We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kolbe Hotel Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kolbe Hotel Rome
Ranked #201 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I think you have to put all hotels into context. This hotel is great for a central location, it has nice rooms which are always clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant we prefered to get out and do the back street restaurants of Rome and mix with the locals (even though our italian is rubbish/non existant)

I would argue that this place is right in the centre. 10 minute walk to the Colleseum 10 minute walk to Ghettos, 15 minute walk to the Pantheon, 5 minute walk to the bus stop and 15 minutes by bus to the Vatican. If you are going to Rome expect to walk, and if you doubt the location turn left out of the hotel, follow the road round two lefts, go up the hill and look out of the Seveus Pillars at night and get the best night time view of ancient Rome.

The rooms have a bed, storage and ensuite, there is a mini bar but its not free. The Wifi is also not free. If you are coming to Rome to spend hours in the Hotel you are coming for the wrong reasons, what more do you need in a room that you change and sleep in.

Overall, it was nice, it doesn't get 5 stars as the restaurant is a bit steep in the evenings and the wifi isn't free, but apart from that it was great

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tidge58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    441
    150
    43
    26
See reviews for
292
612
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I agree with other travelers that the rooms are on the small side - though ours opened onto a lovely grassy courtyard with lemon trees and a fountain. That was a nice plus that also ensured we had a very quiet room. There is no decoration on the walls and the bed is a platform bed but it was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was small but very nice - excellent shower. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was adequate. The location is indeed on the side of the forum, but the opposite side from the entrance. There's a good trattoria and a pizza place on the same block as the hotel but that's pretty much it. We really enjoyed the hotel but what I don't know is how much different it is from a 3 star.

Room Tip: get the courtyard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDMclean_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Hotel is in a nice location if you want to be in ‘old’ Rome. It is very near the colosseum. It’s about a 15 -20 min walk to the trevi fountain so I wouldn’t say it was right in the centre. The nearest place to go eat is Trastervere which is about a 10 minute walk over the river. You can get get a good deal there, 3 courses plus drink for 8 Euro!
The reception staff were very pleasant and the hotel lobby is very nice.
When we first arrived we were given room 104 on the ground floor, this room is quite large, clean and modern with a lovely bathroom although the window is so high up you had to be 9ft tall to look out of it..so I asked to move the next day and we were given a garden view room (double standard) . This room was like a shoe box and not worth over 200 euros a night. After complaining they upgraded us for the last night into a junior suite room. This room was fantastic and more like the rooms you see on the website. One good thing about all of the the rooms was they have the most comfortable beds I have ever sleep in!!!
Breakfast has a very good selection of fruit, toast, pastries and hot food. This is included in the room rates.
Overall I think the double standard rooms let down this hotel down unless you pay extra for the junior suites.

Room Tip: Try and get a junior Suite, they are very impressive compared to a very average Standard Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellclark2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I went here with my girlfriend last November, based on reviews, photos and the location we decided to stay here. Overall I was very happy with the Hotel and our stay here, it definitely surpased our expectations and we had a very reasonably priced Junior Suite which we stayed in for five nights.

The hotel staff were professional and friendly, The hotel was quite modern and as mentioned by others the garden was quiet a nice addition. The views were quite beautiful and the hotel is right across the street from the Roman Gardens, 2 minutes from the Circus Maximus and 15 minutes from the Colloseum. I felt quite lucky with the location. Of course, there was the subway and bus service but we liked to walk everywhere in the center and visit the main attractions. which is definitely possible from here.

The hotel room was a 2 floored junior suite. The bathroom was clean and modern, there was a sofa, nice view and TV downstairs and a comfortable bed upstairs with another big tv. I loved the room's style and had no problems or concerns with it, I think the hotel excels in this category.

Breakfast was nice, there was plenty of it but really we stuck to coffee, fruit and yogurt.

Overall I was pleasently suprised with the Hotel and with the prices on offer would be happy to return.

Sadly we did not try the restaurant, judging from the menu it was reasonably priced and it had a decent variety, but we had too many restaurants to try in the city in only 5 days.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is definitely worth upgrading to. I would suggest getting a view to the gardens in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Me and my girlfriend went for a long weekend away to Rome and decided to book Hotel Kolbe through Expedia. We got a good price and were even given a FREE upgrade to a suite after paying for just a standard room upgrade. The location was excellent, near The Forum ruins and the local Metro station (our form of transport) was only ten minutes away. The only thing we struggled with was actually finding the Kolbe hotel upon arrival. It took us two hours of transporting our luggage to and from different locations from where locals had directed us - there was not any detailed directions on the hotel's website. Excellent trip nonetheless!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great stay. Had first floor family duplex suite. It was actually two separate rooms 'connected" by common hallway door. So when you close the common door and open the individual doors, it is a big suite with two flat screen tvs,two bathrooms. In our case also two beautiful shuttered doors to gardens. beautiful spot. felt like we had our own backyard. Front desk and staff were friendly,very attentive and accomodating. From helping point out sites on map to giving us practical tips on visiting certain sites, also very good arranging last minute tour for us. Great breakfast included in stay. Wifi also included. excellent housekeeping. Old, pretty building with nice detail. We had quick good rooom service for a late night snack for the kids. The location was great. Walking distance to many sites and restaurants across the Tiber. There is a little restaurant on the same block but I don't recall the name. They were opened late with decent food for late night meal after sightseeing. Also great map at front dest, tear off pad to help yourself. would highly reccommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyLilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Residence Palazzo Al Velabro
Aventine
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
Fortyseven Hotel Rome
#74 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Monti
Duca D'Alba Hotel
Duca D'Alba Hotel
#151 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#41 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolbe Hotel Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolbe Hotel Rome

Property: Kolbe Hotel Rome
Address: Via San Teodoro, 48, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ripa / Aventino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#190 Business Hotel in Rome
#231 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kolbe Hotel Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kolbe Hotel Rome, where the Ancient and Modern blend to create a new form of hospitality. The Kolbe Hotel Rome will host you in a setting with all the flavour and fascination of history, but with the service and style of the most modern and prestigious accommodation. This unique four star hotel is set in a magnificent 17th century building, which was a former Franciscan convent, and is strategically located in front of the Roman Forum, very close to the Colosseum and just a nice and comfortable walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain and Navona Square as well as to the main shoppings streets such as Via Condotti and Via Frattina. It also offers a very quick and easy connection to the Vatican and every area of the city. Trastevere, the charming medieval district with restaurants, bars and cafes is within walking distance. The hotel has 72 rooms, all recently renovated and fully equipped with Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions and air-conditioning, most of which face the Roman Forum or the enchanting internal garden. The indoor spaces at the "Al Palatino "Garden Restaurant also reflect our efforts to achieve a perfect blend between past and present, the distinctive feature of the Kolbe Hotel Rome. Moreover the Hotel bar, lobby and garden will be a place of refuge to wind down at the end of the day, sipping a drink or just relaxing to the soft music and lighting, especially designed for your maximum comfort and serenity. The whole staff is glad to welcome you to the Kolbe Hotel Rome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Kolbe Hotel Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Kolbe Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing