We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel in the heart of Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Ranked #16 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great little hotel in the heart of Rome”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in Hotel Campo de' Fiori, and cannot say we regretted for a moment our choice this time! The people in the reception were helpful and discrete, the room was quite baroque as to the furniture, but very comfy, and with sound proof windows that kept out 99,5% of all sounds from the Piazza and street. The breakfast buffet was fine and plentiful, with one very friendly lady doing the chores all alone, yet with a wonderful attitude to go that extra mile to make you feel welcome and at home. Do all you can to keep her, Mr Manager, she's a real asset to your hotel! You'll stay in the midst of it all, in particular if it is the historic and religious Rome you come to Rome to experience. First thing after checking in and inspecting your room: go up to that lovely pearl of a roof terrasse for an overview of the surroundings! For dinner, don't miss Ristorante la Scala in Trastevere!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KArnesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

“a great little hotel in the heart of Rome”,

Having stayed for one week, you had the chance to appreciate all the aspects of our hotel.

The baroque style of the property, is aimed to let you experience a charming atmosphere but at the same time we provide the comforts that our guests expect: soundproof windows, FREE wi-fi etc..

Thank you for being so grateful to Maria, the lady who serves the breakfast, although the whole staff is constantly focused on our guests’ requests because our philosophy is looking after you entirely.

As a matter of fact the staff suggested to you local restaurants, which you had appreciated; because we let you avoid touristy places in order to enjoy the real Roman life.

“You’ll stay in the midst of all, in particular if it is the historic and religious Rome you come to Rome to experience”, this sentence is what makes us feel we’ve done a great job: we guided you thorough the secrets of the Eternal City letting you experience a trip through its 2765 years of history.

Looking forward to see you again soon

Warm Regards
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    440
    79
    29
    20
See reviews for
527
1,399
92
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in one of the apartments that the hotel has close to Campo de’ Fiori. The apartment was clean, secure and well appointed. It was up several flights of stairs and there are bars in the area which operate at night but, for us, these are part and parcel of being in a charming old city, built before elevators were even thought of, in a central city location and indeed part of the "buzz" of Roman life. Luckily these did not, for us, spoil the experience. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and the roof terrace of the hotel is just great. The area around Campo De’ Fiori was recommended by friends and it could not have been better, both as a central location base and for the number of restaurants and bars nearby. The apartment offered flexibility to eat in if we wanted to after a day’s walking, to buy breakfast from the baker in the square to eat with freshly made coffee in the morning, and on some days to come back for lunch and a short rest before setting off for the afternoon. We walked everywhere that we went in Rome as nowhere seemed more than 30 minutes maximum from the hotel/apartment and so timing was totally within our control. This was our first trip to Rome; we will be back and the first hotel/apartments that we check for availability will be the Hotel Campo de’ Fiori. In short, it was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Manager at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
« Great Location in a Great city »

Dear Guests,

The title of your review alone conveys the idea of a really successful trip. For your first trip to Rome you chose to stay in one of our apartments located nearby the Hotel, and from your words we learn that we participated in making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

We think that to make your Roman holiday a meaningful trip you have to approach the Eternal City and its 2765 years of history, which gave life to the Western civilization, with the proper attitude, which means you have to open your mind to make room for new images and new sensations. This is the only way one can really enjoy a place like Rome and get its real essence, as you did.

Choosing our apartment you were willing to get the most authentic experience of Rome: our apartments are all located around the liveliest area of the city, Campo de’ Fiori. They are all hosted in ancient buildings of historical relevance, all built right into the old outer walls of Ancient Rome’s Theatre of Pompey, which goes from here until Largo Argentina: it was the seat of the Senate where Julius Caesar was assassinated on March 15th, 44 BC.
As you have correctly assumed, this is the reason why these buildings are under the regulations of the Ministry of Cultural Heritage and why elevators cannot be built.

Nowadays these apartments have a great value, being located in the most popular area in town: with absolutely no loss in comforts and services you had the opportunity to have one of the most romantic and vibrant setting for your holiday, immersed in the authentic heart of old Rome.

Thank you once again for your “great” review,

Kind Regards
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

As first timers to Rome we don't think we could have done better than Hotel Campo de Fiori. We were in the main hotel, 2nd floor, quiet room. Good bathroom, plenty of clothes space, comfy bed. The rooftop terrace is fabulous - you can get out of you room without heading back into the hustle. And the views! Staff were fabulous, Gabriele and Valentina helped us out with some travel bookings and restaurant suggestions. Easy to get to all the main sights.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveAli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guests,

“Great Hotel, Great Location” ,

your short review focuses on our strongest points: location, rooms and staff.

We are aware that our guests have high expectations as coming to Rome is a trip in a lifetime and we aim to offer the highest quality service.

As it was your first time, we were concerned to let you experience the real soul of the Eternal City. This is why we studied a package which is available on our official website called "My First Time in Rome".

Since your arrival we took care of you arranging our luxury car service and we organized private tours with professional University degree guides, as we are aware that to discover the secrets of Rome you need someone who takes you by hand guiding you through the treasures of the Eternal City.

The staff, who you define “fabulous” was keen to offer you special attention because our primary concern is to make your journey unforgettable.

Warm Regards
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 night stay in Rome and Campo was a perfect choice. Friendly staff and cosy feel is just what we like. Rooms are small but excellently furnished. Very clean too - the maid was excellent. Breakfast is typical buffet style, with meats/cheese/scrambled eggs/cereals and so on. All ver tasty. Location was perfects and we were able to walk everywhere we needed to. We booked a top floor room with a private terrace (602) and was perfect! If we return to Rome this is where we would stay. This is a beautiful small hotel - strongly recommended!

Room Tip: 602 - terrace was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sprigeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

as the saying goes “big gifts come in small packages” and all of our rooms certainly are big gifts considering the furnishings, the location, the cleanliness, all the modern comforts, the hotel staff… and I could go on and on! As you say, “friendly staff, cosy feeling, excellently furnished, very clean etc”. A private balcony that has a breath taking view of the Victorian Palace and the Ara coeli Basilica adapted to an Ancient Roman Temple on the Capitol Hill.

Our hotel is hosted in a house whose first floor dates back to the Middle Ages, then it was extended in 1753. Consequently the room sizes are adapted to the ancient construction. Our rooms won’t be as big as rooms you may find in hotels in the outskirts of the City, but you just need to step out of the Hotel door to touch the greatest works of art of the world’s most famous artists: Michelangelo, Borromini, Leonardo da Vinci, Raffaello, just to mention some of the names that made the greatness of Rome and of the entire humanity.

Thank you for praising also the quality of our breakfast, served every morning in our elegant library and covering all types of tastes from salts to sweets and better described by you “with meats/cheese/scrambled eggs/ cereals and so on. All very tasty”.

We are looking forward to your return,

Best wishes
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The service staff were friendly and pleasant. We ha just booked a standard room being on our honeymoon and on a fairly tight budget. The hotel upgraded our room to a deluxe suite in order to provide us with a nice view like we asked. The room was gorgeous and had some antique furniture in the room adding to the beautiful decor. The bed was comfortable and we slept well both nights we were there. The breakfast buffet provided us with many choices and made fresh hot chocolates and coffees each morning. A MUST FOR ALL WHO STAY THERE: go up and have a look at the roof terrace. It is set up beautifully and offers a great view of the city. I would definitely go back there in the future and I recommend it to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
“Travelling is needed to exercise the 5 senses…but most of all the 6th one..”

As you attempted to do, dear guest! This is easy to guess reading the lines of your review addressed to the warmth of our welcoming, which is conveyed first all, as you underlined, by the friendliness of our staff. We are used to dedicate a special attention to all our guests, as we know that coming to Rome could be a lifetime journey: therefore we need to surprise them and exceed their travel expectations, especially when they choose the Eternal City to celebrate one of the most important events of their whole life, as you did.

You praised our roof top terrace, defining it “a must”, being the most romantic and astonishing setting for a Roman trip. From our terrace you have the chance to admire all the wonders treasured by this thousand-year city: just to mention one of them, from our terrace, as well as from one of our 2 top floor rooms with private balcony, one can admire Michelangelo’s Dome of St. Peter’s basilica, the world’s largest dome in the world’s greatest church.

All this is melted with the unmistakable elegance of our rooms, where you have perfectly caught the predilection for comfort, antique décor, and detail. An intimate refuge located right in the beating heart of old Rome. Staying at the Hotel Campo de’ Fiori means living authentic Rome immersed in a combination of luxury, technology and culture.

Wishing you all the best,

Kindest Regards
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at the Hotel Campo De Fiori in March 2012. It was fantastic from start to finish.

Pros:
- Hotel is ideally located for exploring Rome on foot. Very short walk to many restaurants and sights. We never took a bus, the metro, or a taxi the whole time.
- Rooms were very quiet with wonderful rooftop views of Rome
- Beds were very comfortable
- Shower was good and bathroom was recently done/very modern
- BBC channel on the TV to watch the news in English
- The hotel roof deck is lovely and a nice place to relax
- The staff at the front desk are extremely helpful and friendly. They assisted us in booking a reservation at the Vatican so we could skip the long line and recommended great restaurants.
- iPads are available at the front desk for checking your email
- Breakfast was good and served in a lovely room
- We stayed one non-consecutive night in another city and were able to leave our large luggage in their storage room, so we did not have to take it all with us for the one night away. This was incredibly convenient, and there was no charge for holding the luggage.
- We did the chaufferred pick-up from the Rome airport, and it went off without a hitch. The driver met us on time, and quickly drove us straight to the hotel.

Cons:
- With the window closed, our room would get stuffy overnight and rather warm
- There was sometimes a long wait for the elevator (which is very small)
- For Americans, the rooms are rather small, but understand that they are very well laid out and you are in the center of Rome, so space is at a premium.

Overall, we adored Hotel Campo De Fiori and I would stay there again whenever I returned to Rome. From start to finish, it was a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I just returned from a one night stay at the Campo De'Fiori and the best I can say is that I'm thankful we only stayed one night. There were six of us and rather than reserve 3 rooms, we opted instead for 2 3-person apartments. What a mistake. My apartment was directly across the street from the hotel. The building was very old (which typically in a city in Rome would be fine, but this lacked any old world charm). The front door to the building is marred with graffiti. There is no elevator so bags have to be carried up the stairs, The apt. was very dark, outdated and, after dark, extremely loud. Right below our windows, are bars and restaurants that are terribly loud until the early morning hours. The apartment was very hot and we wanted to keep the windows open (since we couldn't figure out how to turn the heat down) but the noise, and lack of screens, prohibited that. The glare from the outdoor lights was also a problem but since the windows lacked shades, the only way to keep the light out is to close the shutters, resulting in a very dark room in the morning. Oh yes, the accommodation for the third person in this apartment is an extremely uncomfortable cot in the main room of the apartment.

My sister's apartment was across the piazza, down the street and up 3 flights. While her apartment was updated, the building lacked an elevator and was also extremely loud at night. The lack of an elevator was a problem on Sunday morning when we left since there is no hotel staff available until after 8:00 a.m. to help with the bags. They had to carry 5 bags down 3 flights of stairs.

The bottom line is that we paid for a hotel experience. What we got was, in my mind, a bait and switch. Dumpy apartments, separate from the hotel, without any hotel amenities at all. In re-reading some of the ratings on this site, I'm amazed to read that there is a rooftop terrace and food available. We were not told about any of this. I would NEVER recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank newjerseyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severino, Direttore at Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest,
I found your review very particular being totally different from the other 657 reviews. I believe that the real problem was the fact that you only stayed one night with us not being able to appreciate anything offered in the area and by the facilities. You arrived in the afternoon and had to immediately bring the rental car back to the rental company. When you returned in the late afternoon early evening you had absolutely no time to go site seeing and this made you unable to appreciate the location and this is seen in your evaluation of 1 point given to location. I find even this totally particular since the area of Campo de’ Fiori today is considered one of the most trendy and desirable areas of the Eternal City but not just by the Romans but by the tourists especially!

All of the buildings in the area are all of Medieval origin therefore it is normal that these buildings have no elevators. They are all controlled by the Archeological and Cultural Office of the City of Rome and therefore many things cannot be done to the buildings. The building you were in is considered by the City of Rome to be of historical importance to the city having Medieval frescoes on the façade of the building. When one takes a good look at the façade of the building he will notice a Medieval fresco of the Virgin Mary with a special light illuminating it and this is put there by the City of Rome. I suggest to to all of our future guests to take a look at the Medieval fresco since it is located right in front of the hotel. Just ask the reception staff.

Graffiti, an American problem which has contaminated the whole world has contaminated Italy as well even if in a less serious way and even if the graffiti is removed every 3 months from the walls as the City Administration has done, they are back up within 2 weeks so this doesn’t depend on the hotel. In reference to your luggage, you didn’t mention the fact that when you came back after having taken the rented car back to the rental company you found your luggage ALREADY in the apartment since we have staff that takes the luggage to the apartments as well as to the rooms so I really don’t see the problem of no elevator especially since you were on the first floor. Referring to the 08:00 AM departure, all you needed to do was tell the reception staff that you needed a hand with the luggage and this would have been taken to the hotel even at 08:00 AM.

The windows, well as I stated previously, the facades of the buildings are controlled by the various specialized offices of the City and therefore the architectural design cannot be changed but all do have sound proof windows.

Concluding, I would like to remind you that you decided to reserve for the apartments and not the hotel rooms knowing that the apartments are a 1 minute walk away from the hotel. I also need to say that the apartments have and receive all the amenities that the hotel rooms receive and have including, A/C, FLAT LCD TV, FREE WIFI, DAILY CLEANING BY THE CHAMBERMAIDS AS WELL AS DAILY CLEAN LINEN etc... The only thing that is different is that the apartment rates do not include breakfast having a fully equipped kitchen. The hotel in any case offers coffee, tea and sugar all found in the kitchen. I would also like to highlight that if our apartment guests would like to have breakfast in the hotel they may but with an extra charge per person per day. If one decides not to have breakfast it is only a savings decision on your behalf.

The roof top terrace, well since you do say that you read Trip Advisor reviews you cannot state that you didn’t know about our fabulous roof top terrace since it is mentioned in almost all of the reviews as well as in almost all of our responses. I believe as I already stated that the question is that you did not stay even 1 full night and day with us and therefore you were unable to evaluate with an open mind and properly your stay with us. I do hope to have you as our guests in the future and for a real stay with us meaning more than 12 hours this way you will be able to evaluate us with 5 points as almost everyone else that has stayed with us does.

Warmest regards,
F. Severino
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,259 in Rome
183 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,259 in Rome
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#15 of 1,259 in Rome
2,888 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,259 in Rome
758 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Lunetta
Hotel Lunetta
#26 of 1,259 in Rome
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori

Property: Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Address: Via del Biscione, 6, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#20 Family Hotel in Rome
#71 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo de' Fiori is located in a unique position in the heart of the lively and pituresc area of Rome known as Campo de' Fiori. The hotel is a fabulous “BOUTIQUE HOTEL”, romantic, cozy and sought after, that know’s how to offer to it’s guests a suggestive atmosphere to make unforgettable there stay in the Eternal City.The hotel is situated since 1937 in an antique structure of the Roma Baroque period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo De Fiori Rome
Campo De Fiori Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing