We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-02
Expedia.com
US$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-07-02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Website
US$194
US$114
View deal
Hotels.comUS$157
PricelineUS$132
TravelocityUS$157
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,949)
Filter reviews
1,951 results
Traveller rating
1,159
631
123
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,159
631
123
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spanish steps within walking distance great hotel quiet street tiber river recommend this hotel vatican city main attractions pastries trip to rome room was large superior room cold meats mini bar on foot the air conditioning hotel is situated
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,951 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2020 via mobile

This hotel is located near the Vatican and other major sights. Most of them are within walking distance. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I was even upgraded free of charge. Room and bathroom were very clean.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank boudewijnv502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Direzione, General Manager at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

In Rome is important to choose a god location, Hotel dei Mellini is in the middle of all historic sites and in a very safe are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2020

Parking in Rome was never going to be easy and this was a concern as we approached the hotel. Thankfully an area right outside the hotel was coned off and we were allowed to park there after Luisa D'Alessandri removed them. This was our first encounter with Luisa and she was this helpful and accommodating for the rest of our stay.
The room was lovely. Clean, spacious and everything you could ask for. All the usual tv channels (BBC news,etc) available, not that you'd ever want to watch tv whilst in Rome! What a beautiful city...truly stunning.
On check in we asked if there was a bar bar and were told straight away it was closed due to Covid, so this was never an issue. We just bough a little tipple in one of the many supermarkets available locally. Besides, there are bars aplenty within minutes of the hotel!
On booking it said a continental breakfast was included and what was on offer was perfectly acceptable. We always left with a satisfied belly :) Food was replenished on time and staff were very sweet and helpful. My only gripe was the scrambled egg was a tad off colour a couple times and the bread a little hard due to not being covered...but that's it.
All in all a lovely stay. Great location but quiet and relaxing. The staff were attentive, helpful and genuinely friendly. Luisa made us feel welcomed from the moment we arrived and she is a great asset to the hotel. Thank you and we look forward to staying again in the future.

Room tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, street side and still it was lovely and quiet.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sgtholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Direzione, Direttore generale at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2020

Wow!
This is so good!
What can I say?
You already described everything so perfectly! You made up my day, reading your comment I'm deeply touched and i feel like we are doing a good job!
I'm so appreciative of your kind words and I will be sure to mention your admiration to all the members of the staff who contributed with me to such great result.
We can't wait for your return to have another impeccable stay!

Have a wonderful day and stay safe!

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2020 via mobile

Loved everything about this hotel from the moment we arrived. Comfy room, excellent breakfast, superb location and friendly staff especially Roberta. Taxi service to and from airport first class. Thanks x

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank nottageja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Direzione, Direttore generale at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are thrilled to hear about your unforgettable experience during your stay with us.

Our team strives to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations and we are so pleased we were able to provide this for you.
I will pass your compliments to Roberta! We truly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

We hope to see you.

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2020 via mobile

We stayed 29 sept to 2 Oct ... it is a lovely hotel on great location. Travelling during covid is strange times but safe.

Breakfast was palatable, good choice delays in replenishing the hot food more frequently.

The terrace was lovely shame the table tennis was not available.

Rooms clean and spacious for time we were there. We did not get told that the room would not be cleaned whilst staying due to Covid.... This meant no replacement of fresh shower towels, room being cleaned or tea coffee replaced in room and no long life milk available for the in room tea coffee making facilities.

The bar was not open due to covid, unable to get a drink at hotel after long day’s in the hot weather.
we had read on here some guests given a complaint cold beer upon their return to the hotel in evening. This was not offered to us at all. I personally believe this should’ve offered to everyone, especially as only 15rooms booked with quests.

In all we had a lovely trip

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Direzione, Direttore generale at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are sorry to hear that your experience at our property was not to your liking. Guest feedback is very important to us and we take them very seriously.

I will check with the Housekeeping Manager why your room was not cleaned during your stay, we do have reports of cleaned rooms. This is very strange because it is true that the Covid imposed us some limitation but absolutely not on regard of cleaning, we change towels if they are in floor as indicated by written information in the bathroom and we refil coffe, milk and sugar everyday as aslo the minibar.

On regard of the complimentary drinks that you mentioned, actually, to be nice, we decided to give for free a welcome drink to whoever wonted it, bottles of beers and soft drinks were on a basket with ice on the reception desk for everyone to take by themself, this was only in September (last day on free drinks was September 29th).

Please feel free to reach out to us with any additional comments, questions or suggestions you may have.

Have a wonderful day, and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again, in the not so distant future.
Best Regards

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2020

Highly recommend this hotel
Location is excellent. All locations within an easy walking distance.
Breakfast was buffet style with more than enough to choose and eat.
Staff vey friendly and helpful telling us how to get to places.
The room was very comfortable with a very big bed.
Could not fault anything with the hotel.
My only grumble would be the lack of English speaking channels on the TV.
Will definitely go back to this hotel when we return to Rome

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank NCurtis62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Direzione, Direttore generale at Hotel Dei Mellini, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the HOTEL DEI MELLINI.

We're delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the design and comfort of the rooms. Indeed, our location is great for guests to explore all major cultural, archeological and commercial hubs.

I'm sorry to hear your "TV" experience didn't live up to the standards we pride ourselves on. We do have a few English speaking channels but maybe not enough, customer feedback is very important to us so thank you , I will pass this onto the maintenance team.
Thank you for your lovely comments about our Reception staff, they were delighted!

The team and I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,

Luisa D'Alessandri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews