We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Hotel Artemide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Artemide
Ranked #8 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed there as a couple just before xmas, i couldn't recommand it enough. Free mini bar, staff very friendly and very helpful, views from the top floor bar/restaurant are great.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceve85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,387 - 4,393 of 6,861 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed at the Artemide in mid February. The hotel is located approx 20 minutes walk to the Colosseum/ Forums and 15 minutes from the Spanish Steps area. Even though, the walking times are not long to many of the main tourist sites , however if you are travelling with young children it may not suit you due to the extra foot time to get to them. If your interested in going to the Vatican you can avail of the underground (close by), taxi or bus. Walking is a good 45 minutes-hour (for adults).

The area around the hotel is fine; it is on a street with small stores and a few bars. There is also a small supermarket and pharmacy across the street. Although, there is not a huge selection of restaurants in the area and require some hunting down.

I booked this hotel based on the amount of positive reviews on Tripadvisor and I would have loved to give this hotel a 5 star review, however a few things let this hotel down and stop it from been the top class hotel it could be.

So what are the positives?

1) Nice and well decorated hotel.
2) Extremely friendly and helpful floor staff (staff in the blue jackets)
3) Helpful check in staff.
4) Nice rooms, a bit small (for more than 2 people). {We had a triple room}
5) Excellent breakfast area and very helpful breakfast staff.
6) Free mini bar!
7) Welcome Fruit in room on arrival.
8) Welcome drinks.

So why not 5 stars?

We were travelling with 2 children, 1 is a toddler and therefore we had pre-ordered a cot. The cot was perfectly prepared on arrival. However, the following morning the baby blanket in the cot was replace with a towel!! Yes - A TOWEL! It was not a mistake as it was under the bed sheet! This was totally unacceptable! I did request another blanket and one was quickly sent up. However, for a hotel in this calibre, it is just inexcusable! I would not expect this in motorway hotel let alone a 4 star hotel!

Few other small points, the toilet supplies (shampoo, bath foam etc) were not topped up each day, the bar staff could be a bit more polite and the room service menu is very limited.

Rome can be expensive in relation to hotels (especially at the upper end), so is this hotel worth the cost? We got a 3 for 2 deal which was fantastic, however if I'd paid full price I would have been disappointed especially with the size of the room (for the cost) and the incident with the baby cot. Others have said that the rooms are spacious, possibly for a couple, but the triple room did not appear to be much larger. I assume suits are larger and therefore maybe more suited if you’re staying with children.

Would I stay here again? As a couple yes, especially if the main tourist sites are not the main focus of your trip. With children - No, due to the distance to the main tourist sites/parks etc and the room size.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Artemide, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear guest,

We’ve thoroughly investigated the issue you’ve reported with the towel found on the baby cot and we’d like to share our conclusions with you.
When preparing a baby cot it is our regular procedure to always place a towel between the mattress and the bottom sheet, for enhanced hygiene and comfort. The baby cot is completed, naturally, with another sheet and a baby blanket or duvet. The housekeeping supervisor reports that on the arrival day she prepared the baby cot herself. On the second morning the bed linen on the baby cot was completely replaced and the bed was made as per usual procedure. We are sorry that you were left under this impression but, as you well noted, the towel was found under the sheet, therefore, it wasn’t the housekeeper’s intention to replace the blanket with the towel. This would be totally unacceptable to our high service standards.

Regarding the toiletries, we provide a variable amount of each type, according to room occupancy and these are replaced daily. As always, if asked, our front-office would have happily provided you with an extra few.

You also mention that you found the room to be a bit small for 3 people and a toddler. As we’ve mentioned in previous replies, we offer different room types so that, upon booking, every guest can choose according to their needs and requirements. Probably, in your case, we would recommend booking a Family Room instead of a Triple Room. We assure you these rooms are much more spacious and comfortable for families with children. Furthermore, it is our policy to be as clear and precise as possible, so on our website each room type is illustrated with photos and sizes in sq/m. We take pride in the fact that a vast majority of our guests feel they are getting great value for money when they choose us. We believe that is our excellent service that sets us apart amongst the 4 star accommodation offered in Rome.

Just a quick word regarding our room service menu... This service is available everyday from 7 a.m. to midnight, and guests can order breakfast (the same choice we have on offer on breakfast room), snacks and sandwiches, lunch and dinner (choice of starters, salads, pasta dishes, main courses, desserts and fruits) and a selection of hot and cold drinks. There’s also a kids’ menu available, with dishes that cater to our little guests’ tastes. Naturally, these are not as complete as our restaurant’s. The room service menu was elaborated having in mind the average travellers’ needs and tastes, but because we know everyone is different our kitchen can prepare alternative dishes upon request.

Finally, we are sorry to hear that you felt that the bar staff was impolite; it would have been useful to have a bit more details from you as we value every feedback as an important tool for improvement. We thank you for sharing your opinions on our property and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had a fantastic 4 night stay at Hotel Artemide in early February. We were upgraded to a superior twin room, which was very spacious, spotlessly clean and was very quiet (apart from a bit of noise from the nearby lift). The free mini bar was a great touch - bottled water and snacks were perfect when we got back after a full day of sightseeing.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The snow in Rome while we were there meant that the Colosseum (for which we had pre-booked tickets) was closed for a few days. We therefore had to change our tickets and the hotel reception were more than happy to help by printing out the new tickets emailed to us by the ticket agency. Staff at breakfast were very helpful and attentive. Breakfast itself was fantastic - lots of choice, with all tastes catered for.

The hotel is perfectly located for sightseeing, with the Trevi Fountain, Colosseum and Pantheon within 15 minutes walk. Even the Vatican was only a pleasant 45 minute walk away. The hotel is on a main road, but we heard no noise from this and it is a great location, with lots of places to eat within 5-10 minutes walk.

We have already recommended the Hotel Artemide to friends and family as it offers everything you could want for a city break in Rome: great location, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I and two friends have just returned from Rome and felt the necessity to congratulate the Hotel Artemide on what was an excellent stay.
The hotel is located within easy access of the Spanish Steps etc, has good facilities, is very clean and has some of the most helpful and friendly staff I have encountered. Nothing seemed too much to ask and was provided in unnaffected way.
Well done Hotel Artemide! This is our second stay and we look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eoghain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

For some reasons, it seems that service personnel in Italy aren't very friendly towards Asians. Upon reaching Rome, we were intially very disappointed by the attitude of the custom staff and thought that we will be receiving similar attitude throughout. But the warm and friendly hotel porter and reception staff made us felt otherwise and also felt at home.We booked for 5 nights and was upgraded to the Superior Room. Although the same breakfast was served throughout the 5 days, it was fantastic with a good range of cold and hot meat, cereals, salads, preserved fruits, pastries, etc. I actually enjoyed the breakfast the most. The hotel is just about 10 minutes walk to the Termini, but the cold weather made it torturing to walk.(we were there during the unexpected snow period). Had the weather been better, you could really walk and didn't even realise that you have reached a major attraction, as you will be so distracted by the beauty of the city around you!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room(but without any view), look for room 112.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerope28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A clean, well furnished hotel with excellent and efficient service. I disagree with a previous comment that the hotel isn't in a good place for sightseeing - it is located centrally just 10 mins walk from the Colloseum, the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain and the Termini station. In fact I cant imagine how a hotel could be more central to all areas.

Our room was a decent size, quiet and very clean with a safe. The wardrobe was small but not an issue unless you're staying more than 4 or 5 nights and need to store lots of clothes. Tea and coffee facilities are included in the room along with nuts, biscuits and a mini bar with juice, water, beer and coke/sprite. All these (including the mini bar) are included free of charge and replenished daily. The hotel has a lovely little bar with reasonably priced drinks and they give you a voucher when you arrive for a free coffee or Prosecco during your stay. Breakfast (also included) is reasonable - the usual hot food buffet selection as well as lots of pastries, fruit, museli and good coffee.

All the staff were extremely helpful. They organised sightseeing visits, gave us directions and organised a reasonably priced car to take us back to the airport. We also enjoyed free internet and they allowed us to use the business centre to print our boarding passes (also at no charge).

Its unusual to stay in a hotel where pretty much everything is included in the price. They arent looking to make extra money out of you at every turn like most hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel has no frills rooms which are smaller and a much lower price. We chose a regular double wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at the Artemide Hotel for 1 night in Dec and this was THE most disappointing hotel during our entire stay in Italy. The room was extremely small and cramped with a bathroom to match. I have never felt more claustophobic in a hotel room. The location wasn't bad considering that we had to get to the airport pretty early in the morning. I wouldn't recommend this location if you are planning on sightseeing. The only reason I have given an average ranking is because of the service. The staff was extremely courteous and even packed us a light breakfast at 4 am when we checked out. Still for the price we paid, I don't think it was a good value.

Room Tip: Termini area is very noisy and you should ask for a room that doesn't face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RomeGR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Artemide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinions about our hotel. It is very important to us to know our guests opinions.

However, we feel obliged to address some of the issues you mention on your review. We believe the prices we propose are in line with other 4 star hotels in Rome. These might be high because Rome is one of the most visited cities in the world and this naturally leads to an increase in prices. Even so, the vast majority of our guests still feel they are getting great value for money.

Room sizes vary greatly, as we offer different room types to satisfy every guests’ need – from small “no frills” rooms to suites and even Honey Moon suite. Not knowing for sure which room tipology you’ve booked we suspect it might have been a Small Double room. As we’ve mentioned in previous replies, room size is explained in our website and all sales channels we work with, with actual sq/m and illustrated with pictures. We strongly invite all guests to read the room description and look carefully at the pictures; it is very important to us to be as transparent and as unbiased as possible, so that every guest can make an informed decision.

Just a quick note about where we are sited. Our hotel is conveniently located next to Repubblica metro station, but you can also easily reach all main attractions by foot. And this is something our guests always mention as a plus. Of course, it all depends if you are happy walking or if you prefer moving around in public transportation. In any case, our front office colleagues would be happy to tell you about short cuts that would take you where you wanted to go much quicker.

Finally, we would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff and the service they strive to offer everyday; we proud ourselves to always put our guests first and we believe that sets us apart. We regret that you only had one night to enjoy all we have to offer, but we would be delighted to welcome you again and hopefully change your perception of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,276 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,269 in Rome
1,376 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,269 in Rome
3,626 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,269 in Rome
746 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artemide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artemide

Address: Via Nazionale, 22, 98043 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rome
#2 Business Hotel in Rome
#2 Spa Hotel in Rome
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $227 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artemide 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Artemide, your 4-star hotel in downtown Rome! Just a stone's throw away from the Trevi Fountain, the Colosseum or the Spanish Steps, Artemide is right in the heart of Via Nazionale, a lively and bright street, with plenty of shops to choose from. Within walking distance of Termini Train Station and with the metro station Repubblica at just 100 metres, the Artemide Hotel is the perfect starting point for discovering the Eternal City. Free mini-bar and wi-fi connection in every room, and a fully-equipped gym are just some of the perks we offer our guests. Also, make sure not to miss the Artemís Spa to dedicate a moment for your well-being and enjoy individual or couples massages. And to complete the experience, don't miss the Ambrosia Rooftop Restaurant & Bar, on the 7th floor of the hotel, with its magnificent view over the Rome' skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artemide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Artemide Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing