hours in order to give all needed assistance to our guests and share all needed details regarding a future stay.

We assumed that you lived through a difficult moment at the beginning of your stay in Italy and we are sorry for that, but the Hotel Lord Byron has no fault for this inconvenience.
On our side, we kept your room until your cancellation request without having the possibility to resell it to another guest.

In situations like that, we suggest you contact your travel insurance in order to receive a refund.

We hope you are giving us one more opportunity for a future stay in the Eternal City.

Best regards,

Claudia Gallo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2023

It is not your normal Hyatt! It is worse!

The Hotel is in a desert, nothing nearby. It takes 5 minutes to 20 minutes to get a cab so one is always early or late to events. Don’t think that you can go for a stroll anywhere.

The English language is a challenge so the staff is also challenged on customer service. They just don’t get it. I stayed because I am a Hyatt member yet you would never know, no water, etc.

Breakfast is very attractive, visually, but is very poor in content with wet scrambled eggs and no non-pork options.

Our room had a ceiling leak and we had 3 different rooms one of which was unnecessary but their Front Desk person, Jon Marco, could not understand the inconvenience--English speakers beware. Poor Service without the smile!

All of these issues were raised throughout the stay with no accommodation, like a simple "we are so sorry." They are all about turning over rooms.

This Hotel is the worst Hyatt that I have ever encountered and except for
a stay in Bulgaria, Lord Byron Hotel ranks as the largest disappointment!

Room tip: Stay near the Spanish Steps, etc., anywhere where there are people
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 596josephb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LordByron Team Rome, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2023

Dear Mr. 596josephb,


thank you for spending your time writing your review about your stay at Lord Byron Hotel in Rome!

We are really sorry that you have not had the stay you expected. We always work hard to make our guests stay as much comfortable as we can but there was something wrong during your holiday.
Our boutique hotel is continuously checked by the inspectors of the international chain we are part of in order to control that luxurious standards as well as customer care service are respected otherwise we would be kicked out of the group. We are sorry that the experience was out of the standard according to you.

Our guest feedbacks are essential for us in order to be conscious of our reputation and guests' point of view on our service so we thank you for having shared your opinion with us in order to strengthen our weaknesses.

We hope you are giving us one more opportunity to welcome you back to our boutique hotel.

Best regards,





Front Desk Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2023

Ideally situated for the Villa Borghese park and the Galerie Borghese with its fantastic collection of art, this “small luxury hotel” is smart, comfortable and stylish. The staff are all delightfully friendly, the public rooms are beautifully furnished and adorned with portraiture and art books.

Our “superior” room was large, bed excellent, the air con was efficient and quiet. Breakfast was pretty comprehensive.

The main view was unfortunately to an unedifying modern block of flats with balcony washing hanging up. Rather oddly, the outlook from the bathroom, was of greenery and a far more attractive traditional Roman property. Other odd quirks included full-length mirrors everywhere including opposite the loo!

We walked in to the centre one day, took a taxi for €15 the next and the peace and quiet plus good value certainly offsets the slightly more peripheral location.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LordByron Team Rome, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2023

Dear Mr. W5966XDjulianj,


thank you for choosing Lord Byron Hotel for your stay in the Eternal City!

We are pleased to read about your positive feedback regarding your stay on our property!
We work hard to make our guest's stay pleasant and to guarantee a unique style to our hotel so we are happy that we succeeded in our aim and that you were satisfied with your stay.

We hope you are coming back as a repeat guest.

Best regards,





Front Desk Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2023

Really friendly team, good food, comfortable bed and pillows, nice balcony.
Perfect place to rest after exploring Roma, the walk through the Villa Borghese Gardens a must to start the day. Then come back to be looked after by Alexander, head of bistro, and the whole team.

Definitely recommend!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lovetravell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LordByron Team Rome, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2023

Dear Lovetravell1234,


thank you for spending your time writing your review about your stay at Lord Byron Byron Hotel in Rome!

We are pleased to read such a wonderful report about the holiday you had in our boutique hotel!
Our aim is our guest satisfaction so we are happy that we achieved our goal and that you have a good memory for your experience.

We hope you are coming back as a repeat guest.

Best regards,





Front Desk Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2023

We are a family of 3 adults. We requested 2 connecting rooms 3 months before our arrival which we did not get. Friendly staff. ** This Hotel is about 20 - 30 minutes' minimum walk to nearest touristic attraction. We saw this as a disadvantage. There are a Taxi Stand and a grocery store near the hotel. We would like to thank Tiziana for her efforts to make our stay pleasant.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LordByron Team Rome, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2023

Dear Mr. Aabdhahran,


thank you for spending your time writing your report about your stay at Lord Byron Hotel in Rome!
We are sorry your request was not satisfactory but the room you are mentioning was booked before you expressed your preference.
We thank you for your appreciation of our staff professionality.

We hope you are giving us one more opportunity to welcome you to our boutique hotel.

Best regards,





Front Desk Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews