We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, close to the station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Genova
Ranked #465 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, close to the station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel was close to all transport, very easy to get to the tourist spots. The staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast excellent, and lots of choices. The room was excellent and very roomy. The shower drain was blocked when we first arrived, but they fixed it promptly. The service at this hotel was excellent. Within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Be careful on the Metro. On our way to see the Vatican,we had our camera stolen traveling on the metro, and we were so cautious about thieves, or so we thought. So no photos. We stayed for seven nights, the price was excellent, the service was also excellent. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    304
    180
    65
    37
See reviews for
190
274
47
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed last month for the second time at this hotel for three nights. The location is very central close to the central station and the subway. So you can reach the Colosseum with two stops and also the area around the Spanish Steps (2 stops) or the museums of the Vatican (5 stops).
The surrounding area is full of restaurants, bars and shops - noisy at night, so ask for a room facing the back.
My room had every amenity I could wish for a three day stay and was compact, but clean and cozy.
What makes this hotel special is the kind staff working here.
Andrea from the reception was very kind, helpful and with a fabulous knowledge about what to see and to do in Rome - and how to do it the best way.
If you want to go to the Vatican museums - go early! Don´t miss the churches San Clemente near the Colosseum and Sant Agnese fuori le mure with catacombs and the stunning Baptisterio Santa Constanza (These are in Via Nomentana, a little away from the bustle of the city). Favourite places to eat: Osteria Corsi, near Pantheon - I come there every year, it is a place, where people from Rome eat their lunch, no fuss, but good cooking! Good for dinner is Il Duello" between Piazza Navona and Pantheon in a small side street. Best ice-cream ( for me better than Giolitti ) you can enjoy at "San Crispino" with two locations near Fontana di Trevi and one around the corner from Pantheon. In summer enjoy a coffee at the terrace of the coffeshop at the roof of the Musei Capitolini. You have all of Rome beyond your feet and you will never forget this view.
Back to Genova Hotel, I really recommend this for its central location and very friendly and helpful staff and I will return soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Via Cavour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

four of us( two adults and two children age 3 and 9) stayed there for three nights. The first two we had two double rooms. they are very small and harldy enough space to keep one suitcase around. They also donot have connecting rooms. We were in 1st floor(really the 2nd floor) facing the main street. We had hard time sleeping at night since we hear the metro, the street noise including half a dozen times really loud sirus in the middle of the night. i am 5'5 and 130lbs, but i can barely fiti in the shower, which gets flooded within 45 seconds. one has to clo the bathroom door to get into the shower or to use the toilet -- this tells you how small it really is. The room is quite old but ok. the third night we get a quad room which is definitely bigger, but the first room we were assigned to had terrible water leak from the ceiling, they changed us to another room in five min. The hotel is very well situated, about 5 min walk to the termini and 20 min to colosseo. Staff at the receptin desk is not very helpful but if you push harder, you may get some informatin out of them.Overall, this hotel offers convenient location but not anything near s four star hotel. We paid 280 euro for the quad.

Room Tip: definitely ask for a courtyard facing room at higher floor, if you get room109 or 110, ask for a dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivian318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Close to the train and bus terminal, and metro stop. Numerous restaurants and stores surrounding the hotel. The staff were very helpful with arranging transportation from the airport and to the cruise ship port. Very nice breakfast area with a good selection of items to chose from. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. Our room was large and the bathroom was spacious with a nice deep bathtub.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye-mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel with a friend and got an amazing holiday.The staff were friendly specially Andrea who was charming and helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front tend to be more noicy,so stay in another area except the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chieti, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My stay at the Hotel Genova was great! The room was very comfortable and the service was great! The employees were very efficient and professional! A special mention goes to Mr Andrea Tinto, who was always very helpful! I will definetely stay here again next time I'll find myself in Rome!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marijaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

In this day and age internet is no longer just a nice thing to have. At this hotel for 5 Euros an hour you could get poor internet connection at the far end of the lobby. It was not available in your room. I was occasionally able to get better access from surrounding hotels. It was maddening. The weekend staff, when we arrived were very rude. The weekday staff was better. I was part of a tour group and didn't have a choice about where I stayed, otherwise I would have been out of there after my second trip up three flights of stairs with the wrong key to my room. The lobby always smelled like smoke and it was up the stairs in the morning. Nothing else to do at night I guess. I would not go back or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1garrygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#516 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio Hotel
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#177 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#271 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#103 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Property: Hotel Genova
Address: Via Cavour 25, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#238 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genova Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing