We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little boutique stay”
Review of Hotel Cortina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cortina
Ranked #59 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic little boutique stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Angelo and his staff made us most welcome and accommodated all our requests without trouble. The rooms were very nice - modern and well appointed. The locaton is very convenient. Don't listen to any adverse comments about the "small" elevator, ok, its small compared to modern chain hotels but it's old fashioned and that is half the fun!! We easily fitted 4 people at one time. We were above the Irish pub and stayed over the weekend as well - no adverse noise. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed it and would stay again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    203
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
183
294
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is rather an elegant little hotel located on Floor 1 within a residential building, with another hotel on an upper floor. Our room, which was no.1, had twin beds which were pushed together to create a double, and were quite comfortable. Extra pillows were available in the large wardrobe which also contained a small safe. Lots of hangers were available. The room was spotless.

The room itself was large by Rome standards in the 3-star class, with adequate storage for luggage. The bathroom was two steps up and unless you remembered that during the night, they could be a hazard. The tiles could use replacing as there was mold in the seams. Toilet flush was weak.

Overall though, I liked this place: the concierges were very helpful, the breakfast room with its Arabian Nights tented ceiling boasted an excellent breakfast, the location was central enough that taxis were not needed to visit, for example, the Forum. Target, a very good, more formal restaurant than the sports' bar located beside the hotel was a 5-minute-walk. Quality fruit and drink could be had from a street vendor less than a block away to stock the small fridge.

There was quite a bit of outside street noise: the window for this room faces a sidestreet and people seem to congregate there, but most of it was over by midnight. Earplugs are always necessary for Rome!

The concierge held our bags and provided a late check-out for us. The friends with whom we travelled had room 3 and found that it was all bed and no room for much else. I suggest room one for optimum space.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureNow49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

This was a nice little hotel tucked away a short walk to metro lines and Termini station. While the beds were a bit firm and the pillows a little lacking, the proximity to transportation and personal service more than made up for it. They held our large bags for 4 days as we toured other coastal locations before returning to Rome. I highly recommend having the front desk set up a taxi to and from the airport. Room 4 is nice and spacious, but beware the steps in Room 3. Many a time they caught me off guard and sent me stumbling. Like most places in Rome, the streets are lively and result in the windows being closed most of the time, but with air conditioning it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RochJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We spent 6 days at the Cortina Hotel in Rome before taking a 11 day cruise. I booked this hotel from the reviews on tripadvisor. This was our first time to Europe, and this hotel was nothing short of excellent! A thank you goes out to Angelo and his wonderful staff. I heard European hotel rooms were very small, not at this hotel! We were very happy with the size of the room and bath, which I might add, were very very clean. We enjoyed our free breakfast every morning, we found few Americans in this hotel, but plenty of Canadians and Australians, which we loved talking to at breakfast. We were told by friends to get a rail and bus pass, but when we started walking, we found almost everything in easy walking distance from the hotel. It takes a while to figure out how to get across the streets, I have never seen such wild driving, but since all their cars showed no damage, I think they must be the best drivers in the world! We would definitely stay at the Cortina Hotel again, and recommend it to our friends. Steve & Jean, Stockton, Ca

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10. No view, but also no street noise which some reviews complained about. The bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatm8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Excellent location - close to the Metro and within walking distance of many of the sights. We stayed in Apartment B and were completely satisfied. Clean and spacious with a lovely little terrace. The staff was gracious and very helpful with maps and directions. We would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Excellent location close to train,bus etc. and all main attractions in Rome. Quiet, spacious, free WiFi, outdoor balcony, (no views). Manageent very polite and helpful. Basic continental breakfast included. Kitchen allows for basic self catering. Expresso machine was great in the morning. Would stay again. Cash only payment for the appartment.

Room Tip: The Appartment is associated withthe Hotel but located in another building around the corner. Break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael4067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

As I was travelling alone on this trip, so I stayed in a small room but it was very clean & cosy. The hotel's location was excellent as the metro station & train terminal were close by. The staff were very friendly & helpful.
One single journey by express train from Rome airport to the terminal cost 14 Euros. It took approximately 15 mins (with baggages) walking from the terminal to Hotel Cortina. On my way back from Hotel Cortina to the airport, Hotel arranged me a nice car & it cost around 40 Euros.
Though I paid a little bit more but it save me all the hustles as I had shopped a lot!

Room Tip: Try to to book the hotel apartment rooms earlier if u don't mind to pay a littel bit more as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QiuTaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#126 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#67 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#130 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#58 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortina

Property: Hotel Cortina
Address: Via Nazionale 18, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rome
#99 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cortina 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An excellent departure point to visit the city, the Hotel Cortina is situated in Via Nazionale right in the centre and a short walk from Trevi Fountain, the Coliseum, Piazza Venezia, Roman Forum and the Spanish Steps. You can easly reach the Vatican City and the most important monuments and the shopping district. The main bus and underground station are nearbay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing