We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Residenza
Ranked #321 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Came to this place with my family. Breakfast is the worst breakfast I have had, considering the price we paid. the staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful, un-professional.The rooms we found to be very cramped and a littje dirty.Its amazing the rates they charge for so little in return.
Be aware, there are better rooms and hotel in Rome I am sure for the same rates.
What a big mistake coming here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    137
    44
    13
    13
See reviews for
112
188
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

In late November, we and another couple stayed four nights at La Residenza, both in suites with balconies overlooking Via Emilia. On foot, the location's a leisurely 10 minutes to the top of the Spanish steps, 5 minutes to the Trevi Fountain, a block to the upscale Via Veneto area, and, for Americans, a couple blocks from the Embassy. It's about a 15 minute window shopping stroll into the heart of the main tourist and shopping areas. There are a number of overpriced touristy restaurants on Via Veneto, but checking with the friendly staff will get you into some other spots that have a more local ambiance and reasonable price. Don't be paying 16 Euro for spaghetti pomodoro.

Our room ,104, was large and nicely decorated with a large bathroom, especially by European standards, and a small sitting room. The other large suite, 204, didn't have a separate sitting room, but substituted a larger balcony; great during good weather. The "double" bed was huge, larger across than a king size. It appears to be two smaller mattresses pushed together, though there was no gap between the two.

The hotel staff was unfailingly helpful and knowledgeable. We took a cab back to the airport, which was quick especially during the rush hour afternoon. Note that there is a club directly across the street for entertaining men, but thankfully, we heard a rucus only once during the 4 nights. If you are in the more crowded areas of Rome, the noise can be unending at night.

Breakfast was great for Italy. They set out a number of items, including scrambled eggs, sausages and various vegetables that can be warmed up on two "hot plate areas" by the friendly staff when requested. They'll also make fried eggs to order and fresh coffee including espresso or capuccino. I recommend that fresh coffee. Note: be careful when pouring your juice - it can flow more quickly than expected. There's a nice selection of seasonal fruit, cereals, sliced meats and fresh bread.

Our visit was late November, off season, so we paid 180 Euro per night, but I'm sure it's more during the high season periods. Still inexpensive compared to other hotel in the area. La Residenza is for those who want a quiet sedate place to stay away from the Roman crowds after the touring is over for the day. It's still fast and easy to get to the centro by taxi or bus (cheaper) when you're tired of walking.

Room Tip: There are just a few rooms with balconies, well worth it if you want access outside. The back rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marchelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We spent four nights here in early November and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Staff were very helpful, from recommending and making reservations for dinners, giving directions and arranging transport. The room was much larger than expected with a large bathroom. It was in a quiet location (yes there was a lap dancing club opposite but this didn't cause any noise or trouble) within easy walking distance to the main sights. Nothing was too much trouble and we would very happily return again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AW67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at La Residenza from 14th -18th October. The location was great - a quiet road but well situated for most of the sights and public transport. The reception staff couldn't have been more knowledgeable and helpful which greatly helped and enhanced our first visit to this amazing city. The decor and furniture are not modern but it is well kept and very pleasant. We enjoyed the welcome cocktail party on Friday night - a very nice gesture. Our room was huge. It was a bit quirky but we loved it - particulary the huge balcony! The breakfast included in the price was more than adequate (good, fresh coffee was available from a machine if you know to ask!) although seating in the dining room was a bit limited and we did have to wait for a free table one morning.

Room Tip: We heard that the best rooms were on the 5th floor but we had no complaints about the one we had on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey-Debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed here on a recent trip to Rome for one night. Near the Villa Borghese park, this part of town was quiet and pretty upscale. The hotel looks fairly recently updated on the ground floor but the rooms look a bit warn. Our double room on the third floor had the most massive bed! I think it was two doubles pushed together and is likely what you get if you ask for a triple (because I'm fairly certain that the couch pulls out). It was mostly full of middle-aged Americans when we were there.

The breakfast had a large selection and two waiters. It's included in the cost of the room. I don't have any serious qualms with the place except that it's pretty expensive for what you get. For 220 per night (Euro), I would expect something a bit fancier, but Rome is a pretty expensive city and this is pretty par for the course I'd imagine. Like most other hotels in Europe, the bed is hard and the elevator tiny. Via Emilia doesn't show up on many of the big city maps, so it might be hard to find.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnieLou619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I wish I had done this sooner, but we loved our stay at La Residenza. It was centrally located, but 1 block off the main drag, so very quiet. It felt more like one's own home (or castle!). Great service...just a really lucky choice and certainly enhanced our stay in Rome.

Room Tip: We were in 206...old wooden shutters opened out over the front courtyard. Very quaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heavens2betsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We actually had a lovely experience at this hotel. Our room was spacious and we had a private patio with a table. The bathroom shower was terrific. The toilet was a bit cramped the way it was situated, but that's Europe! The staff were very helpful. And we enjoyed the breakfast, however I must agree with other reviews that the tables were a bit cramped. But the on the griddle they will make you whatever eggs you like, and we found the breakfast to be above good.

Room Tip: Ask for a patio if you want to have some hors d'oeuvres
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheeni924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Residenza A
Residenza A
#481 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#329 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#264 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#289 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#133 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#169 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza

Property: La Residenza
Address: Via Emilia 22-24, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#174 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#185 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel Rome
La Residenza Rome
Residenza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing