We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Papaya Female Hostel
Ranked #190 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. There was 2 computers for use. A kitchen area. 3 bathroom and another for the larger room. It's an all female hostel which is even more amazing. The lady was really nice when I checked in and showed me all the locations that I should go too. She also recommended a restaurant called Steak House which is just around the corner from the hostel and it was a superb restaurant. She even let me keep my keys after check out so that my luggage was stored in a my room and not the kitchen. Towels are a euro and all the girls there were really friendly when I was there. I felt safe and comfortable. Breakfast was also literally 10 steps to the left when you walked out the doors, they give you a pastry and hot drink. The rooms were warm, the pillow, bed and blankets were nice as well. Very clean rooms. The only downside are the bathroom, which depends on the types of girls that are there. Some of the sinks were clogged with hair, but they also have shampoo, conditioner, lotions, and even a hair dryer for everyone to use. Location was great as well, easy to find from the train station about a 15 minute so walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    23
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terracina, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Overall the experience was OK

The good stuff is: good location! in the city centre! i slept fine, the street is not too loud!
i loved the good free wi-fi connection ! Good to have a ticket to go to a bar near there to have breakfast in the morning. the girls in the hostels were super friendly and polite!

but: there never was someone of the hostel, in 20 hours i haven't seen no one at the desk...not at the check in or at the check out, so i wasn't able to rent any towel for 1 euro (like it is written to be possible) and also the other guests were a bit lost like i was!...( i used one of my t-shirts as a towel) it's like to be in a big flat with lots of girls, you ask advices to the ones who arrived before you!
AND
if you check in after 5pm and you are pretty tired ...this is what you have to do:
you have to ring to an other hotel in front of the Papaya !
so ....cross the road, ring the bell of Papavero hotel, walk 2 floor of steps with your heavy luggage, do the check in, then go downstair again ,cross the road, take the elevator and finally find your room and bed in the Papaya hostel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at this hostel based on a recommendation that I received from a fellow traveller. She told me about this cute little find close to Termini station, I googled it and booked a room for the night and I was not disappointed. It is clean, safe and lovely. The ideal place for a female, whether travelling alone or with friends.

I did get a little lost while trying to find the place but that was because I lost my card with the directions on a train ride and so I had to make a long distance call to my home in Trinidad for my sister to google the hotel website and give me the directions which were simple to follow.

Check in is in another building but the Managers are a couple of really cool Italians, LOL I gave them Trinidad money as a souvenir and they were so excited. Breakfast is downstairs at a restaurant around the corner, it was quite tasty. There is free Wifi available simply ask for the code as it is locked. There are bunk beds. I slept on the top bunk, since I am not thin, I felt sure my roomate would have to pray the entire night that the bed did not fall in with me on it and crush her but the beds are quite comfortable and very sturdy.

All in all, it is excellent value for money, comfortable, relaxing, safe, secure, friendly atmosphere and really close to Termini.

My only regret was that I did not stay longer but hopefully on my next visit I will.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemtrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Papaya is very well located and organized.
There, you can have help from Mounia, who is very friendly, to give you all the information you need.
This is a five star hostel with large rooms and a very comfortable bed, perfect for resting after the endless walks through the bella Rome.
Totally recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaque M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Spent three nights in Hostel Papaya, felt very safe bed was very comfortable and staff where extremely helpful and friendly, they give you a voucher to have breakfast in the nearby cafe, which staff where really friendly also, very good value for money, you get free internet access also, it was an all around great experience staying here and I would recommend to anybody. 5Stars

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindajulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Blue Hostel
Blue Hostel
#1 of 1,093 in Rome
438 reviews
Esquilino
Roman Holidays Hostel
Roman Holidays Hostel
#80 of 1,093 in Rome
86 reviews
Esquilino
Coconuts Female Hostel
Coconuts Female Hostel
#522 of 1,093 in Rome
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#18 of 1,093 in Rome
2,068 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#382 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papaya Female Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaya Female Hostel

Property: Papaya Female Hostel
Address: Via Castelfidardo 31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing