We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in Rome”
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My wife and I had a lovely stay in Rome at Hotel Duca D'Alba. Elisa was very helpful with the reservation and confirmation. Our double room was small but well appointed and quiet. The free WiFi was solid. Breakfast was the best of the four hotels we visited on our three week visit to Italy. The location is fantastic - practically requiring you to walk past all of the great sights every day! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

It's a very nice 4 star hotel, very modern rooms, with balcony, nice breakfast..Very close to everything you want to see in Rome, the metro called Cavour station is just a few steps from the hotel..Highly recommended this one if you can afford the price of course but it's a very nice hotel you will not be disappointed..

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thanks for your review.
Our aim is to satisfy our guests, make themselves at home. Your pleasure repay us for all our efforts.
That's why your review is very important for us and encourages us to get better and better.
We hope to see you again soon.
The General Manager
Ruggero Giorgi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Fabulous hotel in a perfect location. Excellent rooms with all amenities - good towels, plenty of toiletries - and wonderful breakfast - sausages, scambled eggs and lovely crispy bacon along with fruit salad, cereals, cold meats and cheeses and a huge variety of breads and cakes. The staff were friendly and helpful and made dinner recommendations etc. There was tea/coffee and orange juice available each afternoon free of charge and many places to eat locally. The area felt very safe for two ladies travelling and everything was in walking distance. We took the metro from Termini to Cavour - one stop, one euro and the hotel it less than two minutes walk from the station. Also took the Alitalia bus from the airport to Termini which worked very well. One tip if visiting the Vatican book it online before you leave to save waiting for hours in the queues but only book the entrance fee not a guided tour. You will be better getting an audioguide when you get there so you can take your time going round, rather than the guided tour. We sped through all the museums we really wanted to look at with a guide speaking in broken english then spent an hour in the Raphael rooms before being chucked out into the sistine chapel. We had to go round again to see what we came for. All of Rome was wonderous and we can't wait to go back. Thank you Duca d'Alba for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 105 is a twin room with a little outside terrace and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

A 3 night stay, 25th March to the 28th, at the Duca d'Alba for my family of 4 did not disappoint ! The rooms were ultra clean, fabulous showers, crisp bed linen changed daily , soft and plenty bath towels, double sets of windows that kept street noise out , good air con ......and a fab location where one is able to walk to all major attractions, even the Vatican. The most reasonable restaurants are within the hotel area and all offer good Italian food......just keep to the side streets of this area where real Italians live and work and you will not go wrong. Once on the main streets your final food bill can double!! The hotel location is good because there are independent shops and artisans right next door from chocolate producers to wrought iron welders.....there is a real buzz at night where families meet outside. We felt perfectly safe at all times. The hotel staff were helpful and well organized , from the front desk to the smiling breakfast staff. The breakfast was good with lovely creamy scrambled eggs & crispy streaky bacon, fresh fruit , croissants etc........my only problem was with the croissants which were glazed in sugar!!! A minor dislike. I took advantage of the discount offerred directly booking via the hotel website.....an invoice was given as cash was handed over on the day of arrival. I would certainly stay at the Duca d' Alba again and never hesitate to recommend it. If you want a VERY clean room and bathroom , then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Just contact the hotel via e mail for advice......they are very helpful and understanding. our 2 roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days, from the minute we entered the front door we were treated really special. When we checked in we were asked if we would like a drink(tea/coffee,wine etc) this was brought to a lounge area, while the porter took our cases to our room. Then the receptionist showed us to our room, nothing was too much bother for the staff as we were enquiring about restaurants etc, they were extremely helpfull. Breakfast was very adequate sausages/bacon/egg/ham/chesse/fruit/cereal etc, rooms were small but we have stayed in smaller in europe, could not fault this hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it or staying in it again., It is very handy to Cavour station, but within walking distance from Termini

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We spent a long weekend in Rome at the Duca d'Alba Hotel and were positively impressed. I checked tripadvisor before booking the hotel, but the reality is even better than the reviews. The hotel is centrally located at just 5min walking distance from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Closeby there's also a subway station so we didn't have to use any taxi or car during our stay. Our room was furnished in an elegant way and all included services were absolutely brilliant. The hotel staff was extremely polite and helpful setting up a special dinner for our wedding anniversary. The price for our stay was very reasonable and included an excellent breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darioush_Afzali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Guided by the reviews on tripadvisor we booked a three night stay at Duca d'Alba. We were not disappointed. The hotel is easy to reach from Termini station, on foot or one stop by subway. It lies in a small street, just behind the busy Via Cavour, very close to mayor sites like the colosseum and the Forum. We stayed in room 107, with a window facing the street. The room is small, but everything we needed was there, and it was decorated just like in the pictures on the hotel website. The windows were perfectly sound proof, necessary because of the pub on the other side of the street. I booked the room through their website, receiving a discount when paying in cash at arrival. I payed the day after we arrived and received a proper receipt. The price was very reasonable for a hotel in Rome and included a, especially for a southern european country, excellent breakfast. I would definitly recommend this hotel, especially for a first time stay in Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#79 of 1,269 in Rome
201 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#93 of 1,269 in Rome
929 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#84 of 1,269 in Rome
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
FH Grand Hotel Palatino
#290 of 1,269 in Rome
1,673 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#143 of 1,269 in Rome
1,302 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#81 of 1,269 in Rome
2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $132 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing