We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,966 results
Traveller rating
1,053
685
161
47
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,053
685
161
47
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar via flavia roof garden lovely hotel recommend this hotel within walking distance main attractions spanish steps quiet street trevi fountain pastries short break city break st peters reception staff around the corner breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
1,346 - 1,351 of 1,966 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We loved our 6-day stay at Marcella Royal. The staff was always smiling, very friendly and helpful. They made all our restaurant reservations for us, and reserved outside tables---alfresco dining in June is wonderful! The rooms are good size for a European hotel, and most importantly the rooms are very clean!
The breakfast terrace is amazingly beautiful with a great 360 degree view of the eternal city! We will definitely go back to Marcella Royal!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelingbahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2008

have just returned from a trip to Rome, Florence and Pisa and the hotel marcella royale was the best hotel we stayed in by far. It was a trip for a special birthday and the hotel made it that much more special. They recommended a hotel for a meal on the actual night - The Hi Res in Hotel Valdeira. would highly recommend this place for a special occasion. On our return for a nightcap in the rooftop terrace we were greeted by a rendition of Happy Birthday in English and Italian and glasses of champagne - agreat end to a perfect day. We had a junor suite which was superb - fantastic decor, brilliant service and superb airconditioning (very necessary) I really cannot fault this hotel - it was a superb experience and can't wait to go back there - we are planning our next trip already

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daisy090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We were really pleased with this hotel - it was clean, the decor was pleasant (fairly recently done I would think). The rooms are not massive but adequate for what we needed. The bathroom was modern - no bath but a really good power shower. The roof garden was lovely. If the weather is nice you can eat breakfast (which was better than most that we have had a these sorts of places) on the roof and it is also really nice to have a pre-dinner drink there and watch the sun set over Rome - great views over the city.

I am so glad that we used Tripadvisor - the comments were all really accurate. I wouldn't say this was ideal for people who want the sites right on their doorstep. The walks were managable but St Peters is about 50 mins walk, Trevi Fountain about 25 mins, Piazza Navona about 35 mins. The hotel will get you taxis and they are comparable to London prices

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrubbyGrocers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2008

just spent 3 days at this lovely hotel very clean ,and fresh sheets and towels everyday.Lovely comfortable room. Roof top restaurant brilliant wonderful views over rome great breakfast choice. Would stay here again was just perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank over50sNewMilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Having read many reviews we decided to book the Marcella and i have to say that i am pleased we did. Much has been said about the beautiful rooftop gardens in previous posts but having sampled the goods myself i can only endorse the good comments. Believe me you will do a lot of walking in Rome! So the chance to relax with a night cap with views above the city and pleasant piano music playing in the back ground is well worth the wait. Indeed what better way to start a day than to have a nice breakfast with the same views.
OK, the nitty gritty. You will need walking shoes although don't be afraid to use the metro/buses and taxis. The hotel bar is not cheap so expect to pay more euros for a beer than in many local restuarants (approx 8). A bottle of wine is better value!
The rooms are fine if a little small and we were on the sixth floor but were not disturbed by the noise from the restuarant above.
There is no iron so bring your own. The staff are curteous and helpful. It is a boutique hotel not a major chain so don't expect it to behave that way.
Overall i would definetely recommend the Marcella Royal to anyone who wants to be near enough to the action without the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews