We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem at Piazza Barberini”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem at Piazza Barberini”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

You would never know there was a recently refurbished hotel in this building. The rooms are in very good shape. It is in a great location just off the piazza, only a few steps from the Metro. There is also a taxi stand at the piazza, so transportation is not a problem. A very generous breakfast is provided (optional eggs cooked to order), and the staff are very pleasant and professional. There is a nice (small) bar on the premises. A good size market is within walking distance. All the recommendations made by the front desk for restaurants, etc. were excellent. They were very responsive to any requests we made. Several nice restaurants are nearby (nearby Osteria Barberini is good for lunch or dinner - most tables downstairs).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardioM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,229
    556
    78
    20
    2
See reviews for
492
1,764
103
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Hi, I just came back from a 5 night stay at the Barocco Hotel. The superior double room we stayed in is quite a ok size for us though there are other guests who said it's quite small. Location of hotel is excellent as you can practically walk to all the places of interest or take a bus or the metro which is very near the hotel. Service of staff is excellent 2, they are all very willing to help especially the front desk staff and nothing is too much for them. the only draw back is there is no tea/coffee facilities in the room. Other than that, this is an excellent hotel to stay.

Breakfast is not 2 bad 2, choices are quite limited but ok for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Ever since my husband booked us here 2 years ago, I've been hard pressed to find another hotel in Rome as good as this one. This hotel has lived up to its quality time and again, and this time was no different. Unfortunately we could only stay for 2 nights, but each was perfect. Location is great, near everything (sites, dining, shopping, metro, taxi stand), you really don't need a car, but if you brought one, there is a parking garage about 3-4 blocks away (covered, secured) for 18euro per day. The room we got was near the elevator and I was a little wary, but the walls are so thick we couldn't hear the elevator at all! The room lived up to my expectations with the most comfortable bed, soft sheets/blankets, ample variety of pillows. The shower with its variety of light colors provided a relaxing rain-shower like feel, perfect after a day of sightseeing and exploring. We were there for my birthday and the staff left me a lovely note with small dainties with our turn-down service. Breakfast was extravagant as usual, with the wide selection of juices, yogurts, meats, cheeses, breads, veggies, fruits, pastries, breakfast cakes, AND cooked to order eggs/omelettes and bacon. Delightful staff, ever attentive and polite. LOVE this hotel and would really want to keep it a secret so I can always be sure to have a room available when I'm in town! Thank you again, Hotel Barocco, for making my birthday stay perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed 7 nights there recently, had excellent experience. The location just couldn't be better, metro is right at the corner, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountains, Pantheon, etc. are all withing walking distance. Room was a bit small, even with a junior suite, to us Americans, there was barely nowhere to sit in the room. Also noise level is quite high, especially late at night and early in the morning. Breakfast was really good, coffee was excellent, good food selection too, just not many fruits. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJNY603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The Hotel Barocco is elegant and scrupulously clean. Our room was delightful with every comfort. A great selection at breakfast which was included in the price. The staff were all extremely kind and helpful. The location was perfect, just 10 minutes walk from the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Via del Corso. We have visited Rome many times before but this is definitely the hotel of our choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I recently booked a 5 night stay at the Barocco Hotel as a gift for my father (who is over 60). While I cannot directly review the property particulars, I can provide feedback on the booking process, customer service and attention to detail. The staff at Barocco Hotel were EXTREMELY responsive. Living in the US and trying to book a hotel for someone else can be intimidating enough, but the email responsiveness and assurances that were provided exceeded expectations and made me feel comfortable with the process. I cannot understate how important this was to me and they definitely understood the importance as well as delivered 100%.

The trip involved my father traveling solo, so access to public transportation was the key factor in making the final decision (in addition to the positive feedback on Trip Advisor). I was concerned with the safety of the Termini metro stop (crowds, touristy, etc.), so choose this location.

My father's feedback from the trip was that the hotel was extremely close to the metro stop (right across the street), the staff was attentive/helpful/responsive and the breakfast was very good. He would recommend it and stay there again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BHill75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, VA
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A great place to stay. The best hotel for the money in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesMAshburn_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,672 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4,139 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing