We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - no major complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marcella Royal Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for a week in June on a combined conference/holiday trip.
We were a little late with the booking (approx two months prior to our trip), so the choice in good hotels were limited. Chose this one after reading so many great rewievs here at tripadvisor. At the time we booked, there were only one room avaliable for our entire stay. This was a superior room, which the hotel charges €350 per night for. We booked through expedia.com and paid far less:-)
Upon arrival we checked in and were taken to our room. We got room 618, which was the third largest room in the hotel. It had a bathroom with shower/bathtub, a small hallway with lots of warderobe space, a fairly large "main" area with a big bed (which was quite comfortable), and a small narrow space by the window with a desk and minibar/fridge. And a great view of the Roman rooftops!
Overall, the room was clean and nice. However, I would like to point out that the wall-to-wall carpet was extremely dirty... Other than that - no complaints. The room was cleaned once a day, clean towels were provided each day, they changed the sheets several times during our stay, and they checked the room in the afternoon as well (made up the bed if needed etc).

Although our room was at the sixth floor, we did not experience any noise from the rooftop garden at any time of day. The room was located beneath the inner corner of the breakfast room, but we had no problems with loud noises from people walking over the tiled floor above, chairs being dragged etc as complained about in other reviews. In the outdoor area, the had put litle rubber "cups" on the chairs - probably to reduce the noise.

In general the hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, and we slept very well through the night - even with the window open.
The price you pay for a quiet location, is that the hotel is located a bit far from the tourist places in Rome. The Pantheon is approx a 30 min walk away. This was not a problem for us as we are used to walking. Also, we did in general leave the hotel after breakfast and did not return until the evening. But if you want to break up your days and return to the hotel to relax during the day, you might want to look for a hotel with a more central location. On the positive side, the metro station Republicca is jus 5 - 10 minutes down the road which is convinient when going to the Vatican city and Colusseum. Also, there are several nice little places to eat right by the hotel, so you can easily go back to the hotel without having dinner and then find something to eat just around the corner.

The staff was friendly and helpful and fluent in english.
The rooftop garden was great, nice place to relax, do some reading or just enjoy the view. Spent some time up there during the day, and were left alone by the staff - no pressure to buy anything. We did not go up there to sit down any evenings, the policy might be different that time of day.
It was really nice being able to eat breakfast outside at the rooftop terrace. In general, finding an avaliable table outside was not a problem. But in case of bad weather they do also have tables indoors. The breakfast itself was fair enough, nothing out of the ordinary.

The hotel state that they offer complimentary wireess internet connection. However, they charge € 8 for 30 minutes (you buy codes in the reception) . This is extremely expensive, I've paid the same amount for 24 hour access in other hotels. Despite the price, we bought access for 30 min. Went up to the room to go online on our private laptop, but it did not work. Then went down to the reception area to try the hotel laptop, but it still did not work. Got help from the staff, but they didn't manage to get it working either. Got the money back without problems, so the service was good at least. But the "complimentary" wifi access is expensive and unreliable and something you should just avoid.

All in all, our stay was just fine. The hotel has everything you need (except reliable internet connection and clean carpets), and the service is good.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NoName00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2008

We loved our 6-day stay at Marcella Royal. The staff was always smiling, very friendly and helpful. They made all our restaurant reservations for us, and reserved outside tables---alfresco dining in June is wonderful! The rooms are good size for a European hotel, and most importantly the rooms are very clean!
The breakfast terrace is amazingly beautiful with a great 360 degree view of the eternal city! We will definitely go back to Marcella Royal!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelingbahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

have just returned from a trip to Rome, Florence and Pisa and the hotel marcella royale was the best hotel we stayed in by far. It was a trip for a special birthday and the hotel made it that much more special. They recommended a hotel for a meal on the actual night - The Hi Res in Hotel Valdeira. would highly recommend this place for a special occasion. On our return for a nightcap in the rooftop terrace we were greeted by a rendition of Happy Birthday in English and Italian and glasses of champagne - agreat end to a perfect day. We had a junor suite which was superb - fantastic decor, brilliant service and superb airconditioning (very necessary) I really cannot fault this hotel - it was a superb experience and can't wait to go back there - we are planning our next trip already

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daisy090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We were really pleased with this hotel - it was clean, the decor was pleasant (fairly recently done I would think). The rooms are not massive but adequate for what we needed. The bathroom was modern - no bath but a really good power shower. The roof garden was lovely. If the weather is nice you can eat breakfast (which was better than most that we have had a these sorts of places) on the roof and it is also really nice to have a pre-dinner drink there and watch the sun set over Rome - great views over the city.

I am so glad that we used Tripadvisor - the comments were all really accurate. I wouldn't say this was ideal for people who want the sites right on their doorstep. The walks were managable but St Peters is about 50 mins walk, Trevi Fountain about 25 mins, Piazza Navona about 35 mins. The hotel will get you taxis and they are comparable to London prices

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrubbyGrocers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

just spent 3 days at this lovely hotel very clean ,and fresh sheets and towels everyday.Lovely comfortable room. Roof top restaurant brilliant wonderful views over rome great breakfast choice. Would stay here again was just perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank over50sNewMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Having read many reviews we decided to book the Marcella and i have to say that i am pleased we did. Much has been said about the beautiful rooftop gardens in previous posts but having sampled the goods myself i can only endorse the good comments. Believe me you will do a lot of walking in Rome! So the chance to relax with a night cap with views above the city and pleasant piano music playing in the back ground is well worth the wait. Indeed what better way to start a day than to have a nice breakfast with the same views.
OK, the nitty gritty. You will need walking shoes although don't be afraid to use the metro/buses and taxis. The hotel bar is not cheap so expect to pay more euros for a beer than in many local restuarants (approx 8). A bottle of wine is better value!
The rooms are fine if a little small and we were on the sixth floor but were not disturbed by the noise from the restuarant above.
There is no iron so bring your own. The staff are curteous and helpful. It is a boutique hotel not a major chain so don't expect it to behave that way.
Overall i would definetely recommend the Marcella Royal to anyone who wants to be near enough to the action without the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We stayed at the Marcella Royal Hotel for 5 nights in June 2008 with a party of four. We (my boyfriend, myself and other friends) were there on holiday and this was our first time to Rome. We spent a week in Italy – 3 days in Naples and the rest in Rome.

Transportation
We arrived in Rome at the Termini station as we were traveling from Naples. We walked from the station to the hotel and this took only 10 minutes. A member of our party took a taxi and this cost him €6 from the Termini to the hotel. For our trip we walked mostly from the hotel to the attractions and back. A few times we took the metro to start the morning off quickly and found interesting walking routes back to the hotel. We found the metro to be very easy (€1 per trip/person) and the stations nearest the hotel are Castro Pretorio (Line B) and Repubblica (Line A) – we avoided the transfer at the Termini. We did use the taxi to get back from dinner as we ate dinner in different areas of Rome. The average taxi trip for the four of us back to the hotel (from the main areas) was €10 - €20.

Neighborhood (photos included)
The area around the hotel is very residential and the streets are quiet. There are no main tourist attractions within easy walking distance but we knew this when we booked this hotel. However, you can access the metro to save time getting to the attractions. There is an ATM near the hotel and once you get to the main streets you can find shops to purchase water, soda, coffee etc.

Room (photos included)
We had a ‘double room with bathroom’ and our rate was €235 for the time in June (room 522) – booked room through their website. The décor in the room is floral and equipped with air conditioning. The bed was queen size (comfortable) and the space was sufficient for the two of us but is not on the spacious side. The room has a safe, wardrobe, television, extra blankets and a refrigerator. There is a dresser table to lay your things on. A nice feature about the rooms on the 5th floor is that they come with a balcony (photo). This was nice in the morning to step out and enjoy the morning air. Plus, this is nice if you are a smoker as you do not need to go downstairs to have a cigarette. On a side note, the hotel put our party in adjoining rooms (which we did not ask for) – I think they did so because the rooms were booked together. This normally would not be a problem but the door between the rooms was not thick enough to keep the noise out next door. We could hear each other’s conversations and movements. Also, the door does not stay closed so we had to ask for them to lock it for us. Overall, the room was functional and a comfortable stay.

Bathroom (photos included)
The bathroom was very small. Most bathrooms are small in European hotels however this was the smallest we have stayed in yet. You needed to walk in a little to the left then close the door to get to the toilet. The shower stall was small and for a taller/bigger person this could be uncomfortable. Our friends did have a bigger bathroom that had a tub so if you need the space ask for a room with a shower/tub combination. Otherwise, the bathroom was functional and clean. They also offered nice toiletries.

Amenities/Service
The best feature of this hotel is that the breakfast area is on the roof garden. It was a nice start every morning to eat breakfast outside. Although June is very hot, the mornings are comfortable to have breakfast outside but they also have a section inside to eat breakfast if you want to avoid the heat. The food was good with a nice variety – they offered eggs, bacon, cereal, toast, yogurt, cheese, juice/coffee, fruit salad and pastries.

We used the concierge to make reservations for us at restaurants we had chosen. We did not really use the hotel for tourist information or other services. We did inquire about laundry as we all packed light and found that they charged about €5 for each pant and something like €3 per shirt. We found this expensive for our budget although you can get it back the next day if you hand it in by 10 o’clock in the morning. We decided to do laundry ourselves and walked to a nearby (15 min walk) self-service laundry facility called Wash n’ Dry (English instructions posted in the facility). The Wash n’ Dry we used was located at Via Avignonesi 17 (near Metro Barberini). It has a 30 minute wash time and a 30 minute dry time. Each load cost €3 and for all four of us it took us 2 loads to wash 3 days worth of clothes. Plus, they have internet (you have to pay for it) while you wait.

We did use the internet service at the hotel. They have a laptop you use where you need to stay in the lobby. The cost was €3 for 30 minutes and €5 for one hour. And one last thing – when we checked-in we received a letter with basic information about breakfast/bar, etc and at the end of the letter it stated - ‘should you be particularly satisfied with our services we kindly ask you to communicate your favorable comments to the web site www.tripadvisor.com for the benefit of new clients.’ I thought this was funny because I used TA to select a hotel in Rome. However, I thought it was not appropriate to say ‘favorable comments’.

Overall, the hotel provided a comfortable/adequate stay within our budget constraints. This was our first time in Rome and this was a good choice for a 5 day stay in the city. We plan on coming back for a shorter amount of time and we will probably search for another accommodation. If you want to read further about this trip I have posted a ‘Trip Report’ on the Rome and Naples Forum.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EUEx-pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,271 in Rome
2,288 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#65 of 1,271 in Rome
1,232 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#82 of 1,271 in Rome
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Leon's Place Hotel
Leon's Place Hotel
#92 of 1,271 in Rome
636 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#49 of 1,271 in Rome
2,439 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcella Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcella Royal Hotel

Address: Via Flavia 106, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#110 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Family Hotel in Rome
#172 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $138 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marcella Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marcella Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcella Royal Rome
Hotel Marcella Royal
Marcella Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing