We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a good location; good value too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a good location; good value too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Loved our stay at this hotel. Good, sensibly priced hotels can be hard to find in Rome in my experience. Stayed here on the basis of previous reviews and was not disappointed. Stayed in the annex: room was smallish, but well appointed and very clean. Very comfy beds! There were a small number of minor issues during our stay, but these were dealt with very efficiently by the friendly staff. Excellent, complimentary breakfast. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,163
    542
    76
    20
    2
See reviews for
474
1,712
100
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

What a lovely hotel. I booked on the basis of the reviews on here and we weren't disappointed. This is a fantastic hotel.

The staff were all very friendly and willing to give help wherever needed. They were a pleasure to deal with. The breakfast was lovely as well. Freshly cooked eggs are available alongside a number of different meats, breads and cheeses. There was also a selection of cereals and done yoghurt. Lovely.

Where this hotel really came into its own was with the little touches you often don't get with a large chain. They really take advantage of being a smallish hotel. The bedroom was set up really well with a complimentary plate of fruit as well as a fresh flower being used to decorated the bed. Maids were in twice a day to make sure everything was great. We were also particularly impressed with having some complimentary pastries/biscuits on our last night when we returned to our room along with a handwritten note from the manager thanking us for staying with them.

A great hotel. If we're in Rome again we'll be making the Barocco Hotel our first port of call.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I just don't get it. I read all these wonderful reviews, and this is the first time that Trip Advisor has let me down. First of all, there is no lobby. It's like checking into a motel. The people behind the desk are so unhelpful. At best they have 2 recommendations for dinner. Impossible to converse with them and it wasn't a language barrier. The room was so HOT, and the street so noisy, that you cannot open the windows. There is no air circulation, and sleep was impossible. Yes, there is a nice breakfast, in rooms with no windows. Yes, it was clean, and the bathroom was modern. At this time of year Rome is quite empty, as was this hotel. Do yourself a favor, and find an alternative.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sunlover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francocaruso, Direttore generale at Barocco Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I must contradict you, for the sake of clarity, and state that this is not the first time you have been let down by Trip Advisor. More precisely, by reading your profile, it is quite clear that you have been let down by Trip Advisor at every hotel you have stayed at, with the exception of only one. Your comments appear to be very similar in tone and description always awarding the hotels where you have stayed 1 or 2 stars.

I am writing to you whilst on a trip in London, after having been contacted by the Resident Manager of the Barocco Hotel in Rome. As I have always said to my staff, it is not important whether to be right or wrong. When a guest complains about the hotel, the very fact that the guest is complaining is, for us, an indication that we were unable to meet the needs of that guest and for this I am sorry.

Having said this, it is necessary to analyse the essence of your complaint:

- in regards to the level of friendliness of the Reception staff, this can be ascertained by the numerous comments we have received until today. Comments which show a high level of satisfaction when it comes to service and assistance;

- those who will book in the future can come and see for themselves that the breakfast room has 4 windows. We will publish on our facebook page a photos of this room;

- the street noise is very remote in room 52, which is located not on the main piazza but on a side street and on the 5th floor. In fact, after your arrival you requested to change the room and selected one which better satisfied your need for twin beds and quietness. Having said this, we are in the very heart of Rome and not in the countryside so some noise will always be present.

As always, I welcome the Trip Advisor Community to draw their own conclusions.

Franco Caruso
General Manager
Hotel Barocco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We just got back from a week at the Barocco. It was an absolutely lovely stay! The rooms were impeccable! The breakfast was far beyond our expectations with fresh meats and cheeses as well as fresh baked tarts and pastries and of course bread! The concierge was very helpful in helping us to pick out some local restaurants and meeting our every need! I will most definitely stay at the Barocco again. Also, the location is steps away from the Metro so if you are going to use the public transportation to get around it is perfect! I am not one to write reviews unless the experience was exceptional and this hotel is an exception!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gizmo16304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Have just returned from a three day trip to Rome and stayed at the Barocco. The service and accommodation was top notch. In particular the breakfast buffet was exceptional and kept us going all day. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marionjane59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from Rome, enjoying 7 wonderful nights at the Hotel Barocco. Thank you to all of the previous posters who spoke highly of this property. It is very well run, spotlessly clean, and ideally located. The entrance is off of a small side street, a few steps off of the Piazza Barberini. The "Barberini" Metro stop on the Red line, is a 2 minute walk away. (We saved a ton of $ using the Metro vs. taxis, unlike our last trip to Rome when we didn't know any better. Definitely use the Metro; it's clean, safe, and easy).
The entrance is nothing special; in fact, my first impression was "uh oh, I hope I didn't make a mistake". Our superior room was lovely, but a little small. When I inquired as to whether it was a superior or standard room, the woman who showed us to the room took my question as dissatisfaction and called the front desk. A few minutes later, we were shown a deluxe room and were told it was ours for the same rate. Excellent customer service and gorgeous room! Spacious room, beautiful furnishings, clean carpet (I walked around barefoot- big deal for me), king sized bed, large marble bath, quiet location. Also appreciated the plate of fresh fruit that welcomed us.
Breakfast was wonderful. Set up down one flight from the "lobby", you could help yourself to: fresh cheese and breads, jams and nutella, pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, juices, charcuterie and then sit down in one of several rooms, each set up with several clothed tables. A server would bring your coffee, etc.. and ask if you wanted anything off their "hot" menu - eggs, omelets, bacon. Really, really, nice.
With the exception of one concierge, who we referred to as "Mr. Happy", the staff was friendly and helpful in making and canceling dinner reservations, checking our flight, and arranging our transportation to and from the airport (we used their private airport transportation service both ways and were happy - driver was punctual, friendly, safe). It turned out that our flight home was canceled due to a strike, and we needed to stay another night. They were fully booked, but assured us they would help us find another room. The next morning, they received a cancellation and allowed us to stay another night in our beautiful room. Highly recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelefromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights our first time in Rome this February. We were very happy with the staff and the facilities. Loved the bed, the bathroom and the atmosphere of the whole place. Breakfast was perfect...both a continental selection of fruit, meats, cereals, yogurts and breads PLUS you can order toast, eggs, omelets. All complimentary and offered for a decent period of time. Excellent service in the breakfast room as well. The only drawback of the breakfast for us was it didn't start until 7 and as we are both early risers, we were unable to find a cup of coffee anywhere close to the hotel! Would be very desirable to even have a kettle and a few packets of instant for those of us seeking coffee outside of the set times placed in the lobby somewhere. We also found the room quite warm and were unable to modify the heat/air ourselves. We had to open a window for relief during the night which let in the noise of the busy city around us. The windows were, however, when closed, pretty good at keeping the noise out. Overall, I would say this hotel was a great place, we walked everywhere except once we took the metro home. I think the temperature issue in the room was due to timing, not needing a/c so it's not on but too warm for closed windows. I'd stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindaisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,463 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing