We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Lirico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lirico Hotel
Ranked #215 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a city break to Rome in late May. We had a lovely time. We stayed at the Hotel Lirico. It was unusual in that reception was on the first floor up a large flight of stairs. After that were was a lift to the rooms. It was very freindly, and clean. The breakfast was good - not just the usual cold meats cake and croissants. My only complaint was that the room we had was dark. It was at the back of the hotel with only one window which had obscrued glass as it looked out into a quadrangle. The bed was very comfy, and there was always plenty of hot water. The location was very convenient. We really enjoyed our stay. Tony was very hospitable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front or side - not at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Lirico for 3 nights the second week of May, and I LOVED this hotel! It's very clean and furnished with old world Europe charm. It is very close to the main train station in Rome, as well as being centrally located. They had a wonderful continental breakfast with the BEST COFFEE than in any other hotel I stayed while in Italy. As a matter of fact, the coffee was as good as anything you could order in any cafe in Italy. I will definitely come back on my next trip to Rome.

The staff was also VERY helpful and accommodating

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We found this
hotel on Trip Advisor the welcome was excellent from Tony the front office manager and nothing was a problem from advice to dining and both reccomendations were excellent to every day assistance
easy for the hop on hop off bus route
Bathroom a little small but is good for the 3 s s s
There is a porter available for the stairs

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This has to be the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. First you have to climb very steep stairs with your luggage to even get into the hotel. Then, you have to step down to get in the room, step up to go to the bathroom. The room was very dark and like a dungeon.The room has no dressers, nor drawers. You need to insert your keycard to turn on the lights. If your partner goes outside, with the card, you sit in the dark until they reinsert the card. There are no washcloths nor kleenex. There is one little shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries, the rest you have to put on the floor. When I asked how to operate the safe, I was told there was a charge of 1.5 euros a day for the safe. When I asked for some ice, I was given a baggie with 12 individually encased ice cubes which I had to cut out with scissors. The rest laid on the glass top table to melt since I was given no container to put them in. I like a firm bed but this bed was like a concrete slab with some padding on top. Plus, I woke covered in bites of some kind all over my arms. I requested a wake-up call one morning to go on a tour and never received it (luckily I woke up in time).

Room Tip: There are many other hotels in the area to choose from far better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lex1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M R, Proprietario at Lirico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Dear Customer
We regret also because of its negative comment we care that our guests will find in our hotel as well at home.
Our reception is located on the 1st floor but this is reported on all websites and we still have a porter service to carry your luggage up to the customers of their room from morning till evening
80% of our rooms overlook the square of the Theater of Opera and consider a prison seems excessive, but we can think of to boost the 'lighting in some rooms.
The key cards are better than iron keys and you can have two copies if customers request it.
The key safe is a little extra but we can not lose the keys that customers often forget to return when they leave.
With regard to the mattresses were changed recently with the top models of MyForm Dorelan just to meet the needs of customers, but it is clear that we can not satisfy all
Our wake-up is automatic, but may have happened is that the goalkeeper did forget to put your request and we apologize.
We hope to have another opportunity to host it and give a better service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The hotel is located near the train station however it is on the second floor. the hotel is very modern and very clean. the staff at the front desk are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are not large but very confortable. The breakfast is very good and the coffe is great, any choice you want. A word of caution ,Lots of pick pockets in the area , two where robbed when we were near the hotel. they work in teams of 2 or more. Be careful on the metro and crowded buses.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay in September 2011. The staff, and Tony at the front desk are very informative and welcoming. Although, the rooms are small, understanding also this is Rome, our room was very comfortable, cozy and quiet. The breakfast room has much to offer, and open to cater to us before its operation hours, since we needed to departure early.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montazzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just come back from a long weekend in Rome staying at The Lirico Hotel. Very nice Hotel, clean and comfortable. Had everything we needed, good location and good price. Breakfast was nice and enough to see you through a day of tours and exploring. Would stay here again and recommend to anyone. Organised private transfers to and from the Airport in advance which I would highly recommend. It's 50 euro each way but well worth it and saves being faced with trying to master the buses and metro as soon as you step off the plane. An over all pleasant experience with this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loll_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#241 of 1,273 in Rome
1,561 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#475 of 1,273 in Rome
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#263 of 1,273 in Rome
927 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#206 of 1,273 in Rome
1,004 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#236 of 1,273 in Rome
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lirico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lirico Hotel

Address: Via del Viminale, 31 | Next to the Opera House, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#124 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#204 Business Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $70 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lirico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lirico is located close to Termini Railways Station, next to the Opera House - on the square overlook some our rooms. These are all air conditioned and furnished with wall fabrics, private bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV Sky, safe and free WiFi access. Reception and Bar are open 24 hours. Is possible to organize guided tours, transfers fron/to Airport or Port, museums or restaurants reservations, rent a car/scooter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lirico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lirico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing