We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Elegance”
Review of Duca D'Alba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Ranked #151 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Everything you'll read I the reviews posted here are true. My wife and I have stayed here four times now during our visits to Rome, and each time has been a treat.

The hotel is very well appointed, and while the rooms can be smaller than wished at times, the bathroom will leave nothing to be desired. In particular, the shower: you can either use the hand-held sprayer or the overhead - which is a really good one. Ultra-modern in design, the staff makes sure the one in your room is not just spotlessly clean, but well stocked with towels and shower items.

The service here is among the best. They will make reservations for you, arrange tours, a car - the staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and can speak a number of languages. Truly intercontinental, and an obvious destination for many people in Europe.

The breakfast is not just the usual fare, but also offers hot scrambled eggs and bacon. The espresso / cappuccino / americano machine is impressive, and they also offer blessed orange juice.

But what gets the two of us is the overall ambience of the place, a kind of quiet elegance that makes the Duca d'Alba not just a place to stay but an enjoyable memory of time spent in a truly quality hotel. There is a great deal of care - and pride - invested here, and it shows.

Hats off to Angelo and the staff of the Hotel Duca D'Alba!

Room Tip: The larger the room, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Allan L,
we are very happy to have loyal returning Guests as well as new ones experiencing Hotel Duca d'Alba for the first time. Rooms here are a warm and elegant accomodation in the heart of a district among the most ancient and authentic in the core of the Eternal City, every Guest has to be aware of this precious emotional situation. Our official website is very exhaustive in describing and offering all allocations, from small single rooms to large family rooms and Suites. Please explore it.
We are very proud of your full satisfaction and our Staff thanks you for the amazing words, Angelo is our Senior Front Officer and runs welcomes magnificently with his younger colleagues.
No need to say we would be happy to have you back to us once more.
Warm Regards,
R. Giorgi - Owner, Hotel Duca d'Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Started a 6 wk tour in Rome at this wonderful little hideaway. Great boutique hotel with nooks and crannies. Classy. Great staff. Perfect location. Great rooms, small but up to date and super clean. Great experience, albeit short. Would go back in a heartbeat. Great value.

Room Tip: high floor for view and sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank a lot, Bill B.
We thank you for recommending Hotel Duca d'Alba unreservedly. The exceptional location in the Heart of the wonderful, old Monti Area. The Staff, prompt and prepared. The rooms are those of a compact, elegant hotel as you say, nevertheless more rooms categories are available and choices can be made directly in our official website.
We would hence be happy to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
R. Giorgi - Owner, Hotel Duca d'Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in this lovely hotel a stone throw away from the colosseum and Roman forum.
Got lovely service and even a room upgrade as i was travelling with my wife and son.
Every attraction within walking distance and further places within reach of nearby metro. The eateries nearby were lovely.
"When in Rome Stay here"

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Martin m,
Thanks a lot for sharing your very good impressions of your stay at Hotel Duca d'Alba. As for upgrades, it is a pleasure for us when possible and when the complicated allocation backgroud allows. We recommend any possible Guest booking to our official website directly in order to grab the best rates and best individaul solutions.
When in Rome, please come back.
Sincerely,
R. Giorgi - Owner, Hotel Duca d'Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Nice hotel in fantastic location right near Colosseum. friendly staff and clean rooms good for the price. Cooked breakfast was unexpected and very nice. Only minus for us was no bar or roof area as it would have been nice to have a rest from all the sight seeing.

Room Tip: not really any difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wendyanddaveSouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear wendyanddaveSouthend,
Thanks for the full approval and sorry for the disappointment of the lack of a roof lounge, we have a very nice and intimate parlor where to enjoy a later drink and a rest.
Book directly on our official website to guarantee yourself a top room with balcony overlooking the quaint alley where we are, in the core of the Ancient Rome.
All rooms are very soft anw warm though.
We would be happy to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
R. Giorgi - Owner, Hotel Duca d'Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Quaint hotel in great location, less than 500m from the colosseum & 170m to metro station Cavour. We walked everywhere. Some of the rooms are very small but on our last night we stayed in a beautiful spacious room. Will return to this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear jua83.
we wish to thank you for the excellent review and for the promise to come back. We invite you to book your ideal solution directly on our official website.
Sincerely,
R. Giorgi - Owner, Hotel Duca d'Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Hotels in Italy (particularly Rome) have a budget airline “No Thrills” air about them unless you seriously spend. In this context, I found Duca D’Alba a pleasant stay. In summary: Very friendly staff; Clean room (we were in JR2 which is situated in the annex); perfect location (c10mins to Colosseum and right next to Cavour metro station).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for testifying to your good hotels choice, Sam S.
We are very happy Hotel Duca d'Alba did not disappoint you although we would recommend any possible traveller planing a trip to Rome to visit Hotels' official websites in order to find the best solutions: ours displays the most convenient rates and it is very clear and easy to use for a fast booking. Our Staff helps and then awaits you.
We would be happy you would ever come back.
Best Regards,
R. Giorgi - Owner, Hotel Duca d'Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a junior suite for a long weekend with our 11 year old daughter. Cannot fault anything - room (209) was recently refurbished, spacious and clean. Situated in a vibrant street it could be noisy but air conditioning and top quality windows meant no problem at night. No coffee in the room but phone reception for free freshly made coffee. Staff helpful and breakfast had lots of hot and cold options. Highly recommended, will come back !!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Russ189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducalba, Proprietario at Duca D'Alba Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Russ189,
Thanks for sharing your great time at Hotel Duca d'Alba. Our rooms are frequently refreshed and they span from small single to comfortable family rooms and Suites. Each comes with intimate and individual ambience and all them are wholly soundproof and A/C supplied. Thanks for enjoying and praising our breakfast feature.
Please do not hesitate to come back and book directly, everybody, on our official website for the best available rates and solutions.
Our attentive Staff is ready to help even before booking.
Sincerely,
R. Giorgi - Owner, Hotel Duca d'Alba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#137 of 1,271 in Rome
1,357 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#97 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Monti
Monti Palace Hotel
Monti Palace Hotel
#78 of 1,271 in Rome
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#85 of 1,271 in Rome
2,530 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#79 of 1,271 in Rome
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duca D'Alba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duca D'Alba Hotel

Address: Via Leonina 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#119 Family Hotel in Rome
#130 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $114 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duca D'Alba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duca D'Alba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duca d Alba Hotel
Hotel Duca d Alba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing