We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Adventure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dei Mellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Dei Mellini
Ranked #69 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“City Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The hotel Dei Mellini was a perfect sanctuary after a hectic day sightseeing in fantastic Rome.
The rooms were spotless and although some comments on trip advisor said they were small unless you have come to Rome to spend time in your room they are more than adequate.
The staff are very friendly and so helpful we purchased a bottle of wine from a local shop and asked if they would open for us and they even gave us wine glasses to use, they make you feel almost at home ! and the buffet breakfast was served until 11.00 so no rushing if you wanted a lie in.
The walk into the centre of Rome (or hop on/off bus) is approx. 10 mins across the river Tiber , overall a fantastic stay and a big thank you to the staff of the Dei Mellini.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cousinsreunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    524
    102
    21
    12
See reviews for
274
740
28
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We were met by very smart and helpful staff who spoke very good english. Having booked a deluxe room via the BA.Com site we were disappointed with the room; it was on the small size with no view other than the small internal courtyard area. We decided to upgrade at a cost of some 55 Euro per night and it was well worth it! We had far more space and a good view. We think the hotel could benefit from updating some of their fittings/furniture (in the rooms themselves) - the carpet and bathroom in particular looked tired. Don't be surprised when you find no tea/coffee facilities - it seems that is the custom in Italy. On the plus side the hotel is well situated and has a nice ambience. Breakfast whilst limited in choice (on the hot food) was nicely presented and the eating area very clean.

The staff presented us with a complimentary bottle of white sparkling wine - of a nice quality on our arrival as a newly married couple - which was really a nice touch. It was delivered to our room!

The weather was very good during our stay - 24/25C on one day but the air-con was not functioning in the room. When we inquired we were advised that the air-con service is not activated at this time of year! This is rather odd as shouldn't this be a personal choice?

Hotel is well situated for local sites and good places to eat.

Pete & Sue

Room Tip: Strongly suggest you upgrade from the basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Though it looks like a business hotel, the Dei Mellini is perfect for visiting Rome; it's in a quiet side street outside the main tourist area but only a short walk from most of the most important monuments and sites. Rooms are modern and comfortable though standard rooms are rather small; junior suites are excellent in size and equipment though obviously more expensive. Though it doesn't have a restaurant as such (apart from the buffet breakfast room), there is a bar and one can get a snack or light meal there or in one's room. Reception staff helpful; they will make bookings or organise any particular activity or trip wanted.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolphin611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BATTLE ENGLAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Staff were excellent. Very helpful. Good recommendations to local restaurants. Good location for our needs. Room was clean, well decorated, bed good. It would be very difficult to find fault with this property. Breakfast buffet very good too. We would return if we were in Rome again.. As an aside I am associated with the hotel business and therefore very critical.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller1066-70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My family of four stayed here in two adjoining rooms at Easter 2012. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The rooms were large and clean. The location was slightly outside most of the tourist sites but well located as we could walk to everything. The service was excellent - friendly, helpful, quick. The only let down was the food. There is no restaurant but there is bar food and a room service for snacks which we ordered the first evening as we were too exhausted from walking all day to go out again. The food was revolting! Breakfast was served in the breakfast room and was also horrible. Depending on the day the scrambled eggs were either like chopped up hard boiled eggs, or watery. The choice was limited. Having said that the rest was lovely, although expensive. The roof garden was gorgeous! And the gym was small but good.

Room Tip: We were first given two rooms apart from each other although we had booked two rooms at the same tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spiceylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for a week over Easter. It's on a quiet side street, but not too far away from anything. 10 min walks take you to the Vatican, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navonna and the metro - the 87 bus to the Colusseum 2 mins away. Plenty of good restaurants in the surrounding streets. Staff friendly and helpful. And the ShuttleBus fromt the airport (E8 pp each way) stops 5 mins walk away - perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OriginalJerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We do not say this lightly but this is the best hotel we have ever stepped foot in, let alone stayed in. We decided to stay at the Mellini following the reviews we found on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The breakfast is fantastic, the hotel is clean and the staff go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable and as comfortable as possible. The hotel is in a great location on a nice quiet street. If you are travelling to Rome Dei Mellini is a must.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SteAndHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#52 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#80 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#60 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Mellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Mellini

Property: Hotel Dei Mellini
Address: Via Muzio Clementi 81, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#60 Family Hotel in Rome
#82 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#211 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Mellini 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel dei Mellini, with his great location in the centre of Rome, only 10 minutes by foot to via Condotti (considered the best shopping area in tow),13 minutes to the Spanish Steps and the Vatican, is really the right address to be in Rome. In the quiet neighbourhood you will find many nice and cosy restaurants and bars.The hotel has a total of 80 rooms (superior, de luxe, junior suite and suite), 2 meeting rooms up to 70 people per room, a nice open terrace available also for private party, a cafeteria overlooking the inside patio and on the last floor of the hotel, overlooking the terrace you will can enjoy the "mellini gym". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dei Mellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Mellini Rome
Dei Mellini Hotel Rome
Dei Hotel Mellini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing