We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearby the centre and little park”
Review of Edera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edera Hotel
Ranked #774 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
A TripAdvisor Member
“nearby the centre and little park”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

the staff is very friendly, the location is wonderfull, and for an city tripp THE place to be! But mind the beds...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    128
    117
    40
    49
See reviews for
61
138
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We booked a double room at Hotel Daniela, but there were some problems with the water and they send us to Hotel Edera. The location was even better than the first. The room was nice, clean and we had balcony. Breakfast was ok. The hotel has also wi-fi. The location is great, very close to Colosseum, metro station, Termini.
The only negative thing was that on our reservation was written that fee and taxes are included and at the reception they put on our invoice another fee.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank cosminutza24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Booked a double room through booking.com and got a cheap deal, around £33 pppn. (We were a little miffed to hear that we had to pay the tourist tax £2pppn as we were told it was already included but this was no big deal and possibly the fault of the agent rather than the hotel)

The staff were friendly and we encountered no problems, breakfast was standard for European hotels with cereal, croissants, rolls jams, ham and cheese everyday with fresh coffee.

The room was small and 2 single beds were shoved together but I'm beginning to realise this is fairly normal for budget hotels. The bathroom was clean and impressive with a new marble-looking finish.

One annoyance is the staff's habit of turning your air conditioning off while you are out so the room is always hot when you first get back, but we had a fairly powerful little machine in our little room so it cooled down quickly. I found a solution to this was hiding the remote although they must have got a spare one one of the days. Oh you also have to ask for the remote at reception which they will neglect to tell you but offer when you ask.

We wanted a certain standard of room because it was our little get-away and we wanted somewhere nice to come back to but the location was the most important thing to us as we planned on being out site-seeing all day every day, and the location is fantastic!!

Walking 30 seconds round the corner you can see the Colosseum and after a 5-10minute walk through Domus Aurea (Nero's garden) you are there! And there is a metro line at the Colosseum from which you can get to almost everywhere for a couple of Euros.

Not by any means a top hotel but would recommend for those on a budget as deals can be found that beat the price of some hostels!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serres, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I went in Rome in 03.02.2012 for the weekend with my girlfriend and a friendly couple. When we entered the hotel, a very friendly guy welcomed us and very quick he drove us to our rooms. Our room was under some kind of repairment so, he gave us another one in the 2nd floor wich was pretty comfortable and clean. The first one was on the 6th floor. My friends stayed on this floor. After the first day, everything seemed to be perfect, but the second there was no water in any tap of the hotel beacuse of the cold. We told the receptionist about the problem, and he said that they couldn't do anything with the excuse that the hole city was in the same situation. Third day and we still didn't have water. then, at the end of the day they offered us the chance to go to another hotel nearby, and give us a discount to our price for the two days for about 10euros per night. That was unacceptable, but we didn't knew our rights and it was very difficult to call anyewhere outside Italy. So, after a lot of negotiations with the manager herself, we had a discount of 15euros per night. That was the only black spot to our accomodation in Edera. The hotel is very close to the Colosseo, only 5minutes maximum on foot, and to the metro where you can easily visit any place in Rome.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasos_Serres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Just come back from a three nighter staying here. First impressions not great - entrance between two garages! Room looked tired, but clean, saying that the wallpaper was peeling at the joints, bathroom door woulkd not secure as the lock was broken, wardrobe doors would not close as one was not on its hinges properly, no control unit for the air-con and due to the low level we were at, had to keep the shutters closed with the windows ajar to keep the local moggies out. Towels etc could do with replacing as they were worn thin - again clean though. No in room info guide to attractions etc and no facilities to make a drink at all..Hotel provided an adequate continental breakfast [cheese, meats etc] but no bar or any other chance to get a drink [no room service etc]
To be honest, would be best described as a B&B than a 3* hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I am surprised to read the bad reviews for this hotel because we love it. We are staying here now and will have had 3 nights here altogether. The staff have been friendly and helpful and the room is very clean. It is much bigger than other ones we have stayed at on this trip. Our friends' room is a bit smaller but still sufficient. The A/C works fine in all our rooms, (there are 3 couples) and we are all very happy with the hotel. We can walk to most places, including the Colosseum. It really is in a great location and very quiet at night.
There is free Wi-Fi and safety deposit boxes at the front desk. They don't have a restaurant, apart from breakfast in the morning, but that is even better, because they have let us bring our own drinks and nibblies back and eat them in the courtyard out the back. There are plenty of nice cafes nearby for dinner.
Maybe we are not as fussy as some, because we are only here to sleep,the rest of the time we've been running around Rome. But we have found this hotel extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor. That is where we are staying and it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussietourists_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We are staying at this hotel right now. We would like to tell anyone who are still deciding whether to stay at this hotel or not to avoid it at all cost.

There were a lot of problems we encountered today. We are here in September so it is very HOT. The first problem we found was that we got a room was far smaller than it was promised on the reservation paper. So we asked the hotel staff (guy) to change the room. He first tried to convince us to take a room that looks like a storage room (transformed to a cabin). Since we did not agree to take that he changed our room to a larger one but with a broken air conditioner. We told him about the A/C so he sent us THE DIRECTOR which is a very old lady in party dress (high heels) who responded to us all in Italian which we did not understand at all. The director came to our room with a LADDER! and CLIMBED it to clean the A/C air filter, then she tried to convince us to stay in that room. The director and the reception always told us that there is no room left. But after we insisted that we cannot stay in that room, they can always find us a new one.

The room that we are currently staying is still smaller than what promised and got a broken bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moomoo8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Bled
Hotel Bled
#981 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Esquilino
Siviglia Hotel
Siviglia Hotel
#941 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Monti
Gallia Hotel
Gallia Hotel
#674 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Viminale
Hotel Viminale
#842 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#353 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Hotel San Giusto
#1,094 of 1,257 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edera Hotel

Property: Edera Hotel
Address: Via Angelo Poliziano 75, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #774 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Edera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edera Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing