We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deko Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deko Rome
Ranked #3 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We just concluded a week in Rome at Deko Rome and it was wonderful. Keep in mind, this is not a typical hotel. It is just 6 rooms, but feels like you are staying with friends. Marco and Serena are so helpful and really care about your enjoyment of Rome. If you are up for something different, I hily recommend staying at Deko Rome.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    41
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
107
575
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

It is hard to know where to begin as there are so many fantastic things to say about Deko Rome. The best part is the people – Marco and Serena are the most amazing hosts! They are warm and incredibly helpful and make the Roman experience something really special. We were there last week (Feb 2012) for four nights and enjoyed every single moment. Marco had arranged a taxi pick up from the airport for us and, upon arrival, he greeted us with a smile and a glass of wine! He proceeded to go through a map of Rome with us, in detail, not simply highlighting the tourist attractions (which we did want to visit) but specific streets and areas of interest. He also gave us lots of information about restaurants and bars and either he or Serena would ask us each day where we would like to eat that night and make a reservation. All the restaurants were amazing, serving truly Roman food. We even went to a small bakery in Campo di Fiori one afternoon (Forno) just because Marco had recommended it.
Each day, when we returned from our sightseeing, Marco would welcome us with a glass of wine or Prosecco and ask us about our day. He and Serena are passionate about their city and about what they do and they genuinely want to make your stay as personal and enjoyable as it can be.
Deko Rome is in a great location. There is a taxi rank two minutes walk away, the metro (Barberini) is about 10 minutes walk, and very handy for getting to the further sites, such as the Colosseum and Vatican. There are some excellent restaurants close by (top tip – take Marco and Serena’s advice regarding where to eat!) and we walked almost everywhere, day and night. Our room was contemporary and stylish and immaculately clean. And nice and quiet at night, although we would usually return late after several glasses of wine and Amaretto!
A number of other visitors have mentioned the details that make Deko Rome stand out – free WiFi, free mini bar, plentiful continental breakfast (served 8-11am, although they are completely flexible!). If you are looking for a large corporate hotel with a spa, pool, concierge and anonymous service, then Deko Rome is not for you. If you want to experience genuine, warm Roman hospitality which will ensure you experience the best of Rome, then you will not find anywhere better than Deko Rome! Grazie mille Marco and Serena! We will return one day!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenc0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I thought I posted a review last Fall, after we returned from our Italy trip, but checking my contributions and skimming past reviews, it appears I forgot! That is a travesty!

We reserved our week's stay in Rome at Deko Rome before they ever opened their doors. I had scoured Trip Advisor for reviews of "guest houses" and B&Bs, because I've had good luck doing that before. When following up on a recommendation for a nearby B&B (that was already booked for our week), they gave me the names of several other accommodations, including Deko Rome. The response that came back from Marco was brimming with anticipation about their planned opening, and after a couple short email exchanges through which he answered all our questions, we booked a full week for Sept 9-16.

If you've read all the glowing recommendations here, you are aware that Deko Rome is clearly a successful enterprise for Marco and his charming wife, Serena. I have never felt so "at home" or so well taken care of at any hotel or guesthouse anywhere in the world. Every transportation question, directions, restaurant or shopping recommendations, or even silly problems with the way the toilet seat fit in the bathroom, were answered with confidence and smiles and the attitude that if you need this, it will be done!

The quiet location was delightful...the AC invaluable (September was SO hot!) and the complimentary mini-bar refrigerator was fantastic. One night, we just wanted to chill out and eat a sandwich in the "cafe" area. They got us plates, glasses, silverware and napkins to use. (We'd picked up supplies a couple doors down) We were careful to clean up after ourselves as the place was ALWAYS spotless. The evening wine & chats with Marco, Serena and other guests provided some lovely memories. Oh yes, and we also appreciated the free wifi.

Clearly, if we ever have the opportunity to visit Rome again, Marco will be our first contact. It would be like staying with family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyOLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed with Marco and Serena over the past weekend in Rome in the snow! They were superb hosts, organising the transportation from the airport and excellent restuarant recommendations and tips on what to visit in Rome even more valuable givne half the city was shut down... It felt like home and welcomed each evening with a coffee or glass of prosecco... will definitely visit again soon... thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

For our first bvisit to Rome me and my wife we decided to stay at Deko and it was the perfect choise!
Specially if you never been in a big city as Rome is you need all the Serena´s tips about the city, restaurants to go, museums and good shops, I mean all not touristic places then better!!!
Serena she made our stay perfect, the room was very nice and very clean, breakfast amazing!!!
When in Rome go there!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirsten k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This review is way overdue as we stayed at Deko Rome in September 2011 but Marco and Serena were such gracious hosts that it would have been remiss of me not to compliment them on TA.

My husband, our one and a half year old and I were in Rome at the end of August (staying at a different hotel) and as we were off to other parts of Europe before our final leg back in Rome, Marco and Serena were kind enough to keep some of our luggage until our return to stay so that we would not have to lug it around.

From the very moment we got to Deko (Marco helped arrange our airport pickup for Euros 50 so do be sure to ask if you need to), we were made to feel at home by the friendly couple. They helped with our bags and took us up to our room which was a little small but completely comfortable, modern and sufficient. It probably felt a little smaller as we had 2 big suitcases in the corner!

The location is convenient, just off Via Veneto - easy walking distance to many places, restaurants close by, safe and there is a supermarket a few doors down if you need the essentials. Marco and Serena made restaurant recommendations and we had meals in 3 of them and were very, very happy. They made reservations for us and nothing was too much trouble. There is a pizza place within walking distance (I forget what it's called) that had good food and a fabulous tiramisu!

Our son had big smiles for Serena who chatted away with him in both English and Italian and from whom he picked up a very cheery 'Ciao'!

In a small establishment such as the Deko Rome, it is often the people who make the place and in this case, Marco and Serena definitely do. They are a lovely couple with whom we were very comfortable and whom we wish well. We enjoyed our pre-dinner wine and vodka with Marco who shared stories about himself and life in Rome.

We were very happy with our short time here and if we find ourselves in Rome again, would definitely stay.

Marco and Serena, thank you for your hospitality and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rahanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at Deko Rome for 2 nights in January. Because we wanted to see as much as we could during our short stay in Rome we did not spent a lot of time at the hotel, but the time we had there was perfect. From the beginning we felt like home, just like visting friends or family in Rome. You get a lot of attention from the young couple that is running Deko Rome. Marco en Serena will give you a warm welcome, give good advice about Rome and places to vistit. The hotel ( or some people would call it bed&breakfast) is not big, a few rooms but that is why your stay there is so personal. It is in a building in a very safe and quite street. The room was spacy, modern and clean. Free Wi-Fi and mini-bar! To get to the hotel that is on the second floor of the building you can take the stairs or a funny "retro" lift. There is a taxi-place just around the corner and we thought the taxi`s not so expensive (besides that it can be an adventure itself going by Italian taxi:-)) We were happy that we stayed at Deko Rome. The location, place and service were just perfect. Advice for Rome: The streets of Rome will kill every women high-heeled shoes so just make sure that you take some sneakers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beauty_in_journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,158 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#4 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#18 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deko Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deko Rome

Property: Deko Rome
Address: Via Toscana 1, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#3 Family Hotel in Rome
#36 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Deko Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deko Rome Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing