We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,933)
Filter reviews
1,933 results
Traveller rating
1,032
678
157
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
678
157
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvia flaviaroof gardenlovely hotelrecommend this hotelwithin walking distancemain attractionsquiet streetspanish stepspastriestrevi fountainshort breakcity breakst petersreception staffaround the cornerbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
1,490 - 1,495 of 1,933 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2005

As a surprise birthday treat, my husband booked a City break to Rome where we stayed at the Marcella Royal Hotel. The hotel itself was a real treat. Our room had very pale powder blue walls with beautiful mirror details. We were pleased to find that the bathroom had a shower cubicle. Our chambermaid couldn't have been more helpful and the room was always spotless. The hotel has a 7th floor piano bar that doubled as the breakfast buffet of a morning and what a buffet!! You would have to be extremely fussy not to find something to your liking there.
The hotel is well situated for touring Rome - not in the centre but within walking distance of all the main sites. The receptionists were extremely helpful. I will certainly remember this holiday for a long time to come - and have wonderful photos to prove it.

Jan & George Siewertsen

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jan241142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2005

Just back from Rome, had a great time. This hotel is excellent. We stayed in Room 542 which was so comfortable with plenty of space. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast in the roof top restaurant was very good. We found hotel just perfect for touring Rome on Foot! Salvidore who works evenings in the piano bar was very professional and helpful. Would love to stay again... Well done to all the staff. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Navigator272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2005

We had heard all the negatives about Rome..too crowded/too dirty/too busy/traffic is awful/residents can be rude..4 days at Marcella Royal proved it all wrong..well, ok..the traffic is crazy..so don't drive and leave the challenge to your taxi driver..he could drive in any North American city with his eyes closed!Anyway, Rome is for walking!!
The Marcella was expensive by North American standards..280 Euro/night(420 Canadian/360 US) for a suite with a king bed and a single..but Rome's hotels aren't cheap and compared to big name hotels this one is reasonable and the service/cleanliness/desire to please is definately way beyond the norm.Oh yeah...it felt safe!..no worries!
the room was spotless. the buffet breakfast(included) was plentiful and casual. the dinners were from a narrow menu, but delicious. the roof top bar has wonderful night time views and attentive,caring staff. the front desk staff simply won't allow a concern on your part..they were wonderful!! Ask Michele,Pietro, and Dolar(sp?)where the locals eat..and they recommend great places/great food/fab. atmosphere. Because of these guys, and the quality of the hotel, we are already planning another Rome visit..and we will stay at Marcella..they care about you!!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paradise34304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2005

All I can say is Bravo, Bravo to all the staff at the Marcella. We spent nine nights and eight days here
and it was the best. From morning to night the service was excellent, breakfasts were wonderful and the location is good for restaurants and sites.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Companion23161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2005

We were only able to stay one night, but it was a highlight of a fabulous two-week trip through Greece and Italy. The staff was most accomodating; we arrived early in the day, but we were allowed to check in long before the "official" check-in time. The room's walls were coverd entirely in beautiful fabric. The bed linens were truly exquisite. The entire property was spotless - housekeeping staff everwhere, working hard. The hotel is in a great location. Close to points of interest, but just far enough off the noisiest roads. This is a jewel of a hotel (not too large!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Roam16386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews